Making an Anthology, Snip-Snip and Paste-Paste by Cher’ley

 

 This blog by Cher’ley  Grogg

English: a free transform fractal made with ph...

 

Cutting and pasting isn’t what it used to be, now it’s copying and pasting, but it’s still not easy. I find that it is both frustrating and    calming at the same time.

 

Boys will be Boys—The Joys and Terrors of Raising Boys is almost done. Just working on the cover and some formatting issues. The inside has been edited and put together very nicely.  I’m designing the cover, and I sure hope the other 11 authors will love it. I never knew how much pressure would go into the making of an Anthology. I worry about pleasing everyone and of course I want to highlight each person. I think 12 is the perfect number of Authors. Two of them are our very own Writing Wranglers and Warriors, if you count me, then there are three. Frank and Mike both wrote some great stories and poems.

Each chapter begins with a little clip about my son during his 1st 12 years of  life. This is from chapter 10:


Cover baby 10    When Tommy was ten years old, he soaked us all. We were at church, and they had a baptism service. It was so cold in the room       where the service was being performed that the ice had to be broken on the tub. The preacher said, “I baptize you in the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit”. He then dunked Tommy under the water. When he rose he spewed water from his mouth like a fountain and then shook like a dog. So the people who didn’t get hit by the spray got soaked by the shake. Cher’ley
 

 

The chapters end with a Fable and Thoughts from Parents. These thoughts were collected from different parents and then copied and pasted into the right age group. Here’s an excerpt.

Thoughts from Parents

  1. Puberty starts anywhere from 9-14 and many changes take place.
  2. Let your son know that some people will think that he sounds like his mom when he answers the phone. His voice will go up, down, high, and low before it settles into the voice he will have as and an older boy.
  3. A boy will look at his armpits every day to see if he has at least one hair. It will be a day worthy of celebration when he discovers that hair.
  4. Super-sensitive area, down yonder has a lot of nerve endings — which make it extra-sensitive — so if a soccer ball accidentally whams into a boy in that spot; it really hurts. The good news is that these injuries are not usually serious, though a boy will usually feel pain and even could be nauseated for a while. But always use caution.
  5. Schools and doctors try to teach boys the correct words for their private parts, but it’s doubtful that they will use those words, so be ready for the slang words.
  6. If there isn’t a man in the house, let your son know that Mom’s know about men parts, or supply someone for him to talk to like a grandfather, uncle, or doctor. Boys have a lot of questions during the big changes their bodies go through. You could also go to the library together and look up his questions and then discuss them.
  7. Get all the advice and instruction you can, so you will be wise the rest of your life. Proverbs 19:20 NLT

This is so much different than the way things used to be done. I used to create newsletters for our church and it tookExamples of computer clip art. (Source: Open C...                 a lot of  cutting and pasting. Then there were tricks you learned like using tape around the edges of a cut clip art to                                  avoid  the shadows. I still have a  lot of rub on fancy letters (you had to use a tongue depressor or something like that to rub the letters onto the paper) and other kinds of stamps and stickers. I think I even still have some giant clip art books. Time to clean the file cabinets. *Smile*. I also have a zillion different kinds of pens and fancy papers, which I probably will never use again, but I can’t part with them.

After I put all the photos on the cover for the Anthology, I resized it sixteen times, before it was the proper size for the cover.

BWBB 16

How about you? Has you creations changed a lot over the years? Do you still horde all your ink pens and fancy papers?

Cher’ley’s Books are listed below and on sale at Amazon and local bookstores.

Stamp Out Murder”.

The Secret in Grandma’s Trunk” This is an especially good book for your Tween Children and Grandchildren.

