Work from home! Have we got a deal for you!

propic11_1_1This post by L.Leander, Author of Fearless Fiction

Last night I heard a segment on ABC News about working from home. Although I AM working from home I decided to  see what the report had to say. It was actually very interesting and an eye-opener to realize that there are “real” stay-at-home jobs that are not out to take YOUR hard-earned money but actually give you a chance to earn money.

Ok, so I looked at the list and here is what I found.

#1. Watch TV and get paid for doing it! All it requires is a smart phone and a television. Check it out on Viggle.com to see what it’s all about. I had visions of my couch potato husband, who I accuse of watching TV 24/7, latching onto this one and making big bucks. When I approached him he thought I said Wiggle andtv I actually got his attention for once. “Huh?” he said. “I get to watch wiggles on TV and get paid for doing it?” I could see where his mind was going and I explained Viggle to him. “No thanks,” he said, as he pushed back in his recliner to watch his favorite re-run of Law and Order SVU. So strike that one.

papermache#2. Check out Etsy.com to sell your handmade crafts. I actually belong to Etsy and about a thousand other online craft sites but I have never made the thousands of dollars this woman says she makes with paper mache figures. Of course in my case, when we did paper mache in art class, my piece usually turned into The Blob and people ran screaming out of the room. Seriously though, I make jewelry, sew all kinds of things, quilt, do needlework and paint. I just like to mix things up and not work on the same thing all the time. Guess I’ll pass on this one too.

#3. At RyanKrane.com you’ll meet a home-based entrepreneur who uses Skype to get people into fitness training. He told the reporter he charges $150 an hour for a session. Hmmm, do I really want the world to see how I look in last year’s exerciseworkout clothes? I must have washed them once too often because my pants will only pull up to my knees!  How much do I really know about training anyway? Does walking count? I’m a good walker. Hey, I wonder if I could get people to pay me $150 to “pretend walk.” We could SKYPE,  wear our most stylish workout clothes, stand by a window and talk as we walk. Nah, I don’t like walking in place .  With my luck I’d walk right into the window!  I prefer the outdoors anyway.

oldman#4. The last option is Care.com, where you spend maybe four hours a day taking and answering questions via the Internet forbabby the company. This site covers child care, elder care and pet care. My luck would be to get my wires crossed and send an 83-year-old grandma to a Child Care Center with a backpack and tell her to be sure she has crayons and a blanket for nap time. I’d better stay away from that one for sure!doggie

So what are my options? Maybe I should quit searching the Internet for possible “part-time” jobs, put **my nose to the grindstone** and write. If you write all day like I usually do you need a break sometimes and job hunting is something I like to do, although I have no earthly intention of ever returning to the work force. I’ve put my time in and now I’m doing what I love (but I need a kick in the behind once in a while).

I have had a few businesses at home that were profitable. I wove baskets, sewed purses and aprons, used my embroidery machine for custom orders, wrote songs, and my favorite – using yard sales to my advantage. That job meant that every Saturday morning I had to be up and at the first sale by 8:00 am and I usuallyrooster saled until 2-3:00 pm. What I searched for were rare or well-known books signed by the author. (My best day was finding a book on trains that I paid 25 cents for and turned a tidy profit when I sold it on eBay for $50.00). I didn’t know then that train books are very treasured by those who collect trains. I was doing pretty well at about $1,000 a month but I took a job demonstrating Singer Sewing Machines on the Home Shopping Network because I thought I’d rather be a television personality. You can see where that got me!

Click here to see some of my work if you’re interested.

What do you think of working at home? Have you ever done it? What types of things have made you rich and famous? Could you share please?

*** Putting one’s nose to the grindstone is a European Miller’s Guild expression to remind the miller that he must maintain a flow of grain between the millstones, which were traditionally set one above the other. Without any grain between them, the weight of the top stone would strike sparks on the bedstone, and the smell, known as brimstone, was a warning, that if not heeded, would likely result in an explosion that would kill the miller. Thus, to keep your nose to the grindstone means to pay close attention, not to work hard, but diligently, and had nothing to do with sharpening tools on the other type of grindstone.

Courtesy of wiki.answers.com.

