Poetry and Memories by Cher’ley

This Blog by Cher’ley Grogg

 

Do you remember the first time you heard the “Serenity Prayer”. The first time I heard the poem was when President John F. Kennedy repeated it:

God grant me the serenity

To accept the things I cannot change,

The courage to change the things I can,

And the knowledge to know the difference. 

This little prayer can help us through many a trial and tribulation. Some things in our lives can’t be changed such as chronic illness and death. More things can be changed, the things that are centered in our emotions: rejection, depression, loneliness, and inadequacy. We have to learn the difference and ways to change the things we can.

There is more to this poem and the words are not new. Written by Reinhold Niebuhr, and first used in the written form at the conclusion of his sermon in 1943.

The original attributed to Niebuhr is:

God give me grace to accept with serenity

The things that cannot be changed.

Courage to change the things

Which should be changed,

And the Wisdom to distinguish

The one from the other.

Living one day at a time.

Enjoying one moment at a time.

Accepting hardships as a pathway to peace,

Taking as Jesus did,

This sinful world as it is,

Not as I would have it.

Trusting that You will make all things right,

If I surrender to your will.

So that I may be reasonably happy in this life,

And supremely happy with you in the next.

Amen

 

Recognize your problem. Listen to what others are saying to you. No matter how subtle the voice is, either of your friend, or in your own mind, there is an acknowledgement of what is going on in your life.

You may not need to be surrounded by others or a hands-on comfort, but you need to understand something has changed in your life.

Or You may need the hands-on comfort that can only be received from others. Hands-on comfort can help you heal.

There’s no right or wrong way to recognize your sorrow.

The important thing to remember is “I need help”. Even though, I can’t change all situations, or hurts or problems in my life, I can change some of them.

 

Joy for today: *Go outside, lay down on the grass (or lean way back in a chair) and look straight up at the clouds. What do you see?*

Do you see and elephant or a dragon looking back over his shoulder? 

The above blog is an excerpt from the first chapter in “The Journey Back—One Joy at a time”.

The JourneyBack 3

 

I think this has been a week for poetry. Seems to be on our WW&W’s blog.

How long has it been since you’ve thought of serenity? How long has it been since you’ve taken a long, slow look at the clouds? Do you see animals, or snow drifts? Do you see mountains? One of our favorite pastimes when I was a child was to find animals in the clouds and I shared this with my kids and grandkids. How about you? How does this poem make you feel and did you know that what we call “The Serenity Prayer” is just a smaller part of a larger prayer?

 

Cher’ley’s Books are listed below and on sale at Amazon and local bookstores. And she has a new one that is freshly published with 11 other authors. 

Stamp Out Murder”.

The Secret in Grandma’s Trunk” This is an especially good book for your Tween Children and Grandchildren.

The Journey Back-One Joy at a Time and the B&W Edition of The Journey BackThe JourneyBack 3

 

Boys Will Be Boys   

The Joys and Terrors of Raising Boys-An Anthology

Fans of Cher'ley Grogg,AuthorAnd please join me on my Facebook Fanpage, that’s managed by one of my most faithful fans: Cindy Ferrell

Here’s a link to Cher’ley’s WEBSITE

This entry was posted in activities, Bible passages, blessings, Dedication and Remembrances, devotions, Humor, Love, poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Poetry and Memories by Cher’ley

  1. Doris says:

    Well said Cher’ley and beautiful post. Thank you. I have always loved watching clouds and photographing them. Best to you. Doris

    Like

  2. sstamm625 says:

    Lovely post, Cher’ley! Knowing the difference between what we can change and what we can’t is the key, isn’t it? Great cloud picture!

    Like

  3. I didn`t know that the Serenity Prayer is actually part of a poem. Thank you for the insight.

    Like

  4. erinfarwell says:

    Great blog post, Cherley. Now I’ll have to get your book. 🙂 Great job and can’t wait to read more.

    Like

  5. Wranglers says:

    LOL Erin. The good thing is this book is set up so you can read a short chapter at a time or even split it up over the week and do the exercises at the end. You can read it like a book, use it as a daily or weekly devotional, or use it as a self-improvement book. Hope you enjoy it. Cher’ley

    Like

  6. Wranglers says:

    Sounds like a great book and great advice. I watch clouds continuously when outside and love all the characters and animals, trolls and action I see there. I like to fix situations for people, so often frustrate myself wanting to change things that can’t be changed. I need that serenity prayer in front of me a lot!!

    Like

  7. Wranglers says:

    Sorry, that was Neva with the last comment about trolls in clouds.

    Like

  8. Nancy Jardine says:

    I love when I see something recognisable in cloud formations though others don’t often see what I do. Now the serenity thing I need to work on since I ‘blew my top’ today and that’s a thing that happens very rarely.

    Like

  9. Reblogged this on L.LEANDER BOOKS and commented:
    Love this post from Author Cherley Grogg. We all need to stop and take a minute out of our day to follow her advice!

    Like

  10. Cherley, you always know just when to write something that inspires me. I really needed this. Thank you!

    Like

  11. sj says:

    Okay Cherley I am getting off the computer for a while to go outside and look at clouds. Thanks for the iced tea break.

    Like

Leave a Reply