The Journey Back-One Joy at a Time   and the B&W Edition of The Journey BackThe JourneyBack 3

Fans of Cher'ley Grogg,AuthorAnd please join me on my Facebook Fanpage, that’s managed by one of my most faithful fans: Cindy Ferrell

Here’s a link to Cher’ley’s WEBSITE

 

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
This entry was posted in Adventurous, advice, Anthology, Authors, Book signing, books, Business of Writing, content, deadlines, poetry, researching books, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Making an Anthology, Snip-Snip and Paste-Paste by Cher’ley

  1. Doris says:

    Sounds like a great anthology. I wish everyone the very best on this work. Doris

    Like

    • Wranglers says:

      Thanks Doris, it was a lot of work putting it together, but it was also a lot of fun. I think it will be useful, but also humourous. The way we write has sure changed over the years. Cher’ley

      Like

  2. Your excerpt brought back memories of my younger brother when he was a boy. His favorite word for that part of the male anatomy was “dick.” Good luck with your anthology.

    Like

  3. Wranglers says:

    Sounds like an interesting book. Lots of good advice. And a lot of work and consideration to put together. Congratulations on succeeding. Bet it was fun gathering information.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Making an Anthology, Snip-Snip and Paste-Paste by Cher’ley | Cherley's Weblog

  5. sstamm625 says:

    Congratulations on the anthology. And, yes, cutting and pasting has changed a lot over the years. I remember turning in a “rough draft” to college English professor that was probably way rougher than anything he expected. I’d typed it on a typewriter and then cut paragraphs apart, taped them back together and added notes in red ink. Now it’s all computer, though I still have to print copies and make notes my hand a few times during the process.

    Like

    • Wranglers says:

      Hi Stephanie. Yes, that sounds like a very rough draft. LOL. I enjoyed the process of creating newsletters and such with the clip art. I still make some print copies of things, but I find myself saving more and more on an external hard drive. Thanks for the comments. Cher’ley

      Like

  6. Mike Staton says:

    Fun reading about your efforts that went into putting together “Boys Will Be Boys.” I too can remember the era of “true” cutting and pasting. At the newspaper in Florida, I can recall standing in the composing department watching the layout people cutting and pasting the copy, headlines and photos onto the pages as laid out by the copy editors using dummy sheets. I can remember standing next to Sharon and watching her finish up the front page by manually doing color separations. The year must have been 1984 or ’85.

    Like

    • Wranglers says:

      So true Mike, and really it wasn’t that long ago, or was it. LOL. We got our first home/office PC in 1992. What a difference it made in our lives and our lives at work. Cher’ley

      Like

  7. Nancy Jardine says:

    I’ve only had girls to bring up, Cher’ley, but that was was fun! I can see how ‘boy questions’ differed quite a lot from those asked by my girls. 🙂 I have a houseful of useless junk but can’t part with it yet…though that day may come soon enough. 😉

    Like

  8. Wonderful to read the experiences you’ve had with the anthology, Cher’ley! I can’t imagine tackling something that big, so KUDDOS to you! And best to you and all the writers for that project!! Cutting and pasting — oh, I remember well! Newspaper pages, newsletters, brochures … been there, done that! I loved learning Pagemaker and being able to do all the layout on the computer (still use an old version of that program — thinking of learning InDesign but it also scares me! LOL Gotta go with the times, though, as changes are a constant in life!!!)

    Like

  9. erinfarwell says:

    Great blog and I love the story about your son. 🙂 Can’t wait to read the whole thing. I know how hard you’ve been working on this.

    Like

  10. Wranglers says:

    Thanks Erin. I appreciate your support and Tom was a funny kid (and extremely rotten-lol). Cher’ley

    Like

  11. Such an interesting post Cherley. I agree totally about Cut and Paste and Copy and Paste. They both have their successes and frustrations. Like you, I’ve dealt with them both. The learning curve and the tools at hand today are much more involved, but they are faster. I like learning new ways to do things and I’ll research if I don’t know how. But sometimes I think it takes more time now than it did then?

    Like

  12. Wranglers says:

    Linda, my problem in reasear is that I get so wrapped up in the research, that I don’t have the time to finish the project I’m on.

    Like

Leave a Reply