Photos Courtesy of FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Photo of Rooster Quilt by L.Leander

 

Books by L.Leander:

Inzared Queen of the Elephant Riders Video Trailer

Inzared, Queen of the Elephant Riders

INZARED Book Cover_1

 

 

 

 

 

 

Inzared, The Fortune Teller Video Trailer

Inzared, The Fortune Teller (Book Two)

InzaredTheFortuneTeller_V2

 

 

 

 

 

 

13 Extreme Tips to Self Publishing

13ext

 

 

 

 

 

 

13 Extreme Tips to Marketing an ebook

13marketingtipscover

 

 

 

 

 

You can also find L.Leander here:

L.Leander Website

Amazon Author Page

Facebook Author Page

L.Leander Books Blog

L.Leander’s Book Reviews and Interviews

Twitter

LinkedIn

Goodreads

Google+

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in books, choices, decisions, Home-based business, Humor, Jewelry, life, pets, Rewards, shopping, Television, Uncategorized, Walking, Working from Home and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Work from home! Have we got a deal for you!

  1. L. what a great post. Get rich quick and easy, don’t even have to leave your recliner. Sounds good. You mention other ways to make money from home. About a year ago, I fell in love with Ree Drummond’s site, the Pioneer Woman. She launched her own blog and now she’s written books and has her own cooking show. Imagine that? How often does that happen? Not many. I have to admit I’m fascinated by how Ree took an idea and with no other intention than to share her life on a ranch, grew it into a multi-million dollar business. Ah, shucks, we all dream of making it big, but not everyone does. Note: I love Ree Drummond’s easy nature in the kitchen. She makes cooking for a bunch of hungry kids and cowboy husband, seem like such a great life. I’m supposing she “made it” because she loves what she does. I often wonder how it changed her life, other than the money.

    Like

    • Thanks for commenting Sherry. I love Ree Drummond’s site too! You’re right, she makes her life look interesting and doable. Her cooking is awesome . It’s hard to even imagine that she just started by writing a blog and turning it into a multi-million dollar business. I love it!

      Like

  2. Really enjoyed this blog. I saw the ABC show that talked about working from home. Perfect for busy moms. Thanks for this one.

    Like

    • You’re welcome Barbara and thank you for commenting. I was in the kitchen but ran into the living room because I heard the lead-in for the segment and it sounded so interesting. What made me happy is that there ARE work-at-home jobs that are not scams and that people are making money at them. Such a good idea for moms who want to stay home to raise their children. It was a very interesting report.

      Like

  3. Wranglers says:

    Linda, such a fun blog. We do all want to get rich, (without a lot of effort) unfortunately, it usually ends up costing more than you get. I always say I drive a truck to support my other jobs. LOL I love your stuff, especially the short sets, and Rooster towels. Jennifer also has stuff on Etsy, but I have never figured out how to use Etsy to buy anything. Where do you find the prices of your merchandise? Thanks Cher’ley.

    Like

    • Thank you Cherley. Before I started writing I dreamed of a job at home and I actually sewed clothing for a major name designer for awhile. There are definitely pros and cons to working at home and I think you have to be a good organizer and time-driven. I missed the interaction with others a lot but that was before the Internet. I haven’t been on or to Etsy for a long time so Jennifer might be the person to ask about the prices. Oh, and you’re right about working. I kept working because I wanted to write music and play gigs and pay for my other hobbies. Looking back I wish I had jumped in with both feet and not worried about the job but I had two kids to feed and bills so it wasn’t an option.

      Like

  4. Doris says:

    Linda,

    Working from home is wonderful, but I get cabin fever very easily so I have these part time jobs. (3-7 depending on whose counting) to help alleviate the fever. Doens’t leave lots of time for writing, but when I do write, that is all I do.

    Loved some of the options for working from home and your various industries. Thanks! Doris

    Like

  5. Thanks Doris. As you can see from my reply to Cherley, I get cabin fever too. I can stay home for long periods of time working on a project but then I have to be around people for awhlle because I miss the interaction. I thought these work-from-home ideas were good and the fact that they are legitimate jobs and not some fly-by-night opportunity gives (especially moms who stay home) the chance to watch their childen grow.

    Like

  6. I love working from home because I work for a great boss, me. Okay, Abbie, get your big, fat ass of the Internet and get back to work. No way, I’m having too much fun here.

    Like

    • I agree Abbie. I am a great boss, although sometimes I have to chide myself when I spend too long surfing the Internet when I should be writing. But I really enjoy the freedom of working from home. Thanks for the comment!

      Like

  7. katewyland says:

    Get rich quick and easy is always such a lure. Too bad it doesn’t usually work.
    I used to work at home one day a week, but found it was too easy to goof off and not get the work done.

    Now that I’m writing, I work at home, of course, and have the same problem. And I do get cabin fever, which is why I’ve joined in-person critique groups and done some volunteer work. Now to just glue my butt to the chair.

    Good post.

