On The Move

propic11_1_1This post by L.Leander, Author of Fearless Fiction

Since I’m still on the mend from my hospital stay and following doctor’s orders to rest, I’m sharing a post I wrote on my blog in the fall of 2013.

It’s that time of year again when I’m on the move. I don’t travel incognito; in fact, I’m very visible in my shorts and tank top, as I shiver uncontrollably in a Midwest airportwhile I wait for my flight to board. The weather here this week has dropped below sixty degrees Fahrenheit and my thin blood longs for the tropical heat Mexico. The trees here in Wisconsin are turning lovely shades of orange, red and yellow and the weatherman says there will be frost tonight. There are pumpkins still on the vine and lots of them already set out as fall decorations on porches and driveways in our rural area. Time to leave. Another month and there’ll be snow. Lots of snow.snow I donated my boots and coat to Goodwill a few years ago. I’m unprepared for this chilly climate. My feet are freezing all the time and I look like an Eskimo, layering clothes to keep warm. I grew up in Michigan and loved the winter and the outdoor sports it offers. Not any more. My idea of an outdoor sport now is lying on a tropical beach holding a drink with an umbrella in my hand as I watch the wavescaress the white sandy beach.umb A few years ago I migrated to Mexico for the winter and now I can’t seem to get it out of my blood. I do my best writing there. I haven’t quite decided if it’s the perpetual sunny days, the fact that I walk everywhere and have time to think, the beautiful blue ocean water, or a combination of them all. I get great ideas and I write about them. I am anxious to return.

You may have seen me in an airport or bus station scribbling madly on a receipt I pulled out of my purse because it’s the only piece of paper I can find. You may have heard me dictating into my portable recorder as I sit patiently in the waiting area. I’m the one toting two Kindles, a computer, a guitar and fiddle, an iPod and a tiny suitcase (I do change my clothes you know!) and whining to the ticket agent that I cannot possibly tag my guitar as luggage. Sorry for the inconvenience to all of you in the line behind me, but my guitar is like my best friend (it pulls me out of a lot of the writing doldrums) and I can’t possibly leave it behind or treat it inhumanely. air Oh, I almost forgot, I am toting a big loveable man along too. My husband just shakes his head and smiles as I struggle to board the plane with all my paraphernalia. He even offers to help but I usually tell him I’m fine. (I do have a sense of pride you know – he’s not the one who needs all this stuff!).

We settle into our seat on the plane and I type a few words into my laptop until I am told to turn it off. Once I get the ok again I go back to writing. The trip seems short and when we arrive I embrace the balmy tropical heat. I can’t wait to get home, open the door and stow our stuff and head to our favorite corner restaurant for a bowl of wonderful homemade Tortilla Soup and the most awesome Margarita you’ve ever had.

My girlfriends are returning in the next couple of weeks and we’ll get back into our routine of weekly beach trips and pool days, monthly pedicures and craft classes. Hubby and I will meander down quiet streets to greet old and new friends, take in the opera, and hit the flea market. I’ll meet up with my weekly music group and we’ll jam.

My writing group begins in November and I can’t wait to get together to exchange ideas and critique each other’s manuscripts.

Summer has been fun – no, wonderful. We have been to local Wisconsin parades, corn roasts, Amish breakfasts, music festivals, family reunions, camping and the like. I have spent the better part of every day at the local library writing. Hubby and I have had lots of fun, but I am not inspired to write because I’m too busy! No matter. By the end of next week I’ll be back in my little casa and resume a somewhat normal life.

I love the fact that we use public transportation in Mexico and don’t drive. I lose weight and I feel good! Daily trips to the market yield lots of fresh fruit and veggies and a little taco stand on the corner makes the most delicious lunch you can imagine for only $2.00 U.S.

Inzared was born in Mexico. I learned about her life and did all my research there. She has lots more to tell me as I write the second book in the INZARED Queen of the Elephant Riders series. I can’t wait to hear from her. We’ll have the best chats, I just know!

Photos courtesy of Morguefile.com

Books by L.Leander:

Inzared Queen of the Elephant Riders Video Trailer

Inzared, Queen of the Elephant Riders 

 

INZARED bookcoverkindle

 

 

 

 

 

 

Inzared, The Fortune Teller Video Trailer Inzared

The Fortune Teller (Book Two)

 

InzaredTheFortuneTeller_V2

 

 

 

 

 

 

13 Extreme Tips to Self Publishing

 

 

13ext

 

 

 

 

 

 

13 Extreme Tips to Marketing an eBook

 

13marketingtipscover

 

 

 

 

 

 

You can also find L.Leander here:

L.Leander Website

Amazon Author Page

Facebook Author Page

L.Leander Books Blog

L.Leander’s Book Reviews and Interviews

Twitter

LinkedIn

Goodreads

Google+

This entry was posted in anticipation, Autumn, books, Creativity, Friends, life, Memories, Movies, Popcorn, sayings, Summer, training, Uncategorized, voice, Wedding traditions, WI, Wyoming and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to On The Move

  1. erinfarwell says:

    I’m so sorry you’ve been in the hospital. I trust you’re doing better. Take care dear friend and I love the post. 🙂 I’m still looking for my inspirational, not too busy place.

