Seasons

Kathy - greenKate Wyland

.

Spring, Summer, Fall and Winter. Depending on what part of the world you live in, your reaction to the seasons will undoubtedly vary. When I was a kid in the Midwest I loved winter, but as an adult in northern California I don’t find it as enjoyable. In both places, however, fall has always been my favorite.

WinterWinter in Michigan meant lots of snow, with sledding, ice skating, snowmen (or snow horses, in my case), hot chocolate and warm fires.It also meant snowsuits, boots, wet mittens, and chapped hands and faces, but those weren’t important. Of course, I didn’t have to deal with driving in snowstorms, shoveling driveways and getting kids in and out of said snowsuits. Michigan can have a lot of snow, but I don’t remember ever feeling housebound. Unless it was an actual blizzard we could always go out and play.

Winter in the San Francisco Bay area usually mean lots of rain and grey overcast days. California has a Mediterranean climate, which means ALL of our precipitation comes in the winter. Now we don’t get a lot in comparison to some areas, but when we do it settles in for a long stay. One winter we had over 30 continuous days of rain. And unlike other areas our rain is cold – not at all like warm summer rains. So no one wants to go for walks in the rain or splash in puddles. Instead we dash inside as quickly as possible and stay there. I had a friend who moved here from Seattle, probably one of the rainiest places in the US, and she couldn’t stand our dark, depressing winters. She quickly moved back to the Northwest where it may rain daily, but only for short periods and then the sun comes out again.

SpringSpring in the Midwest was always eagerly welcomed–no more snow, warm rains and everything turning green. Of course there was also dirty, mucky slush from the melting snow and allergies to the blooming flowers, but in general it was a great season. Here in CA we rejoice in the rain stopping (unless it’s drought year, like the last couple) and being able to get out and around again. Given our mild climate, we have flowers blooming all year round, but the Spring brings even more, as well as the colorful tree blossoms. The end of the rains also means the hills start turning their usual golden brown (and we start wondering what the fire season will be like).

SummerFor me, California summers are much more pleasant than the ones I remember in the Midwest. Summer as a kid meant hot, muggy nights where I couldn’t sleep and swarms of mosquitos, both of which I hated. But it also included lazy days at the lake, swimming and playing in warm water. When we moved west, I was dismayed to find that the only lakes were in the mountains and were fed by melting snow. Instead everyone went to the beach where the water was cold, the waves rough and the sun hot. As a redhead with sensitive skin that last was a real problem. I never developed an affinity for the beach as did many of my friends. But in general, summers are pretty pleasant, with low humidity and not many bugs. We do get week-long periods of over 100 degrees, but those only happen a few times a season and we can always retreat to the coast with it’s cooler temps.

Fall treesIn the Midwest, Fall was a mixed blessing for me. It started with the awful hay fever season, where I would try to scratch my eyes out, but then it would morph into my favorite time. I loved the cooler, non-humid weather, the leaves turning gorgeous colors, jumping into the raked piles and then toasting marshmallows when my dad burned them. (Probably not allowed anymore.) Add in Halloween, my birthday and Thanksgiving, what wasn’t to like? I have the same feeling now. While most of our native trees don’t shed their leaves, there are many imported ones that turn lovely colors in the Fall. The cooler weather encourages me to be more active and I start preparing for my favorite holidays.

How about you? What’s your favorite time of year? What are your seasons like?

.

Forewarning Cover

FOREWARNING
Healing is her life. Will it be her death?

.

Wyoming Cover - 4x6 - #2.

.

Wyoming Escape
Two dead bodies. One dirty cop.
Is she next?

.

.

Cover - Images - 2.

 Images – A Love Story
She’s learned to hide from life.
Should she hide from him?

.

.

Connect with Kate Wyland:
Facebookhttps://www.facebook.com/AuthorKateWyland
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/katewyland
Website : http://katewyland.com

**************

Winter: photo credit: <a href=”https://www.flickr.com/photos/unitopia/3209662723/”>Unitopia</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;
Spring: photo credit: <a href=”https://www.flickr.com/photos/kubina/448485266/”>Jeff Kubina</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;
Summer: photo credit: kevin dooley via photopin cc
Fall: photo credit: LuAnn Snawder Photography via photopin cc
This entry was posted in Autumn, Beach, Fall, Seasons, Spring, Summer, swimming, Uncategorized, winter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Seasons

  1. sstamm625 says:

    Lovely post–and pictures, Kate! I too love fall most of all, with spring second, summer third, and winter dead last. And, yes, I live in Michigan. Every winter, I ask myself why. 🙂 I like the changing of the seasons–and, you’re so right about how eager we are for spring here after the long, cold winters. I might prefer a winter of rain to snow though. Every climate has its pros and cons, I suppose.

    Like

    • katewyland says:

      I do have to say I’m glad I didn’t have to go through the snowsuit dance when my kids were little. I remember my sis-in-law constantly on-and-offing her kids’ gear. I just had to keep them busy.

