Historical/Literary Facebook – Jane Eyre by Stephanie Stamm

Steph_2 copy (2)A couple of weeks ago, I participated in a teen writing workshop with a local organization called Read and Write Kalamazoo (RAWK). The workshop ran from Monday through Friday, 1:00 – 5:00. On Tuesday, I facilitated a session on rants and emotion personification, but I was there every day. So I got to know the students and wrote and shared responses to the prompts along with them.

We had some great prompts. One of the first was to write a series of Facebook posts for a historical or literary figure. I chose Jane Eyre, because the novel has been a favorite of mine for years. (And I’m not alone. See K. M. Weiland’s recent guest post on Jonathan Gunson’s blog on how to make a book un-put-down-able. Weiland uses Jane Eyre to illustrate her points.) I was so taken with the assignment that I decided to finish my piece and publish it as a blog post.

So, here goes. I hope you enjoy it. All the illustrations are from www.janeeyreillustrated.com. If you’re interested, you can find even more illustrations there.

Slide1

 

Slide2

 

Slide3

 

Slide4

 

Slide5

 

Slide6

 

Slide7

 

Slide8

 

Slide9

 

Slide10

 

Slide11

 

Slide12

 

Slide13

 

Slide14

 

Slide15

 

 

What literary character or historical figure might you create Facebook posts for?

Illustrations from www.janeeyreillustrated.com

Connect with Stephanie Stamm:

http://www.stephanieastamm.com

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

Stephanie Stamm is the author of the New Adult/Young Adult urban fantasy A Gift of Wings(She is working on the sequel.)

A Gift of Wings Cover

 

 

 

 

 

 

She has also contributed stories (one fictional and one true) to the following volumes:

Undead of Winter Front Only Into the Storm Cover

This entry was posted in Writing, writing prompts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Historical/Literary Facebook – Jane Eyre by Stephanie Stamm

  1. Nancy Jardine says:

    Stephanie- what a fabulous idea. I’d love to pinch it and use the idea for my own books. I’d perhaps choose the Roman Governor Agricola, or maybe the Roman emperor Vespasian. Problem is getting the illustrations to suit isn’t easy. I might try though! 😉

    Like

  2. Doris says:

    Stephanie,

    This was one of my favorite projects in school, except back then we quoted books to comics found in the papers. Oh the memories, but Nancy is correct, what a great idea for books we love, or our own.

    By the way, II love your ‘posts’ in Jane Eyre. FUN! Doris

    Like

    • sstamm625 says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed it, Doris. The project with comics sounds really fun too. I agree that the FB idea is a good one for our own books. I know sometimes authors tweet as characters. I haven’t ever done that, but maybe some day.

      Like

  3. Wranglers says:

    Love it. Read like an old-fashioned Gossip Column, and really Facebook is just a newer version of the gossip column. Fun. Cher’ley

    Like

  4. How about Oliver Twist?

    Like

    • sstamm625 says:

      Oh, my! That could be fun too, Abbie. I can imagine it could take many FB posts to cover a Dickens book. Of course, I just hit the major highlights of Jane Eyre….

      Like

  5. Wranglers says:

    Really enjoyed this old new version of Facebook! And you had a way of succinctly telling the story with your short posts. Loved it. Neva

    Like

  6. Mike Staton says:

    Wonder what Charlotte Brontë would think of the FB posts by Jane Eyre? I know I liked them.

    Like

  7. katewyland says:

    Great idea. Great FB posts. Would be fun to try with other books.

    Like

  8. What a fun project! Jane Eyre is one of my favorite books too, but I’d have to pick Tess of the d’urbervilles to do my Facebook posts on. I have a lot of favorite books but the character of Tess has stayed with me since my high school English Lit days and it would be interesting. I can definitely see using this method of posting as a good promotional tool for your own books. Thank you for a great post!

    Like

    • sstamm625 says:

      Thanks, Linda, for the comments and the reblog! I’d love to see what you do with Tess if you decide to go for it! There’s a lot of great fodder in that book.

      Like

  9. Reblogged this on L.LEANDER BOOKS and commented:
    Jane Eyre posts to Facebook via author Stephanie Stamm. From a blog post on Writing Wranglers and Warriors. So interesting!

    Like

  10. erinfarwell says:

    Awesome post, Steph, and so creative. Love it!!!!

    Like

    • sstamm625 says:

      Thanks, Erin! It was a lot of fun to do–especially once I found the illustrations. I didn’t know there were so many illustrated versions of the book. I spent a lot of time exploring illustrations from different artists and time periods. So glad you liked the post!

      Like

Leave a Reply

