The Greatest Gift

Gayle_BozemanFamilyChristian_smallThis post by Gayle M. Irwin

When I was three years old, it was a doll called “Miss Peep.” When I was eight, it was a bicycle painted in my favorite color (purple!), complete with a handle-barred white basket with pink and purple flowers. When I was 19, it was an engagement ring. When I was 25, it was my bachelor’s degree and my first job as a writer for a newspaper. Each time I thought, “This is the greatest gift!”

Miss Peep doll

Dolls come apart, bicycles get traded, engagements are broken (mine due to his infidelity and subsequent departure to marry someone else), papers dull, and jobs change (although I am still a writer). During the Christmas season, we’re bombarded by ads to BUY, BUY, BUY, and kids beg and whine to their parents to get them “the greatest gift.” We’re led to believe we need more stuff, bigger, stronger, faster … made to feel we can’t live without the latest gadget, largest TV, or fastest car. But, gadgets give out, TVs go on the fritz, and cars get T-boned. And, even with what we do have left when our time on earth is finished, as the saying goes, “you can’t take it with you” … or as John Ortberg so succinctly says in his book, “it all goes back in the box.”

Gifts are amazing. The saying goes, “Your life is a gift from God; what you make of it is your gift to Him.” A recent sermon at my church spoke to that, mostly in the form of our work and our volunteerism. The minister reminded us work is a gift – whether we work outside or inside the home. We’re blessed to use our talents, to positively impact people, and to make a wage to pay bills … or not make a wage and serve/care for our families.

Gayle_ChrisjpgGifts also come to us in the forms of talents and abilities. Whether one has the gift of music, the gift of hospitality, the gift of managing, the gift of writing – each one is important and wonderful; I appreciate those traits in people. Again, our gifts/talents are from God and what we do with them is our gift to Him (and to others).

Gifts of material things, such as diamond jewelry, candy, flowers, a car – those are wonderful as well. I appreciate the gifts my family and friends give me on my birthday, for no “special reason,” and for Christmas. But, it’s not the “stuff” that makes me smile as much as the love and care with which those gifts are given. The relationships, those family members and friends, are gifts themselves. Recently my husband gave me the gift of taking our little family (us and the two dogs) to our mountain cabin. He had spent the previous weekend snow-blowing and plowing our long driveway from the main road to the cabin. This hasn’t been done in recent years because the blower/plow needed repair and we didn’t have the money to fix it. He spent two long afternoons ensuring we could drive in to the property so that our nearly 17-year-old Cody dog could go with us and not have to walk (or be carried). We spent a delightful, sunny Sunday afternoon basking in the beauty that is our mountain hideaway, and though I’m not much of a snow or winter person anymore, the majesty of brilliant blue, sunny skies, peace and quiet, and the aura of Christmas delighted my heart and relaxed my spirit. That was a special gift of love he gave me (plus, Greg enjoys winter much more than I do! But I still greatly appreciated the gift of his time spent making the trek possible and the time we shared eating soup, reading, and simply enjoying the scenery).

Cabin_back sideThe gift of love is the greatest gift, and during this Christmas season I’m reminded of the greatest gift of all – the love my Heavenly Father bestowed, giving his one and only Son, so that, as Scripture says, “whoever believes in Him will have everlasting life.”

Christmas isn’t just packages under a tree, festive light displays on the lawn, or mistletoe above the doorway (although those are nice) – Christmas is love from friends family and the One who Created us. Christmas is loved wrapped in swaddling clothes and lying in a manager … then, 33 years later, dying on a cross and rising from the grave. Without Christ there is no “Christ-mas”, it’s just another day. The greatest gift of all is Jesus – He is love … and mercy … and hope … and so much more. I pray we each unwrap that precious present, the greatest gift of all – the very Love of God, which was given to each one of us that first Christmas, a present from the past that continues into the future, given to us every day.

Nativity movie scene

MERRY CHRISTMAS!

