The (Chocolate) Addiction

IMG_3021_1Hello. My name is Erin and I am a chocolate addict. Or maybe a sugar addict. I like sugar but I love it best when it’s mixed with rich, creamy chocolate, so maybe chocolate is more accurate. Not that it matters. Right now I can’t have either and it may be the death of me.

Earlier this summer my daughter and I visited my mom, older sister, and brother in North Carolina, along with said siblings’ spouses and children. We had a lovely visit. I was surprised to learn that everyone in my family is on one version or another of a grain-free/sugar-free diet. While there were few exceptions and treats, my mom, siblings, in-laws, nieces, and nephew ate very clean meals with little to no processed foods or sugars. There was much discussion of sugar addiction and gluten issues which were very informative.

While it seemed as if we were constantly eating, I didn’t gain a pound during the entire visit. Strongly motivated by this fact I vowed to eat cleaner at home and for a while it chocolate2worked. We ate well and I lost a little weight. After a few weeks chocolate and other “treats” made it into the grocery cart. Hectic schedules resulted in faster, more processed meals. My weight increased to its pre-healthy-eating level.

In late August I had an appointment with a new physician who placed me on a 21 day elimination diet which I started after Labor Day. For over two weeks now I have had no sugar, dairy, wheat, and a few other things selected just for me. My family has been very supportive, sending me recipes and ideas of what to serve for meals. They also assure me the first two weeks are the worst. Soon, they say, my sugar cravings will be gone and chocolates, breads, pastas, and processed foods wouldn’t even taste good anymore. In fourteen days I will kick my sugar addiction and be ready for a more healthful lifestyle.

This has nchocolateot yet been my experience. I am 16 days sugar and gluten-free and I really want some chocolate. And cheese. And bread. The fact that stores are now carrying huge bags of Halloween candy is not helping. I look at the new mega packages of snack-sized bars and think, “That might not be enough.”

My husband has joined me on this health adventure and can’t wait until it’s over so he can go back to his pudding for breakfast and ice cream for dessert lifestyle. I am taking a different view. While I am looking forward to adding certain foods back into our diet, I don’t want to waste this opportunity to reduce sugar intake and carry forward our healthier eating habits. But it isn’t going to be easy.berries jpeg

I love chocolate in almost any form but especially dark chocolate, milk chocolate, chocolate with peanut butter, chocolate with nuts, chocolate with sprinkles, and chocolate with chocolate. While it saddens me to relegate this delectable food to an occasional treat, I know it’s the right thing to do.

Today is my birthday. Instead of a cake we’re going to have a bowl of mixed fruit with a candle in it; the perfect way to celebrate my turning 52 and our new, healthier lifestyle. While I know things will get easier, right now life is rough.

My name is Erin and I’m a chocoholic.

Learn more about me at:

http://www.erinfarwell.com
https://www.facebook.com/erin.farwell.5
https://www.amazon.com/author/erinfarwell
http://www.goodreads.com/Erin50
http://www.pinterest.com/erinfarwell

 

Farwell-Shadowlands-Final Cover.inddAHE New Cover

This entry was posted in chocolate, Diet, Humor, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to The (Chocolate) Addiction

  1. Wranglers says:

    Erin, such a cute blog, but yet serious. I’m struggling. Found out a few weeks ago I am Type II diabetic. I am 1/10 of a point from having to take insulin. If that happens I won’t be able to drive a commercial vehicle. So Im monitoring and cutting out almost everything. Happy Birthday. Hope it’s great even without a cake. Cher’ley

    Like

    • Cherley, Ralph has Type II Diabetes too. It’s hard for me because the things he shouldn’t have, I can. I do try to eat healthy, so that helps. Since we got the puppy he takes her out all the time and that gives him a little exercise. It’s a hard thing to have a disease or disorder that can be managed by what you eat. Let’s face it, we all have our favorite foods and it’s hard to give them up. Good luck with your struggle to change your lifestyle. Wouldn’t want you to have to quit driving truck! I’ll be praying for you.

      Like

    • katewyland says:

      Cherley, have you ever heard of a book called The 30 Day Diabetes Cure? It gives a step by step method for getting things under control. My husband followed a lot of it’s advice – cut out most carbs, lost weight, exercised more – and his numbers are now completely normal. Of course, when he had his stroke and they gave him massive doses of Lipitor, his numbers skyrocketed. Damn statins. Now that he quit them – they don’t agree with him – he’s back to normal. If you’re interested, you can usually get the book through Jim Healthy’s website. When I tried just now I got an error message. So here’s the phone # (505) 983-8010. Good luck!!

