Full Circle

Gayle_BozemanFamilyChristian_smallThis post by Gayle M. Irwin

One of my father’s favorite songs is “Will the Circle Be Unbroken,” and Johnny Cash was one of his most admired singer/songwriters. View the YouTube video here:

Circles – we see them everywhere. Wedding rings are circular, and symbolize the never-ending love between husband and wife. Sadly, those vows are often broken, some statistics showing more than 50 percent these days, leaving people to ponder “what went wrong?” Sometimes we drive in circles, wondering “where are we going?!” Cookies, Frisbees, plates, the sun, and a full moon are all circular. Will those be “unbroken?” Well, plates break, cookies crumble, and Frisbees get lost. Moons are not always full. The sun – well, so far, it’s still round, though invisible during rain and snowstorms!

We often speak about things coming “full circle.” I believe that happens, especially in relationships. I have a friendship that splintered more than 10 years ago, but was reclaimed like a valuable gem about four years ago … and I’m grateful. My husband lost his father last month, just a few weeks after each rounded another year on the calendar and became another year older. Their relationship has always been tightly-knit. Greg misses his dad a lot, yet his faith remains strong that the “circle will be unbroken,” that he will see his dad again when it’s his turn to be called Heavenward.

Gayle reading to children at The Knowledge Nook, toys & books in Casper

Gayle reading to children at The Knowledge Nook, toys & books in Casper

My writing career seems to be coming “full circle” as well. For the past few years I’ve served as Administrative Assistant for Wyoming Writers, Inc., the Wyoming writers’ organization in which I’ve been involved since the publication of my first book back in 2007. I’m stepping down from that position effective June 30th (fiscal year) so I can concentrate more on writing and expanding my freelance career. Since I’ve made that decision, I’ve learned that a story I submitted in January to Chicken Soup for the Soul may be published in an upcoming dog book, I’ve secured two more magazine writing opportunities, and I may be sending my pet column to another newspaper … and writing for some of the special editions the company creates. Like the round sun thawing the frozen Wyoming landscape, these writing opportunities have enriched the soil of my heart. Since 2007, when I left a good-paying government job to pursue authorship, my writing horizon has expanded. I’ve attended conferences, met other writers, attempted and failed, felt joy and sorrow, pursued opportunities and nearly given up. All wove (and are still weaving) together, coming full circle. Will the circle be unbroken? Well, I am still endeavoring – the circle of my writing life is still intact … and I desire it to remain so for many years.

A circle is unending – the words I write and that are published online, in magazines, in books, and through newspapers can last forever … and impact lives now and into the future. Therefore, I choose words that encourage and inspire, with hopes that circle will never be broken … just as I hope my relationships with people I care about – friends, family, fellow writers – will also be unbroken. And, when those relationships are slightly askew, my hope is they will be mended with words of love, kindness, forgiveness, and encouragement. May my circles of influence, in career and relationships, be unbroken … and yours as well, my friends!

sunshine_round

Gayle M. Irwin is writer, author and speaker. She is the author of several inspiring dog books for children and adults, including Sage Learns to Share, Sage’s Big Adventure, Walking in Trust: Lessons Learned with My Blind Dog, and Devotions for Dog Lovers: Paws-ing for Time with God. She is also a contributing writer to editions of Chicken Soup for the Soul, to articles in Creation Illustrated and Our Town Casper magazine, as well as the Casper Journal and River Press newspapers. Learn more at www.gaylemirwin.com.

        SageLearnsShareFront-small       SageBigAdventureFront-small

        Walking_FrontCover_small         Dog Devotion Book_Cover_Final

This entry was posted in family, Goals, life, Relationships, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Full Circle

  1. Beautiful post, Gayle. I often think of life as a collection of circles, interlocked, making a sort of daisy chain of life. New beginnings, new chapters.

    Like

  2. Love this post Gayle. I’ve sung “Will the Circle be Unbroken” so many times in my life I can’t count. All of the gospel shows I’ve run at music festivals always close with that song – and almost everyone knows it! This post is so inspiring and really makes one think about circles and their meanings. You’ve definitely given us something to think about!

    Like

  3. Reblogged this on L.LEANDER BOOKS and commented:
    What do Circles have in common? Author Gayle Irwin explains in her post on Writing Wranglers and Warriors todayl

    Like

  4. Wranglers says:

    Great post friend. Our life circles back in unexpected ways sometimes, and sometimes it takes years before I see the connecting lines in my circles. Loved the youtupbe video also, one of my favorite songs, and I’m sure the Cash family has seen many circles completed too.
    Good luck in all your new ventures, but it seems you have that already! Neva

    Like

  5. Mike Staton says:

    Circles seem to be prevalent in nature. Stars are circular. Planets are circular. Some asteroids are circular if there’s enough materials to gravitationally adhere to one another. Most galaxies are circular if they’re not disrupted by a neighboring galaxy; then the rules go out the proverbial window.

    Like

  6. When my family first moved here in 1973, we lived in a house on top of a hill, and the elementary school where I attended the sixth grade was at the bottom of the hill. Now, I’m living in a house just down the street from that elementary school. It’s gone now, torn down and replaced by a child development center, but I still have the memories, and I feel like my life has turned a full circle.

    Like

  7. Doris says:

    Lovely Gayle. Doris

    Like

  8. Nancy Jardine says:

    What an inspriing post, Gayle. I think things do come full circle, but there’s sometimes an element of patience wound around them like an embellishment. If the patience decoration gets damaged or split it may take a bit longer for the event to happen…and when it does it may not quite be what was originally envisaged but often better since ‘time’ has moved on and expectations are different. (I hope that makes some sense? )

    Like

  9. sstamm625 says:

    Beautiful post, Gayle. It is good to realize that things really do come full circle–or that we can perceive those circles in retrospect. As Nancy noted, we need to be patient. And we often have such difficulty with that.

    Like

  10. Wranglers says:

    Gayle, my grandson’s favorite singer is Johnny Cash and I love this song too. We do seem to go in circles sometimes. I’m so glad things are working out for you. Cher’ley

    Like

  11. Gayle Irwin says:

    Hello, friends — thank you all for your comments and for your encouragement. And, for your patience!! We do need that in life, don’t we, as we live on this big round planet!

    Like

  12. S. J. Brown says:

    I thought your post was interesting and felt compelled to share it with my circle of friends.

    Like

Leave a Reply

