Black Friday

propic11_1This post by L.Leander, Author of Fearless Fiction

Black Friday. We begin to hear the never-ending commercials for the event in October and November.   Somehow Thanksgiving gets shoved aside as people eagerly anticipate the biggest shopping day of the year. I am not a fan, and here’s why.

You can read more about Black Friday HERE.

In my day (I’m sounding like an old lady again) Thanksgiving was a revered holiday.dinner It originated with early settlers of America and the Indians who owned the land coming together to make peace. As the day’s popularity grew, it became a time for reflection, thankfulness for our world,  families, the food on our tables, and most importantly, a God who loved us. No store was open in my Thanksgivings of the past. The whole world took a break to be thankful and it was almost as if time stopped for 24 hours while we counted our blessings. We watched the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade in the morning and then helped Mom get things ready. We usually had cousins, grandparents, aunts and uncles and anyone my turkeyfolks thought needed companionship. After eating our fill, the kids would run outside to play Duck, Duck, Goose in the snow. We played until we were wet and half-frozen but when we came in to dry off there was pumpkin pie! At the end of a special day with relatives and friends, I always felt full of love. At dinner we each said something we were thankful for before my Dad led us in prayer to bless the meal.

Read more about the 1st Thanksgiving HERE and HERE

Read about Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade HERE

prayer

Thanksgiving is a time for families to get together to reminisce. The table is laden with food and everyone goes home with leftovers to enjoy later.

Enter Black Friday. It has commercialized Thanksgiving, but I harbor no bad feelings for those who love it. My sister, her three girls (whose husbands care for their children), a cousin and a few friends leavesnowroad immediately after the Thanksgiving meal is over and drive to Green Bay, WI, where they have secured motel rooms. Since my sister lives in Michigan’s beautiful Upper Peninsula, they are only a 2-½ hour drive from Green Bay. They love the time together and although I’m always invited, I politely decline. It’s not my cup of tea. The entourage checks into their rooms and go out as soon pajamasas the sales start, often in their pajamas. They shop the sales they want and go back to the motel to sleep for a while. They do more shopping the next morning, then head to Appleton to catch the sales there. Another night in their Green Bay Motel and they’re on their way home, their cars laden down so much that the tires groan under the weight.moreshops

It’s not that I hate to shop that I don’t go along. Give me a music store, a bookstore,a fabric shop, or a yarn shop and I’ll make haste to get there.  Just not on Black Friday.  It makes no sense to me to stand in long lines for something that will probably be sold malleatout by the time your turn comes. I like to rest the day after Thanksgiving, often sewing or reading before hubby and I tackle the leftovers. I contemplate the life God has given me and the blessings I sometimes forget to count. I’m not fond of crowds of people pushing and shoving their way through stores, trying find a parking space, and waiting in the food court to get something to keep you sewinggoing. That being said, I love the stories my sister brings back about the wonderful deals they got and I’m very glad they have a good time together.

Call me old-fashioned, but I still think of Thanksgiving as a time to be thankful; a day of rest and relaxation with family you may not have seen for a while. When I was working I protected Black Friday, because it was an extra day I could do something I wanted to do but never had time for.

What do you think about Black Friday? Are you a lover, a hater, or ambivalent? I’d like to hear your thoughts.

 

colorfamily

 

You can read about the origin and rules of Duck, Duck, Goose HERE

Watch a video of the game HERE

 

Books by L.Leander:

Inzared Queen of the Elephant Riders Video Trailer

INZARED bookcoverkindle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Inzared, Queen of the Elephant Riders

 

Inzared, The Fortune Teller Video Trailer

Inzared The Fortune Teller Book Cover

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Inzared, The Fortune Teller (Book Two)

 

13 Extreme Tips to Self Publishing

13ext

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

13 Extreme Tips to Marketing an ebook

13mkt

 

 

 

 

 

 

You can also find L.Leander here:

L.Leander Website

Amazon Author Page

Facebook Author Page

L.Leander Books Blog

L.Leander’s Book Reviews and Interviews

Twitter

LinkedIn

Goodreads

Google+

 

This entry was posted in Advertising, Black Friday, blessings, celebrations, choices, decorations, family, family outings, First Thanksgiving, Food, gifts, Green Bay, Happiness, Holidays, knitting, L.Leander, life, Memories, Parades and Events, playing, shopping, Thanksgiving, traditions, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Black Friday

  1. Neva Bodin says:

    I’m with you, LInda. I ignore Black Friday if I can, after going shopping on that day about 30 years ago, not knowing that it existed. It was just the day I had off from work and could get some shopping done. I went to a large mall and was elbow to elbow with people. It was annoying for me. Now Christmas is being pushed at us in stores and on TV and I’m wondering what happened to focusing on Thanksgiving also. It’s not only important to remember the real reason for it, but to take time to be thankful for what we have now.

