You Say Tomato

Jennifer FlatenThis post by Jennifer Flaten

It’s tomato season. This year I planted a lovely exotic black beauty tomato plant. The fruit starts out a deep black and as it ripens, it turns a lovely shade of dark red or so the little picture on the plants tag led me to believe. file9161338653823

I wouldn’t know for sure because right after the plant fruited, and yes, the little tiny tomatoes were a lovely shade of deep purple/black, the tomatoes started disappearing one by one.

The same thing occurred on my cherry tomato plant. At first, it was loaded with lovely miniature tomatoes. Then every day there would be one less tomato. Some little creature was making off with my tomatoes.

Entirely my fault, I planted the tomatoes in containers but failed to secure a fence around them. Although, with how wily the critters in my neighborhood appear to be, I don’t a moat would have stopped them from eating my tomatoes.

This reminds me of a wonderful book I used to read the kids at story time Muncha! Muncha! Muncha! by Candace Fleming. The book shows how a farmer tries to prevent bunnies from eating his garden by building more and more elaborate fences. Still the bunnies get in and muncha! Muncha! I so identify with the farmer.

Luckily, we have a lovely fruit stand at the end of our block so I can have fresh tomatoes for my salsa.

Follow me on Facebook
Browse my jewelry on Etsy

This entry was posted in family, gardening and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to You Say Tomato

  1. Doris says:

    I’m still smiling after reading this post. Thank you. Doris

    Like

  2. sstamm625 says:

    Fun post, Jennifer! The Muncha! Muncha! Muncha! book sounds great. I tried to grow tomatoes in containers one year and decided that the farmer’s market was a much better option for me. Good luck with your critters–and your salsa!

    Like

  3. Kathy Waller says:

    I’m glad you have a fruit stand nearby. It’s just not summer without homegrown tomatoes. Do you think you have raccoons in the neighborhood?

    Like

  4. You say tomato. I say tomahto. You say potato. I say potahto. Tomato, tomahto, potato, potahto, let`s call the whole thing off. Sorry but that was going through my head as I was reading this. Tomatoes are good, even when you buy them from a fruit stand. Enjoy yours.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  5. Neva Bodin says:

    I’m with Abbie, that song will follow me to bed tonight. I really enjoyed your post, I tried tomatoes at this place also, in pots, and got dry end rot, no matter what remedy I tried. So yes, the market for my tomatoes too. Funny how those critters can be so wily.

    Like

  6. Wranglers says:

    Try putting mothballs around your plants. Works for me on rabbits and deer. Cher’ley

    Like

  7. Nancy Jardine says:

    Do you know what kind of critters are stealing them, Jennifer? Would they be two legged ones, who are just way to tempted? 😉 funny post.

    Like

  8. Last year that happened with a few small pots of tomatoes we had planted at the lake. It seemed like every time we left to go home for a day or two, something (or someone) really liked our cherry tomatoes. Never did catch the rascal and they seemed to like one plant only. The others thrived and we had plenty of tomatoes. Loved the post Jennifer!

    Like

  9. erinfarwell says:

    This reminds me of when I used to plant strawberries in a container. Everyone said the squirrels would leave them alone. Every year the ripening berries disappeared before I could get to them. Thought it was the birds stealing them until I saw a squirrel sitting on the back railing, eating a strawberry. Sigh. Great blog

    Like

Leave a Reply