      Like

  2. Doris says:

    Being a mid-west girl also, the family would take fall drives to see the trees. There were lots of timbered areas in the part of Illinois I grew up in, and the river drive from Hamilton to Navoo…priceless. Of course winters were awful as were summers, swimming in the Mississippi was not a bad considering the alternative. Spring was okay, but fall was the favorite. Thanks for stimulating the memories. Doris

    Like

  3. Here in Wyoming, we have two seasons: winter and construction, but this post brings back pleasant memories of the usual four seasons.

    Like

  4. Mike Staton says:

    Fun read… like you, Kate, I’ve lived in several places through the decade, all with different climates during the fall season. Where I live now, Vegas, summers are stay-in affairs. The heat is unbearable, sometime hotter than 115 degrees. The autumn… it’s in the mid to high 80s now and mid-60s at night, with a bit of humidity, around 50 percent. Pleasant for walking and doing things. Winter can get a bit cold, I’m told. In 2008, when my friend Sharon, and her Mom and Dad moved from Central Florida, it actually snowed, getting around 8 inches, I think. First time in something like 18 years, so I don’t expect another big snow until 2032.

    Like

    • katewyland says:

      I certainly don’t associate snow with the Vegas area! How different.
      I’d hate the high heat – don’t do well with that at all. Give me cold any day. At least you can bundle up. My S-I-L winters in AZ, south of Tucson. Just loves it. Not for me.
      Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  5. Nancy Jardine says:

    Fabulous photos, Kate. Like you, I love autumn/fall but when asked which season I love best, I’m hard put to answer. That’s becauseI always have the pros and cons for all seasons. I think the nice thing nowadays is that if you can afford the time and the money you can experience seasons around the world in places which all have their own quirky traits. And if you can’t actually visit, then there’s no shortage of fabulous images to look at on the internet.

    Like

    • katewyland says:

      Glad you enjoyed the pics, but I can’t take credit for them. Got them from Photopin.
      It is great that we can escape to other climes if we want nowadays. I’d love to go to the southern hemisphere and experience the complete opposite.

      Like

  6. Enjoyed the post Kate. I can’t say that I have a favorite season, and I missed them terribly when I lived in Florida and then in Mexico. There’s just something comforting in knowing that summers are full of barbecues, reunions and camping. Then comes fall, with it’s beautiful colors and cooler weather. Winter is cross country skiing, festivals of ice sculptures and the Polar challenge (no, I’ve never done it, but it’s sure fun to watch!) Then comes spring with its fresh smell, everything begins to bloom, almost like a rebirth. I probably enjoy Spring first because it feels so good after a Midwest winter, and Fall second because of the beautiful colors and cooler weather. Of course, summer is fun too, and I actually love winter. It always brings back great memories of my siblings and I playing outside until we were almost frozen, and tobogganing down our hill, then trudging back up to do it again. I loved the heat in both Florida and Mexico, and both were wonderful places to live, but I’m a Michigan girl through and through (even though I now live in Wisconsin because that’s where my husband is from).

    Like

    • katewyland says:

      Agreed, every season has its pluses – and minuses. Personally I’d have a hard time with the humidity in FL. I’m a CA girl now through and through, even though I have some fond MI memories. I’d really love to live in different places for about a year at a time to get a flavor of them, then come back home.

      Like

  7. I have lived in snow country all my life (IA, WY, ID, and MT) and every year as I age, I dislike winter more and more! I do hope to be a snowbird someday, if only for two or three months (Jan, Feb, Mar, or Dec, Jan, and Feb, but my least favorites are Jan and Feb so those two for sure!). I love spring, with its newness, the birds and baby animals, and the warming rains, and I love fall with the cooler temps and changing colors. Summer is all right, except July and Aug when it’s early 95 to 100 in Casper — but at the cabin on the mountain it’s 15 to 20 degrees cooler and since the cabin is just 20 minutes away, I can zip up there easily (and do!) to get away fromt the heat! I love living in the Rockies MOST of the time!

    Like

    • katewyland says:

      A lot people feel like you and retreat to FL or AZ for the winter. Given the snow fences and road closing barriers we saw when driving through WY, I imagine the winters must be horrendous. I’d be heading out too. After that kind of winter, spring would feel wonderful.

      Like

  8. S. J. Brown says:

    For me it is spring. The flowers are blooming, the snow is gone, and the weather has warmed up. There are baby animals, the trees are leafing out and I can get down to one layer of clothes. While I enjoy the changing of the seasons and each season has its own assets I will always love springtime.

    Like

  9. nevab@atwy.net says:

    Didn’t have email access for 4 days, but read this now and loved it. Brings back lots of memories of North Dakota winters and now Wyoming seasons which I love also, a little bit of everything.
    Neva

    Like

  10. erinfarwell says:

    I’m also a fall girl – I was even married in the fall. I loved winter as a kid, sledding, cross country skiing, and long walks in the falling snow. Now I live in Georgia, a place where it took me 3 years to change my concept of what is “winter.” I miss the snow but I don’t miss it hanging around for months and months. Great post and love the photos.

    Like

Leave a Reply