    Like

    • Thanks Erin. My hospital stay is pretty fuzzy because I was pretty loopy from the drugs. My back is still giving me fits but I go to an Orthopedic surgeon this week so we’ll see what happens!

      Like

  2. katewyland says:

    Do continue to take it easy and mend.

    Where in Mexico do you stay? Our son’s in-laws have a place in Baja which they dearly love. And I know a group of ladies who go to Cabo every year for a week long “retreat.” I’m not terribly fond of heat, but I can see it would have a great attraction in preference to snow and cold. That’s neat that you’ve found a place to inspire you.

    Like

    • I’m doing a lot of resting yet. This happens every 2-3 years and I’m always in the hospital for a week. The pain is so excruciating I cannot bear it. I actually lived in Mexico for 5 years, then met my husband and we went down in the winter for two years. This year we stayed home due to health issues. We go to Mazatlan, which is on the west coast. It’s a beautiful city surrounded by water. Hopefully we’ll go for at least a month this winter but nothing is set in stone.

      Like

  3. thank you for an interesting look at your life a year ago. Here are my best wishes for a speedy recovery.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

    • Thanks for the comment Abbie. I know I’ll get back to a level 5 pain (which is what I live with daily). I can stand that, but when it shoots up to a ten I’m mush! I love Mexico and although I have seen a lot of it, I have many more places to explore.

      Like

  4. Doris says:

    Linda,

    Here is to a speedy recovery, but in the meantime, thank you for a great trip down memory lane. I could just feel what you felt when you remembered the good times in Mexico.

    Love and healing thoughts being sent your way. Doris

    Like

    • Thank you Doris. It’s hard for me to rest. I’m usually busy doing things and using a walker isn’t my favorite thing to do, but if I don’t and my leg gives out I’m on the floor. Thanks for the healing thoughts and love. I need it!

      Like

  5. Wranglers says:

    This is so funny. I know you miss Mexico. Hope things are going great for you. Cher’ley

    Like

    • Thanks Cherley. Of course, when I wrote the post we were actually in Mexico so it was easy to write. I do love the country and have met many people there who have become friends. I’m very fortunate. God has been good to me.

      Like

  6. Gayle Irwin says:

    Linda, you provide an excursion to a place I’ll probably never see, and so I thank you! Do take care of yourself — prayers are with you for healing and rest. It’s wonderful to “birth” a story in an inspirational place — I know — and like you, I’m grateful! Hugs, dear friend!

    Like

    • Thank you so much Gayle. I love traveling, although not so sure I want to do a lot any more unless it’s Mazatlan or home. I have doctors in both places and my back seems to be getting worse, so I know I need medical care at my fingertips and I want it to be with someone I trust. The thing I miss the most are the lovely walks I take in the morning. It’ll take at least 6 weeks for this to settle and then I can probably start out slow again. I can’t wait!

      Like

  7. sstamm625 says:

    Here’s wishing you a quick recovery, Linda. Now, I’m dreaming of being in Mexico too. Though Michigan is lovely right now. Stephanie

    Like

    • Thanks for the good wishes, Stephanie. I guarantee, if you go to Mexico you’ll love it. There is a part of Mazatlan, where we go, that is touristy, but we have always lived among the Mexican people in the central district. It gives you such great experiences. Since I’m from Michigan (now in WI) I know how beautiful the summers are and I’m enjoying it too!

      Like

  8. Nancy Jardine says:

    I always have a bit of a dilemma when travelling from rainy and cool Scotland to hot climes. You don’t need a heavy jacket and as you’ve mentioned, Linda, airports tend to be over hot. My best wishes to you for the coming weeks – hope you’re able to do as you want asap.

    Like

  9. I was ok with airports before the back surgeries but now I need a wheelchair and I’m not fond of that. Since I can’t be without the things I mentioned (laptop, guitar, fiddle) it’s difficult because they’re not easy to manage without a bad back. I got used to the heat in Mexico because I lived there. You just do as they do – shop i n the early morning hours, stay inside in a/c during the day and go out at night to visit friends and relatives. Going to the beach is also good and my favorite! Thanks for the good wishes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

