South for Christmas

Greetings from sunny Florida where it’s two days before Christmas, and my brother and his family and I are in the midst of the hustle and bustle before our holiday festivities begin. Last month as part of Robert Lee Brewer’s poem a day challenge on his blog at http://www.writersdigest.com/editor- blogs/poetic-asides , I wrote the following poem which will eventually be included in another chapbook. It’s based on the lyrics to “I’ll Be Home for Christmas.” I’ll include a link below to where you can hear me sing the song.

I’ll be South for Christmas

My Florida relatives count on me.

There won’t be snow but maybe mistletoe

and presents under the tree.

On Christmas Eve, we’ll go to the beach,

fly kites, maybe try boogie boarding.

It won’t feel like Christmas,

but Santa will come with bounty for the children.

I’ll be there if only in my heart.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/15213189/home%20for%20christmas.mp3

Where will you be for Christmas? I hope you have a good one.

Abbie Johnson Taylor, Author of We Shall Overcome, How to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver, and That’s Life: New and Selected Poems

Order That’s Life from Finishing Line Press.

Order That’s Life from Amazon.

This entry was posted in Creativity, family, Fun, Memories, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to South for Christmas

  1. Neva Bodin says:

    I envy your warm Christmas Abbie. Glad you are there and will enjoy it! It snowed in Casper again last night so definitely a white Christmas here. No chestnuts to roast and no open fire though! Loved your poem.

    Like

  2. It’s funny that I just left a comment on Travis Richardson’s post about Christmas in Florida. I know you’ll enjoy it very much. Merry Christmas Abby!

    Like

  3. katewyland says:

    The San Francisco Bay area isn’t as warm as FL but the only snow is in the mountains. We still went every year to cut down a fresh tree and it was usually fairly cold (for CA). Hot cider and cold noses got us in the mood. On the other hand, when the kids were little we’d go feed the migrating geese at a nearby park – not a typical Christmas activity. And tomorrow it’s supposed to be close to 70.

    If you stay in/go to FL regularly you’ll adjust to the change. Christmas is Christmas, no matter where you are. Have a good one.

    Like

  4. Nancy Jardine says:

    Abbie- in 2010 I went to visit relatives in Los Gatos, California, just before Christmas. We went to the beach at Santa Cruz on the 23rd Dec and it was 19Deg C/ 67 Deg F . Maybe not hot for you, but it was for us. We could have done some sunbathing on the beach. We had lunch there and then went back to somewhere close to Los Gatos where we chose and ‘cut down’ the Christmas tree and then went back to my brother-in-laws home to decorate it. For me, that was an experience because when we usually go to choose our tree in my part of Scotland it is normally freezing our butts off. Wearing a T-shirt is NOT how we usually dress (thermal everythings is more like our dressing up gear) Have a fabulous time oin Florida! (ME? I’ll just turn up the heating since it’s below 0 deg tonight. 🙂 )

    Like

    • katewyland says:

      Hey Nancy, you were in my neck of the woods. I’m not too far from Los Gatos and we used to go up in the mountains above LG to cut down our trees too. Sometimes we’ve even encounter a dusting of snow. 🙂 If you ever come again, maybe we can get together.

      Like

  5. Doris says:

    Enjoy your time. Christmas is home where ever your heart, friends and family are. Doris

    Like

  6. Mike Staton says:

    I’ve lived all over the U.S. through the decades, but the best Christmases for me are when there are little children tearing open presents on Christmas Day.

    Like

  7. Wranglers says:

    I’m sorry Abbie, I didn’t get your photos done, but I got sick and I’m just now picking the computer back up for a little bit. Great Blog, Merry Christmas and glad you’re with your brother. Cher’ley

    Like

  8. I look forward to a warm (temperature) Christmas one day as well. Enjoy yours and MERRY CHRISTMAS, ABBIE! Safe travels, too!!

    Like

  9. sstamm625 says:

    I’ve spent most of my Christmases in Kentucky–that’s where I grew up–so somewhat south. Sometimes the temperatures are in the 60’s; sometimes there’s snow. I hope you and your family had a lovely Christmas, Abbie.

    Like

Leave a Reply

