To Promote or To Not Promote-That is the Question by Cher’ley

This Blog by Cher’ley Grogg

A few more tips about promoting.

The Business of Being an Author

Even if you’re an accomplished writer, it takes more than a few hundred brilliant manuscript pages to become a successful book author. From writing an attention-getting query letter or book proposal, to understanding the clauses of a book contract, to marketing and publicity in the digital age, the business of being a book author is hard work and can be as complex as it is rewarding.

New Author FAQs: Book Publicity

Here are some common answers to questions about book PR

There are lots of articles about book publicity on this site, but many new authors have the same basic questions about getting their books in front of the media.

How will reviewers hear about my book?
You need to figure this out. It’s very important.

Book Daily 

I am going to try the free section this month on Book Daily to see how the promotions turn out. I will keep you posted.

Don’t for get to use the ones that we normally use like posts to Hootsuite, Facebook, Twitter, Your Book Blogs and your Fan Page.

 

Another powerful tool, I believe is your Amazon Author Page. You need to get your book out there and your face too. 

 

Image of Cher'ley Grogg

Cer’ley Grogg first wants to greet you, “Howdy”.Cher’ley writes different genres. “The Journey Back–One Joy at a Time” is a devotional book she just finished. “Stamp Out Murder” is a cozy mystery and “The Secret in Grandma’s Trunk is a YA novel. Cher’ley co-authored “Small Town America” and “West Virginia Memories”. She is featured in and she has many poems, short stories and articles published online and in print books. Some of her hobbies are photography, and painting fine art. She has received awards in both mediums and she has art is in collections throughout the United States and foreign countries. She enjoys fishing, reading, walking, dancing, and long, long baths. She loves the Lord, her husband, children and grandchildren, and loves spending time with each of them. Tootsie, her Cairn Terrier is a true joy. Cher’ley and her husband, Del, have seen the country through the… Read more

 

     

     

     

    ***What are you doing for Promotion? If you are a reader, what gets your attention? ***

     

    Cher’ley’s Books are listed below and on sale at Amazon and local bookstores. And she has a new one that is freshly published with 11 other authors. Stamp Out Murder”.

    The Secret in Grandma’s Trunk” This is an especially good book for your Tween Children and Grandchildren.

    The Journey Back-One Joy at a Time and the B&W Edition of The Journey BackThe JourneyBack 3

     

    Boys Will Be Boys   

    The Joys and Terrors of Raising Boys-An Anthology

    Fans of Cher'ley Grogg,AuthorAnd please join me on my Facebook Fanpage, that’s managed by one of my most faithful fans: Cindy Ferrell

    Here’s a link to Cher’ley’s WEBSITE

     

    This is a guest blog from Linda’s site and Alan’s site

     

     

     

    This entry was posted in Creativity, Education, family, Fun, History, Novel Related, promoting, Promoting your book, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

    11 Responses to To Promote or To Not Promote-That is the Question by Cher’ley

    1. Doris says:

      Cher’ley, Thank you again. Short but full of information, I sometimes think people forget the ‘business’ side of writing, if they want to do more than just write for themselves.
      Doris

      Like

    2. What am I doing for promotion, pulling my hair out, that`s what. I`m vacationing in sunny Florida with only my iPad, and I just received word from my latest book`s publisher that the final book sales notice will go out Monday afternoon. I have until then to meet my sales quota of 55 pre-orders. I was under the impression that I had another month, up until the book shipped, but I must have missunderstood. The publisher will take pre-orders after Monday, but they won`t be counted toward my sales quota. My brother is getting married this weekend so all I can do is plug the book wherever I can. For more information, go to http://www.abbiejohnsontaylor.com/thatslife.htm .

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      Like

    3. More great tips Cherley. Thanks! It does get tiring being a writer. The writing is the easy part. All the hats you have to wear afterwards is exhausting!

      Like

      • Wranglers says:

        Thanks Linda. It is hard. I was talking with my husband this morning. You have to either be happy with a few hundred sales or really go hog wild in the promotions, spending money and time.

        Like

    4. katewyland says:

      Have you ever gotten any indication that anyone reads your Amazon Author page? I wish there was some way of measuring what promos actually do anything.

      Good tips.

      Like

    5. Nancy Jardine says:

      I agree with Kate and wonder what, if any, of the avenues I’ve tried has made any difference. My sales rise a little when there’s a promotion on but need to be a lot better. Like you Cher’ley it’s about trying yet something new to see if it helps.

      Like

    6. sstamm625 says:

      Yes, this is definitely something I need to get better at, Cher’ley. It’s not my favorite part of the process.

      Like

    7. Pingback: Cover to Cover-Judge a Book by Its Cover by Cher’ley | Writing Wranglers and Warriors

    8. Pingback: Cognitive Content of Conferences by Cher’ley | Writing Wranglers and Warriors

    Leave a Reply

    