Gayle & Mary outsideGayle M. Irwin is a writer, author and speaker. She is the author of several inspiring dog books for children and adults, including Sage’s Big Adventure, Walking in Trust: Lessons Learned with My Blind Dog, and two dog devotion boos: Devotions for Dog Lovers: Paws-ing for Time with God and Devotions for Dog Lovers 2: Sage Advice. She is also a contributing writer to five editions of Chicken Soup for the Soul, including the latest dog book The Dog Did What?, released August 2014. She also writes for WREN (Wyoming Rural Electric Network), Crossroads, Creation Illustrated, and Our Town Casper magazines, as well as for the Casper Journal, River Press, and Douglas Budget newspapers. She’s also authored a guidebook for owners of blind dogs, available on Kindle. She has a passion for pets and volunteers for and donates a percentage of her writing revenues to several animal welfare organizations. Her speaking engagements include presentations for children and adults about the lessons people can learn from pets. Visit her website at www.gaylemirwin.com.

SageBigAdventureFront-small   Chicken Soup_DogDidWhat_Cover   SageLearnsShareFront-small   Dog Devotions 2 Book Cover Sage Advice Cover   Dog Devotion Book_Cover_Final   Blind Dog Ebook Cover_updatedMay2014  Walking_FrontCover_small

This entry was posted in blessings, Christmas, faith, Gayle M Irwin, gifts, talents and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The Greatest Gift

  1. katewyland says:

    Great video. I love Christmas carols. Miss singing nowadays.
    Happy Christmas.

    Like

  2. Doris says:

    And thank you for the gift of friendship, it means more than you could possibly know. Beautiful post. Thank you. Doris

    Like

  3. Nancy Jardine says:

    I think if a gift is given with careful thought behind it, even if it’s worth very little, then that’s what the season is about. And the gift of friendship is a very worthwhile one, Gayle.

    Like

  4. S. J. Brown says:

    This is a nice reminder that this time of year really isn’t about all the gifts.

    Like

    • SJ, I truly tire of all the BUY, BUY, BUY commercials so I wanted to remind us all that, even though presents are nice, there are more important meanings to the season. We can get so caught up in the commercial aspects of Christmas and forget the blessings, and gifts, we already have … those that are truly the most important. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. MERRY CHRISTMAS!

      Like

  5. Mike Staton says:

    I haven’t met you in person, Gayle, but through your FB comments and through your writings, especially your ones about abused animals, I’ve come to value you as a friend. I really liked the beginning of this column… how you wrote about the gifts you treasured at various times of your life and then brought us up to date concerning them. And how you sum it all up with these words, “The greatest gift of all is Jesus – He is love … and mercy … and hope … and so much more.” Merry Christmas, Gayle.

    Like

    • Thank you, Mike, for your kind words — I do look upon my Wrangler colleagues as friends, and I am thankful for each of you. We may have opportunity to meet in the future, as I’ve booked a flight to Vegas for late March — meeting a girlfriend from California there for my birthday. We will have to try to get together! Thank you for your kind comments and I wish you a very blessed Christmas as well! 🙂

      Like

  6. Wranglers says:

    Our theme in church now is “regifting,” or giving back to God for the gift of life he’s given us. It’s so easy to get caught up in gifts and forget why we give gifts. Good post Gayle and I love the Celtic Women, as well as Il divo. I have their Christmas CD and they are the male comparison to Celtic Women. Neva

    Like

    • I alluded to that sermon series in my post as I thought it appropriate as well, Neva, for our gifts/talents are meant to be shared. I believe each each do that with our writing, our volunteerism, our work, as well as our friendships, and I’m thankful I have you as my dear friend!

      Like

  7. Thank you for giving us a glimpse of your family Christmas. Happy holidays.

    Like

  8. Reblogged this on L.LEANDER BOOKS and commented:
    What is the real “reason for the season”? Read Author Gayle Irwin’s priceless post on Writing Wranglers and Warriors. It’ll warm your heart!

    Like

  9. This is an absolutely beautiful post, Gayle, and just right for the season. We need to stop and give thanks why we celebrate and give thanks to a loving God who provided us His Son to forgive us our sins and teach us to live a Christian life. Really loved the video of the Celtic Women singing “Oh Come All Ye Faithful”. It’s one of my favorite Christmas carols and it seems as if angels are singing. Thank you for sharing. I’ve reblogged this on my website so others can enjoy.

    Like

  10. Wranglers says:

    Love is our greatest gift. There isn’t a better way to show God to people than through love. You are blessed. Cher’ley

    Like

  11. sstamm625 says:

    “It all goes back in the box.” That’s great. It is the love and the care that last. Merry Christmas, Gayle!

    Like

Leave a Reply