    Like

    • I agree Kate. Most work at home jobs are in the newspaper every day and usually involve some sort of money on the front end from the job seeker. I had a friend who wound guitar strings from home, but the idea of sitting in front of a huge box of guitar strings and getting them all wound and packaged sounded boring to me. I love working from home and I am glad writing offers me that option. Thanks for the comment!

      Like

  8. Mike Staton says:

    Funny post, Linda. Back during the Great Recession when the company I worked for went belly up, I investigated doing online stuff where I might be able to make a decent wage or at least help me survive until I could find a drive-to-work job. As you said, most were scams. I did do some online tutoring; my oldest niece is still an online supervisor for the service.

    Like

    • Thanks for the comment Mike. I do know there are legitimate work-at-home jobs but the scammers make it hard to know which one is legitimate. I thought it was great that ABC had the segment and showed some real businesses that actually pay people to work from home. As for me, I’ll stick with my writing because it’s the best job I’ve ever had!

      Like

  9. sstamm625 says:

    Great post, Linda. Sometimes the idea of working at home appeals, but then I think I’d get lonely or cabin fever like others have mentioned. I’ve kind of decided I like the variety of going in to work some days and being home on others. Like Cher’ley, I work to support my writing and other “jobs.”

    Like

    • Thank you Stephanie. Since I’ve been totally working from home for ten or so years I’m not sure I’d like going back to the 9-5 routine. I was much more organized then, though and got a lot more done. I do miss the interaction with friends and co-workers but I get that from my church activities and other interests. Sounds like what you have works perfectly for you – that’s wonderful!

      Like

  10. Wranglers says:

    Interesting post. I have always wondered about some of the online jobs, but figured most were too good to be true. But have a friend who did some kind of online merchandising and seemed to make a go of it. And she always has beautiful tops, jewelry and purses! Loved that you gave sites to reference too.

    Like

  11. Thanks Cherley. As my dad used to say “if it sounds too good to be true it probably is.” As I said in the post I have done work from home that was profitable but I missed the excitement of interacting with co-workers. The Home Shopping Network gig was fun – I got to sew whatever I wanted to showcase their machines on TV and I got to keep everything plus get paid for every appearance. I loved it but we moved and I had to quit. I do know that some people make a lot of money from home, though.

    Like

  12. I, too, desire to work from home, and I’m working on a copywriting course (well, trying to work on it!) as a way to garner more income via writing from home. And, I’m fortunate to have a few magazines and newspapers for which to write stories, but right now I can’t do it fulltime. Too many so-called experts wave the banner about working from home, so one does have to be very cautious. I like the Care.com idea for pet care — I might look into that one as an extra income source when the writing is slow. Great post, Linda! Thanks for the tips!!

    Like

    • Thank you for the comment Gayle. You can go to http://www.ABC.com and under Lifestyles you’ll see the article. Actually, if I were to pick one it would be the CARE one. In the segment the woman who’s working for them said it’s the best job she’s ever had and she stressed that anyone could do it. I didn’t check out the job opportunities but I did see the link (I think at the bottom of the page). Good luck – I’d be interested to know what you find out!

      Like

  13. Nancy Jardine says:

    What a versatile lady you are Linda! I think that any self driven/ at home jobs take a lot of effort to produce monetary rewards. Sounds like you were doing well with the market sales and I know that’s not easy to do. Your examples of home enterprise above are fun. I think you do a great job at internet searches! Thanks for the post!

    Like

  14. Thank you Nancy. I worked from home to raise my children until they began school. I continued to do that part time while I worked as an Office Manager for the next 12 years or so, then went to Cosmetology School where I received both my Cosmetology license and teaching license. I did both and loved it! I’ve had many great adventures in my life and I’m thankful for every one of them. I think I’m a curious odd duck!

    Like

  15. S. J. Brown says:

    It is a shame that scammers make it so difficult to find good work at home jobs. I have a friend that does data entry at home and another who left that type of job to return to a drive to job. I worked at home for years, I owned a ceramic business that I ran from home. The thought was it would give me the freedom to go to my daughters track meets, bring income into the home and allow me to be home when hubby was home. It turned out to be a lot of work and I was tied to that shop for years. Getting a “normal” job after that seemed a scary prospect. I think getting a work at home job requires a leap of faith. But it is a leap many people would love to make.

    Like

    • I couldn’t wait to get a beauty shop set up in my home. Bad idea. Like you, I thought I’d have time to work, be home for my kids, get them where they needed to go, and have a hot meal ready at night. NOT. It was the most frustrating thing I’ve ever done. I was glad to get back out to the work force outside my home!

      Like

  16. Pingback: Work from home! Have we got a deal for you! | Writing Wranglers … | Aging Gracefully Services

Leave a Reply