      Like

    • erinfarwell says:

      Cher’ley, I found out yesterday that I am pre-diabetic but the blood work was done before I started the diet so it probably wouldn’t show that now. For lots of reasons, this diet is going to become more of a lifestyle change than I expected but that’s okay. Sort of. 🙂 Be healthy my friend.

      Like

  2. Erin, you are perhaps the bravest person I know. I love chocolate, especially dark. I do know too much isn’t good for me so I try hard not to overindulge but sometimes I can’t help myself! Your pledge to eat healthy is fantastic. I wish you the greatest of luck. If you come through this time with better eating habits it’s all worth it. Note: Now I feel ashamed for wishing you Happy Birthday on Facebook and saying “eat lots of cake.” Instead, “Eat lots of fruit! Great post.

    Like

    • erinfarwell says:

      Thanks, Linda. There are lots of reasons why this is going from a temporary diet to a full-time life style but I did negotiate with my doctor that I can have 1 piece of 80% or higher chocolate each day. 🙂 Don’t worry about the cake thing – how could you have known and besides, I know you meant it as a loving statement so no problems. 🙂

      Like

  3. Doris says:

    Ein,

    I feel for you. I am lucky, I really don’t like chocolate. Also, gluten is a no-no for me, I’m allergic to wheat and it is easier just to not have any gluten. For me, I really don’t miss any of it. My big downfall, crispy and salty. That means crackers and chips…I’m working on that one, no potatoes (white) for me.

    Happy birthday and may you find the balance you are looking for. Doris

    Like

  4. katewyland says:

    I’m not much for chocolate, but I am a sugar fiend. I really need to cut out all sweets, but it is hard. Probably be a good idea to nix gluten too. I do try to eat healthy – organic, grass-fed, etc. – until I need a sweet fix in the late afternoon. Heard someone say that the late afternoon slump is often a caffeine crash.

    Good luck and happy birthday.

    Like

    • erinfarwell says:

      Thanks, Kate. Yes, even after the diet I need to go no gluten and a few other things. Fortunately I’ve never been a coffee fan but I do like some sweet and salty snacks. Sigh… Still, I can have treats now and again so I’m trusting all will be well. Take care.

      Like

  5. Nancy Jardine says:

    My mouth is watering, Erin. I’m not a chocoholic. I can say no and walk away from the temptations of chocolate, but I do love it when I allow myself a little. Sugar is something else. I would be addicted to fudge/ Scottish tablet since they’re my downfall. As a result I resist buying candies, or chocolate. It’s just as well my husband almost always buys the groceries. 😉

    Like

  6. This is great if you have a family to feed, but if you’re single like me, it’s a waste of time preparing organic food if you’re the only one who will be eating it. Although I could probably stand to lose a few pounds, unless a doctor tells me otherwise, I’m sticking with my regimen, and I don’t blame your husband for wanting to go back to his original lifestyle, as long as he doesn’t have to. . Life’s too short. Good luck with your diet.

    Like

  7. sstamm625 says:

    Great post, Erin! Fun and funny. I especially love this line: “I love chocolate in almost any form but especially dark chocolate, milk chocolate, chocolate with peanut butter, chocolate with nuts, chocolate with sprinkles, and chocolate with chocolate.” I’m sorry for your pain. I keep thinking about trying something like this, but I haven’t been brave enough. You go, my friend! I trust it will get easier. 🙂

    Like

    • sstamm625 says:

      Oh, and happy birthday!

      Like

    • erinfarwell says:

      Thanks, Steph. Just found out that due to various genetic markers and a few other odds and ends I will need to really reduce grains/gluten and processed foods as much as possible. Sugar goes without saying. I think we’ll do something like what my older sister and her husband which is to follow the diet Monday through Friday and let yourself have a more traditional diet (or at last a few good treats) on the weekend. Thanks for your support. Miss you.

      Like

  8. Wranglers says:

    Wow, what an easy blog to relate to! Everything you said about chocolate and sugar addiction is true for me too. I vary between eating healthy and wondering if I should bother at my age! My brother ate healthy and had bad heart disease by 50. Easy to rationalize myself out of watching my diet. But you are an inspiration. Good luck and happy birthday! Neva

    Like

  9. Mike Staton says:

    On your death bed at age 103, your final words will be: “Please, leave a drop of chocolate on my tongue.” It will be your first chocolate in 51 years. My mom, who had ALS and died in 2003, was a sugar/sweet addict as well. When my sister got a package of maple rolls, mom signaled she wanted a taste, and we put a tiny bit of icing on her tongue since her mouth and throat muscles were barely working. Sometimes it’s the little things that matter even when you totter on death’s cliff.

    Like

  10. I’ve learn a few just right stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for revisiting.
    I surprise how a lot attempt you place to create the sort of great informative site.

    Like

Leave a Reply

