Click by SJ

Sue profile_pp

 

 

 

 

This Post by S. J. Brown

 

Blog WaterfallThe world is filled with photographers each with their own specialty. Some enjoy  getting that perfect scenic shot that places the viewer at the location. The shape of a majestic mountain, the trickling liquid that cascades from a water fall, or the subtle shades that enhance a sunset is what prompts them to click the shutter button.

Blog FlowerOther shutterbugs frame in bright colorful flowers. Focusing in on the intricate lines what enhance the petals. Just the right amount of sunlight is needed before they click the shutter button.

Blog JaySome photographers enjoy images that evoke emotion as told by the expression on a person’s face. These expressions are fleeting and they need to click quickly to capture their desired image.

Architecture is another popular subject to record. The sleek subtle lines that piBlog Lighthouseerce the skyline or highlight the craftsmanship that goes into a building command some to click the shutter button again and again from varying angles.

As a wildlife photographer getting close to a wild animal and capturing it on film is my objective. This isn’t always an easy task. You can’t ask your subject to move a little to the left or look this way, can you? I can and do.

When I am in the field these types of comments evoke a chuckle from my spotter, but I chat with my subjects anyway. A calm reassuring voice lets my subject know I am there. This reduces the surprise factor and flight or fight response to my presence.

Blog HawkA raptor in hunting mode perched on a tree branch often has it’s back to me. A short conversation will prompt him to turn to see the source of the noise. Click , click goes my camera. Further chatter often turns him around to access the threat. That is when I click, click, click the shutter button.

Blog FoxFinding my subjects is also a challenge. They could be in the woods, along a river bank, along the edges of a field, or standing along the road. Some animals are use to seeing cars drive by. However when a vehicle stops that is totally foreign to them. Some stop and ponder the situation for just a moment. That is my opportunity to click away.

For me photography is as much about the experience as it is about the resulting image. The challenge of finding my subjects is something my spotter Jay takes very seriously. While I view our excursions as relaxing and fun he is serious and tense until I click the shutter button a few times. Then he relaxes a bit and enjoys his surroundings.

Blog TurtleMy endless quest for new subjects to photograph has led me to explore a variety of locations. I have met some charming people, and look into the eyes of fascinating creatures.

        When viewing a wildlife image do you consider what it took to get the shot? Do you simply enjoy the image? Do you have a preference for scenic shots over architecture, or are critters your favorite?

Cover 3-26-23
Go into the field with S. J. Brown and see what develops.

Read Close Ups & Close Encounters.

S. J. Brown’s children’s picture books introduce children to wild critters with photographs, not illustrations.

All the Birds I See Cover

Cover

http://www.sjbrown.50megs.com

Facebook sjbrown.3367

This entry was posted in Animals, pets, photography, Productivity, Promotion, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Click by SJ

  1. Wranglers says:

    Great post. Love the photos and the insight. Your process is great. Thanks.

    Like

  2. Wranglers says:

    That was me commenting. Cher’ley.

    Like

  3. Wranglers says:

    Glad you enjoyed the post.

    Like

  4. erinfarwell says:

    Love your work, both written and photographic. I love nature photos that show me a new way of looking at a known animal or shows me one I’ve never seen before. Great post.

    Like

  5. Doris says:

    S.J. I so enjoyed the post. I confess I tend to take photos of things that fascinate me. But I am just an amateur. You work and what it takes to ‘get the photo’ amazes me. It is worth it in my eyes. Doris

    Like

  6. This is interesting. Good luck in all your photographic endeavors.

    Like

  7. sstamm625 says:

    Great post! Love the photos! I’m usually drawn to scenic shots, I suppose. I’d never really thought that much about what goes into getting a good animal shot. Thanks for opening my eyes and mind!

    Like

  8. Mike Staton says:

    It’s toward the end of your article… I love this particular sentence. It sums up why I like hiking in back country. “For me photography is as much about the experience as it is about the resulting image.” Back in the early ’80s I took a wonderful trip out West to Glacier National Park and Yellowstone. When I look back at the photos I took on hikes, it summons on the old memories and suddenly I’m back there.

    Like

    • Wranglers says:

      I strive to place the person viewing the image to travel to that place and time. In the case of critter photos I hope to give them a close up view and a feel for the critter.

      Like

  9. katewyland says:

    I’m not much of a photographer. I tend to take scenery shots to remind me where we’ve visited – the experience. Love animal/nature shots like you do. It’s great you have the patience to both find and seduce your subjects. Fun post.

    Like

  10. Such an interesting post! I love photography but am definitely not proficient when taking my own. Your photos are beautiful. Thanks for this great post and letting us get to know you better!

    Like

  11. Interesting post! I love taking pictures though I’m not very good at it. I love nature photos. I do wonder sometimes when I see pictures of wildlife how the photographer got the photo.

    Like

  12. Nancy Jardine says:

    SJ – I’m afraid I would fail miserably to capture those expressions you’re talking about. If a hint of wind blows on a flower I’m trying to do a quick pic of, then I’ve no chance of getting a really clear image. I love the variety of images that I get on my Facebook feed – some of which are spectacular. Thanks for some really nice ones above.

    Like

    • Wranglers says:

      The advantage you have with photographing flowers is you can come back when the wind isn’t ruining your shot and try again. I don’t get to do that, my subjects tend to leave. Glad you like the images.

      Like

  13. I love taking photos but I’m not very good. Even though I’ve been a journalist for years and have lived out West for decades, I’ve not gotten the knack of taking pictures. I’d like to improve and I look forward to having a camera that will help me. Thanks for a wonderful blog post!

    Like

    • Wranglers says:

      Your trouble with taking photos may be that you haven’t found your favorite subject yet. Some people have a knack for scenic shots, I don’t. Your love for the subject will show in the image.

      Like

  14. Pingback: The Unexpected by SJ | Writing Wranglers and Warriors

Leave a Reply

