Cover to Cover-Judge a Book by Its Cover by Cher’ley

This Blog by Cher’ley Grogg

Do you Judge a Book by the Cover? Of course you do. That’s the first thing you notice and then you proceed from there. Perhaps the first chapter or the back cover. Sometimes we scan from Cover to Cover.

From an expert, JK Waters

Jeri – JeriWB Author & Editor. (n.d.). Retrieved from http://jeriwb.com/_br

Designing the cover is a crucially important step in the success of your book. After all the cover is the portal to your reader. It is your

Guess What?

An interesting cover, I thought. Guess What? (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

opportunity to capture their imagination, set the mood, and pull them in and get them to click that button to buy your book. Readers are assaulted with thousands of titles online and in book stores. If your book cover is boring, doesn’t convey your story, or is poorly done they will not stop on the image, much less spend money on your book. So how do you create a stunning cover that will grab your reader’s attention?

 

 

 

 

 

5 Expert Tips on Creating a Winning Book Cover. (n.d.). Retrieved from http://jeriwb.com/coverdesign-5-expert-tips-creating-winning-book-cover-30108/_br

She gives 5 steps to Creating the Perfect Book Cover

  1. Capture the Readers Attention
  2. Evoke Emotion
  3. Hint at the Story without Being Cluttered
  4. Be Visually Pleasing
  5. Be Simple

Here’s a link to her Book Cover Creating Page

When I did a search of Boys Will Be Boys—The Joys and Terrors of Raising Boys, this ISBN Directory came up. I liked the looks of it, so I’m sharing it.  Perhaps your book will come up that way too.

Boys Will Be Boys-The Joys and Terrors of Raising Boys – Buy … (n.d.). Retrieved from http://isbn.directory/book/9781499728859_br

Fascinating, funny, and fabulous stories furnish an insight into raising and caring for boys. There are photos, poems, Aesop’s Fables, a bit of scripture and many tips from parents who have shared some of the best and worse times they have experienced while touching the lives of many young men. All twelve authors have brought a different perspective about their contact with boys, some as parents, some as aunts or uncles, some as teachers, some as sisters and brothers, some as nieces and nephews, and some as daughters and sons. This will be a book you will want to turn to over and again for guidance, inspiration, and laughs.

Boys Will Be Boys-The Joy and Terrors of Raising Boys 

 

 

I used a couple of editing tools to get this cover ready. When I got my first proof, the photos were all blurry. A friend Sue Brown, who is also a photographer from West Virginia, said that every time you touch a photo you lose quality. Doesn’t matter if you are resizing it, or reshaping it, or putting a border around it—the less you mess with the original, the better the quality. She was right. Here’s a link to the Facebook page of SJ Brown. Check out some of her photos.

 

I am very proud of the cover for this book. On the front, I tried to post a photo from each author, and I loved the photos of the 12 Authors. The back cover features(I have put links to their facebook pages in case you’d like to check out more from them) Steve Scott, Del Grogg, Gloria Alden, Dreama Pitt, Theresa Jenner Garrido, Dusty Wallace, Mike Staton, Cher’ley Grogg, Misty Montega, Linda McKeel Scott, Maxwell Taylor, and to round it off Frank Lanerd. Each story told in the Author’s voice, and each author has their chapter with photos and bios.

I had to find the perfect background to begin the cover. My sister-in-law Carol Dicken had taken a beautiful photograph of a rainbow. The colors worked perfectly and gave me a place to start. Then you have to make sure you’re working the background in the right size, to fit the cover space. With me, it took a lot of trial and error, but with more talented people, it would have taken less time and effort, I’m sure.

The font and the color of the font are also crucial. A lot of covers use yellow, and I did in The Secret in Grandma’s Trunk, but on Boys Will Be Boys—The Joys and Terrors of Raising Boys, the red stood out.

I ran the Cover of the Boys are stupid... book.cover by all the Contributors and ended up with this cover. So do you like this cover?

I thought this was a cute cover. Got my attention.

 

 

 

 

**Have you tried to create your own covers? Do you have someone who does your covers? Do you judge a book by its cover?**

 

Cher’ley’s Books are listed below and on sale at Amazon and local bookstores. And she has a new one that is freshly published with 11 other authors. 

Stamp Out Murder”.

The Secret in Grandma’s Trunk” This is an especially good book for your Tween Children and Grandchildren.

