Cognitive Content of Conferences by Cher’ley

This Blog by Cher’ley Grogg

What is the Connitive Content or the sum or range of what has been perceived, discovered, or learned about my Conference Experiences?

  1.  I walk away wiser than I went
  2. Meet famous writers
  3. Interact with other writers
  4. Make new friends/See old friends
  5. Share knowledge and experiences
  6. Buy autographed books
  7. Sell my books
  8. Autograph books
  9. Get exposed to different genres
  10. Fun
  11. Gather material for future writing projects

The next Writing Conference that I’m attending is coming up real soon. October 10th-12th in Maryland. The C3 (Creatures, Crimes, and Creativity) I’ve written about this conference before. I truly enjoy this conference.

I have a short story in their C3–2014 anthology. I’ll get you a link when it  comes  on sale.

I will be on two panels at this conference. Moving an Idea from Conception to Completed Work and The Writer’s Muse. What inspires and cures Writer’s Block?

Here’s the line-up:

Keynote Author

Rebecca York

Best-selling

romantic suspense,

paranormal and dark fantasy writer

Keynote Author

John Gilstrap

NY Times

bestselling thriller author and

screenwriter

Guest Author

Brad Parks

Shamus, Nero and Lefty award winning mystery writer

Guest Author

CJ Ellisson

NYT Best-Selling

Urban   Fantasy & Contemporary

Romance writer

I think all of us could certainly choose one of these to spend some time with over the Conference Weekend.  Not to mention some other well known authors. There is also the bookstore and I will be signing my books and the C3 Anthology.

***Who would you like to meet at a conference? Which is your favorite Conference?***

Cher’ley’s Books are listed below and on sale at Amazon and local bookstores. And she has a new one that is freshly published with 11 other authors. 

Stamp Out Murder”.

The Secret in Grandma’s Trunk” This is an especially good book for your Tween Children and Grandchildren.

The Journey Back-One Joy at a Time and the B&W Edition of The Journey BackThe JourneyBack 3

 

Boys Will Be Boys   

The Joys and Terrors of Raising Boys-An Anthology

 Cowboys, Creatures, and Calico 

Fans of Cher'ley Grogg,AuthorAnd please join me on my Facebook Fanpage, that’s managed by one of my most faithful fans: Cindy Ferrell

Here’s a link to Cher’ley’s WEBSITE

 

This entry was posted in conferences, Creativity, Education, Fun, leadership, Writing, writing conferences and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Cognitive Content of Conferences by Cher’ley

  1. Mike Staton says:

    I’m saving money hoping the cash will still be around in six months so I can attend the Henderson Writers Group’s conference. It’s pretty expensive, but at least I don’t have to worry about a hotel. I notice you’re link to “Boys Will Be Boys.” How are sales going?

    Like

  2. Doris says:

    Cher’ley, Have fun. I have the Women Writing the West conference in a couple of weeks. The energy of conferences, priceless. Doris

    Like

    • Wranglers says:

      Mike, I sold a few when I first put it up. It’s going on sale for .99 the 4th, 5th, and 6th. Then $1.99 for the 7th-11th. I’m having a big contest and I’m advertising it there. Most of the ones I’ve sold have been in person.Have you sold any? Hope you get to go to the conference. If you happen to visit Ohio, the 1st part of June, you could go to the WV writer’s con. It’s priced very reasonably. Cher’ley

      Like

    • Wranglers says:

      Doris, the energy is great. I enjoy them. I try to do 3 a year. Some people do them weekly. I don’t see how they can do that.

      Like

  3. sstamm625 says:

    I gotta get into this conference thing. I just haven’t done it yet. One of these days…

    Like

  4. I also find conferences enlightening, and I’m glad you enjoyed yours.

    Like

  5. S. J. Brown says:

    The only writers conference I have attended is WV Writers . It is always a great fun learning experience. The C3 conference sounds interesting. I may have to check it out on line and see if I can work it into next years calendar. There is always something new to learn at any conference and I enjoy meeting fellow authors and brainstorming with them.

    Like

  6. katewyland says:

    I’m kinda burned out on writers’ conferences at the moment. The last one was a real disappointment. A lot of poor presentations and since I didn’t really know anyone, it was harder to mingle. I always volunteer so that I can get to know people, but still didn’t connect the way I would have liked. And given the amount of money I spent, it was a bummer.

    I went to a fan con earlier this year (Left Coast Crime) and that was a good learning experience. I plan to attend next year too.

    Have fun at your conferences.

    Like

  7. Inspiring post, Cherley. I long to go to a Writer’s Conference, but have yet to attend one. It’s in my future, I hope. You enjoy them, that’s for sure! Thank you for sharing the reasons a writer should go. Congrats on being on the panel. I know you’ll come back and share with us and those of us who can’t go for one reason or another really appreciate it!

    Like

  8. Nancy Jardine says:

    These conferences still elude me but I’m not sure who I’d want to be hanging out with if I went to one. I’m sure they’re more worthwhile once an author has been at least once to get the hang of it so that they don’t waste good opportunities for that list you’ve put above. I think doing a presentation must be so difficult since the audience will be looking for a fresh approach where fresh is hard to come by. Enjoy your forthcoming one!

    Like

  9. Hope your conference is going well this weekend, Cher’ley. I’ve enjoyed many of the conferences I’ve attended, but I’ve also been very disappointed in some. I’d like to try something different one day and possibly combine the conference with a retreat to reflect upon and do some writing afterwards. How do you get to be on a panel/give a presentation at a conference? I made a few pitches to one conference and never head back after basically being told I was too inexperienced … felt miffed and hurt. It’s been 2 years, so perhaps now I’m “more experienced” … but I don’t know what that means, so if you could enlighten me how you got through the gatekeepers, I’d appreciate your insight! Good post!!

    Like

  10. Pingback: Book Tour with No Big Publisher Backing by Cher’ley | Writing Wranglers and Warriors

Leave a Reply