    Like

  2. Mike Staton says:

    For the last few years, I’ve had to be a part of Black Friday, but not how you envision. I was a weekly newspaper reporter, and I’d have to do feature stories on all the madness. I’d head out to Walmart and other stores on the highway strip and in the downtown and interview shoppers. I’d also talk to store managers to get their coach-like comments: “Great game”; whoops, I mean “great sale.” Now that I think about it, way back in the late ’70s in Central Ohio, I did a Man-In-The-Street interview on the day after Thanksgiving; I don’t think it was called Black Friday back then, but I’ not sure.

    Like

  3. Reblogged this on L.LEANDER BOOKS and commented:
    This is a post I wrote for Writing Wranglers and Warriors. I hope you enjoy the post. Stop on by Writing Wranglers and Warriors for more great posts and authors!

    Like

  4. Wranglers says:

    Fun post. I don’t do Black Friday. I was always the babysitter for my grandkids. I always kept them overnight. All four of them. Now their getting married & have other plans, but we all get together for a blessed and Happy Thanksgiving. Cher’ley

    Like

  5. katewyland says:

    I hate crowds, so have no interest in Black Friday. What appalls me now is the stores opening on Thanksgiving Day for Black Thursday. Come on people. This is getting ridiculous.

    Like

    • I so agree, Kate. Why they have moved up to Thanksgiving day to start the sales makes me feel sad. If they must have Black Friday, then keep it on Friday. Why encroach on the holiday of Thanksgiving and time with our families and friends? Do we really need to shop that much? Ridiculous!

      Like

  6. sstamm625 says:

    I’m not a fan either, Linda. I know plenty of people who love to shop the sales in wait in the lines for hours for bargains. I’ve only done it once or twice. Mostly I don’t want anything enough to the deal with the crowds and the lines and the parking. Plus, as you said, it takes away from Thanksgiving, especially now that the sales are starting on Thursday. I feel bad for the people who have to work and don’t get that day off to spend with their families and friends.

    Like

    • Several years ago, JoAnn’s Fabrics was selling a Christmas village I really wanted on Black Friday. I encouraged my husband to go along. We got the last set and stood in line for over an hour to pay. As I carried my treasure home I vowed never to get caught up in that madness again. I hated the crowds, many salespeople were harried and snappy (who can blame them?) and I decided I’d much rather not buy into the frenzy of Black Friday. Two years ago my sister begged me to meet the whole troupe in Green Bay at the mall for coffee. I said no, but she put the guilt trip on me and I went. I kicked myself in the pants for ever agreeing. I disliked it just as much as ever, even though I was going for a different reason. Parking spaces? Ha! It definitely renewed my vow of staying home on Black Friday!

      Like

  7. Nancy Jardine says:

    Linda- I hate shopping normally and would be dragged screaming and protesting if someone asked me to shop on the day after a main holiday. I’m definitely a big fan of having a nice relaxing ‘holiday break’ at home or at the home of another family member.

    Like

    • I’m not exactly fond of shopping either, although my sister could win the award for most shopping hours! In the past I always had my shopping and sewing done early – at least by September, and I could enjoy the holidays without fear of having a last-minute crisis. Like you, I like to spend holidays with friends and family relaxing. It’s a pity our children don’t get to experience the innocence of our childhoods and understand the meaning of our holidays.

      Like

  8. I’m not a fan of Black Friday, either. Bah humbug! I’ll spend the day after Thanksgiving doing what I normally do on a weekday, writing or doing writing related chores.

    Like

    • I love your answer, Abbie. I never thought of Black Friday in a Bah humbug way, but it fits perfectly. As I said in the post, when I was working, Black Friday was special time for me to sew or create, since I had so little time during the week. I always felt rested at the end of the day, not worn out or frenzied!