The Journey Back-One Joy at a Time and the B&W Edition of The Journey BackThe JourneyBack 3

 

Boys Will Be Boys   

The Joys and Terrors of Raising Boys-An Anthology

Fans of Cher'ley Grogg,AuthorAnd please join me on my Facebook Fanpage, that’s managed by one of my most faithful fans: Cindy Ferrell

Here’s a link to Cher’ley’s WEBSITE

This entry was posted in Anthology, anticipation, Authors, book cover, Book signing, book trailer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Cover to Cover-Judge a Book by Its Cover by Cher’ley

  1. sstamm625 says:

    Cher’ley, funny you should post about covers, because I was thinking of posting about them too. I know the current cover of A Gift of Wings doesn’t really speak to the content/genre of the book and isn’t helping me sell it. So, in preparation for releasing the sequel later this year, I’ve had a new cover designed for Wings as well. I received both covers yesterday, and they are gorgeous. I’m so excited. I’ll be doing reveals sometime soon.

    Like

    • Wranglers says:

      Srephanie, great. Another post about covers would be good. I’m sure yours would be different than mine. You can link back to my post. A cover makes a difference. I should have talked about my two different covers for the Same book. Cher’ley

      Like

      • sstamm625 says:

        I think I may do that with my next post. I may use it as the reveal for the new Wings cover. Since the book itself isn’t new, I don’t feel a need to do a full on cover reveal. I’ll do that with Shadows.

        Like

  2. Thanks for linking to KJ’s guest post on my blog, but when I click the link in your post, it is leading to my 404 Not Found page.

    Like

    • Wranglers says:

      I added a couple of links, so maybe the other one works. She had some interesting infirmation. I will go back and check the links when I get a chance. Thanks. Cher’ley

      Like

  3. Doris says:

    Cher’ley,

    Full of information that is more than useful. I love the cover and wish you well on the book. It and the cover are winners.
    For my book cover we started with a photo I took of the area where the story took place and went from there. I do think each cover grows from the authors vision. A great vision you had this time. Doris

    Like

  4. D says:

    I know how hard you worked on the cover, but it was worth it.

    Like

  5. Being visually impaired, , coming up with a good front cover design is, at best, challenging. Fortunately, I had help with the front cover of my latest poetry collection from a sighted friend with a good eye for photography. The front cover features a photo of a pair of pants. This is because in the title poem, after my teen-aged niece complains of not being allowed to go to the mall or stay overnight with a friend, I tell her to “put on your big girl pants–deal with it.”

    Like

  6. Nancy Jardine says:

    Cherley – I’ve not tried to design a cover yet, but i’m getting close to needing one for my almost completed re-write that’s on the writing board just now. I may just need a little help, though, since my design skills are limited. I do believe that cover design is very judgemental. What I like as simple and effective, others find boring. That perfect medium is difficult to achieve- Cherley, as you quite rightly say here.

    Like

  7. Mike Staton says:

    Good post on covers and who’s that guy on the back cover wearing the Ohio State cap? I do believe it’s …. Thanks for promoting “Boys Will Be Boys,” and hopefully those who buy it enjoy all the stories, including my look-back at the day Eddie and I went rafting.

    Like

  8. Reblogged this on L.LEANDER BOOKS and commented:
    Do you pick a book by the cover? As an author do you make your book covers yourself or do you hire it done. In this very interesting and informative post Author Cherley Grogg discusses the most important points of a good cover and has links to back up her info. On Writing Wranglers and Warriors, where you can gain a lot of knowledge!

    Like

  9. Wranglers says:

    Great post and good things to keep in mind. I do judge a book by its cover! Neva

    Like

  10. danniehill says:

    What a great post, Cher’ley. Whether writers like it or not book covers sell books. Of course talent and good stories spread the word about books that continues the sells. I’ve done covers completely alone and I’ve worked with artist as well. Something as simple as a photograph from one of the photo medias is enough if you pick the right one. One of my book covers was exactly that. I had written the manuscript, had the title and all the interior done but was stuck when it came to the cover. I was perusing a photo site and found one that leaped out and said “I’m here”. That book has sold more copies than any of my other books and much of it has to do with the cover. It’s also a good story, but I find that many readers are first time readers of my work and they go on to read other works of mine. The cover is so important and your post presents the issue well.

    Like

  11. erinfarwell says:

    Wow, Cherley – as always an other great writer-advice blog. You have such great insights and I appreciate your sharing them with us. No matter what stage I am in my current process, I always find something in your posts that has me look at my own in a different way. Thanks again,
    Erin

    Like

  12. Pingback: Your Cover Is the Bridge to Your Readers by Stephanie Stamm | Writing Wranglers and Warriors

Leave a Reply

