Poems for My Nieces by Abbie Taylor

I just received word from Wilda Morris that one of my poems is a March winner in her monthly poetry challenge on her blog. Last month’s challenge was to write a lullaby poem so I wrote one for my niece Isabella who is ten years old. You can read it plus other winning poems here.

Isabella’s not the only niece for whom I wrote a poem. Anna isn’t technically my niece, but she’ll be my step-niece in July when her mother marries my brother. After visiting them in Florida last Christmas, I was inspired to write the following poem which will appear in my new chapbook, That’s Life: New and Selected Poems, to be published by Finishing Line Press.

THAT’S LIFE

 

 For Anna

 

Oh you of thirteen years,

when told you can’t go to the mall

or sleep over with a friend,

please understand that’s the way life is.

If you grow up thinking

you’ll always have your way,

you’ll be sadly disappointed

so better put on your big girl pants—

deal with it.

 

Have you ever written a poem for a loved one?

 

Abbie Johnson Taylor, Author of We Shall Overcome and How to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver

This entry was posted in advice, Authors, Disability Writer, life, poetry, Writing, writing prompts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Poems for My Nieces by Abbie Taylor

  1. Doris says:

    Abbie,

    I enjoy poetry and these show why they are winners. Thank you for sharing them with us. Doris

    Like

  2. Wranglers says:

    Great little post and poem. I have written my husband several poems over the years and I’ve written poems for my kids. My book The Journey Back is full of poems J wrote and ones by other people too. Sorry I didn’t get the photos done. I don’t have WIFI right now. Cher’ley

    Like

  3. sstamm625 says:

    Lovely poems, Abbie. Congratulations on the win. In the last few years, I have written a poem for my sister and another sort of for my parents. It’s at least about them–and me–though not addressed to them as “you” like yours and the one I wrote for my sister.

    Like

  4. Thanks to all who shared your comments and memories. Now that I’ve written poems for Isabella and Anna, I suppose I’ll have to write poems for Isabella’s brothers who are fourteen and seventeen and Anna’s sister who I believe is eleven.

    Like

  5. First of all, congratulations Abbie on being a winner. The poem is lovely and I can see why others were moved by it. I also like “For Anna” very much. The people around you are blessed by someone with such understanding and feeling. I’ll bet they all hope you write a poem with their name on it! Thanks for sharing your beautiful work.

    Like

    • Linda, I hope Anna will like the poem. I told my brother perhaps she shouldn’t read it until she’s twenty because she might resent the advice given, but I imagine he’ll share it with her sooner.

      Like

  6. Kathy Waller says:

    Reblogged this on To write is to write is to write and commented:
    Abbie Taylor, one of my fellow bloggers at Writing Wanglers & Warriors, shared with the WW&W readers a poem she wrote for a thirteen-year-old girl. It might not have made me smile when I was thirteen, but now it does, so I’m sharing it with you.

    Like

  7. Kathy Waller says:

    I think Anna will like the poem, Abbie. It might even make the advice she’ll be getting anyway a little easier to accept. At my advanced age, I think it’s charming.

    Like

  8. Nancy Jardine says:

    It will be much appreciated by her in years to come, Abbie. I don’t write poetry but was often amazed at the results I got from my 11-12year old pupils when I ‘set up the prompts’ for poetry lessons in class- especially when they were theme related like WWII, or Japan or lifestyle issues. They weren’t mine to keep, but some were magic. Your nieces will have yours to keep.

    Like

  9. Thank you for sharing your poetry with us, Abbie, and congratulations on your wins and publishing! I wrote a poem for my husband when we married and a friend set it to music and it was sung at our wedding — seemed to go over well but haven’t done anything like that since — “That’s Life”, I guess! LOL Hope to see you in Casper for the WyoPoets gathering soon!

    Like

  10. Pingback: A Street Reconstruction Adventure by Abbie | Writing Wranglers and Warriors

Leave a Reply