      Like

  9. Doris says:

    No Black Friday for me. Over the years my jobs have me working most holidays and or the day after. Still the memories of those early days…love it. Doris

    Like

    • I was pretty lucky in that I didn’t have to work holidays, but that’s why I protected them. My job was very stressful and to sew was such a treat that I always planned a new project on Black Friday, far from the madding crowd!

      Like

  10. Wranglers says:

    I totally agree with you. I know those who scour the internet for days before Thanksgiving to check the sales. Dinner time at their home revolves around the sales not family or tradition. That bigger newer TV, computer, or toy just isn’t worth all the pushing, shoving and disruption to the holiday.

    At our home Thanksgiving is still about family, friends, turkey, and football.

    Like

    • Well, if I had to do the shopping, I would much rather use the internet than go out to the mall, but even that has taken a treasure away from us. The bigger tvs and toys aren’t that important. The reason for Thanksgiving is. Our family is the same as yours and I’ll keep it that way!

      Like

  11. Kathy Waller says:

    I’m not much of a shopper at any time, and I have no desire to get into crowds. My husband has gone out a couple of times for specific items and once enjoyed visiting with other shoppers while they waited inside a nearly empty store for six hours–from midnight to six a.m.–because nothing would be sold until the early morning. I still don’t understand the reason for that. I was happy he got home safe and sound.

    Like

    • Thanks for the chuckle, Kathy. Your husband must be a bulldog to have been able to stay out in the cold for six hours. I’m sure he enjoyed the conversation, but I don’t like to be cold and I can’t stand for that long. Your post brought up memories of a television news broadcast I saw a couple of years ago where people were tenting outside a store for a couple of days because they wanted to be first to get the item they wanted. Now, that’s taking it a bit far, I believe!

      Like

      • Kathy Waller says:

        Actually, he was inside. The store closed at midnight, but anyone already there could stay. Few people stayed. Nothing was sold until early morning. I sat up nearly all night worrying he would be trampled by a crowd, but he said there was no crowd, even when the store opened the next morning. That part renews at least part of my faith in humanity. I don’t think he would camp, I hope.

        Like

  12. erinfarwell says:

    Linda, I also agree. I used to love going to the mall the weekend after Thanksgiving because it wasn’t decked out for Christmas until then and these were the first decorations we’d see. It was bad enough when Christmas commercials started in mid-November but this year they stared in October. This is too much!

    Like

  13. I’ve always enjoyed going to the mall once during the Christmas season to see the decorations. Now you can see the decorations in October and I heard Christmas music in a store the end of October. it’s just too much! I am so glad that my children and I escaped all that madness and they were able to have a Christmas pretty much the same as mine growing up. They knew what the season was about and we enjoyed our church services and candle-lighting ceremonies. Cookies baked for Santa and the Christmas Story were traditions. In light of it all, I don’t think my kids ever asked for a lot, but they always got one big toy or gift we knew they wanted and a lot of handmade things. One year I started in January and crocheted, knitted and sewed clothes for the Barbie Doll my daughter wanted for Christmas. My husband built an awesome wooden case to hold the clothes and Barbie. When Angel unwrapped the present I can still see the delight in her eyes. She was so proud that her Barbie had so many clothes and she played for hours and hours with that doll.

    Like

  14. Gayle Irwin says:

    I believe most of us “Wranglers” concur — Black Friday: YUCK! I have gone a few times and I have scored some great deals, but I shop less and less because as a family we do more “family” and less “gifting.” Plus, like most of you, I detest the crowds, and I’ve NEVER stood in line for two, four, or six hours for things in a store (and I never will!) I also agree: open on Thanksgiving?? – BA-HUMBUG! Stores should remain closed on Thanksgiving and give everyone opportunity to be with family or friends or in community at the Rescue Mission, Salvation Army, etc. helping others … and then relaxing. Blessings, and rest, should be relished … and respected.

    Like

    • Thanks for summing it all up Gayle. It does sound like the consensus of this group is Black Friday – ick! We have all found family time or down time much more relaxing and fulfilled. I wonder who outnumbers who? Have they ever taken a poll to see who shops and who doesn’t on Black Friday? Just wondering. As for me, I’ll be enjoying my family (and may even get a little writing in!

      Like

Leave a Reply

