2015 Writing Resolution Resource by Erin Farwell

IMG_3021_12014 has been a year of ups and downs but that’s the way it goes sometimes. Still, there is much to be grateful for. My family and I are healthy, the house is almost back together and it’s better than before. My freelance writing career is going strong, despite a few bumps along the way. I have a book contract for the next two Cabel Evans mysteries. And I have great friends. There are the ones I see on a regular basis, others I haven’t seen in years but love keeping in touch with on Facebook, and ones I’ve “met” through this blog and other on-line activities. So, overall, 2014 was not a bad year.

As January 1st approaches, there is the excitement of the New Year along with the requisite resolutions. I have several NewYearperennial ones such as lose weight (have had some success this year) and keep the house clean (ha). As an author, I always have many writing goals. Last year’s got side tracked with the house disaster and kick-off of the freelance writing career but that’s the past. This year I have several goals including finishing my work in progress and finding a home for a short story I wrote.

Since many of you who read this blog are also authors, I thought I would share with you a tool that I have used with great success and which you might find useful in fulfilling your own writing goals in 2015. Jamie Raintree is an author whom I met on-line, I think through the Sisters in Crime mystery writers group. In addition to being a wonderful author of both books and blogs, Jamie has created an amazing spread sheet sinclogomediumredsystem to keep track of your goals and progress with your various writing projects.

Broken down by month, you can track your word count for up to eight projects. There are goals, graphs, progress reports, year-to-date totals, and more. You can learn more about her spread sheet and down load a copy to use at: http://jamieraintree.com/writing-progress-spreadsheet. You might also consider following her blog, which I enjoy.

I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday season and that each of you finds health and fulfillment in 2015.

You can learn more about me at:

http://www.erinfarwell.com
https://www.facebook.com/erin.farwell.5
https://www.amazon.com/author/erinfarwell
http://www.goodreads.com/Erin50

ShadowlandsAHE New Cover8149g0+Rz-L._SL1500_

This entry was posted in Goals, New Year, New Year Resolution, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 2015 Writing Resolution Resource by Erin Farwell

  1. Great post, Erin. I make goals every year too. Thanks for linking to that post on the spreadsheet. It looks like it’s exactly what I need to keep track of my projects for next year.

    Like

    • erinfarwell says:

      You’re welcome, Cindy. I didn’t feel like my blog was much of a blog but I really wanted to direct people to Jamie’s. The spread sheet is well done and very useful. Good luck with your 2015 goals.

      Like

  2. Erin, I enjoyed your post — I, too, have several goals for my writing in 2015 and I also experienced ups and downs in 2014, as many of us do/did. Like Cindy, I thank you for the spreadsheet link and Jamie’s blog; having the help and encouragement of other writers is so wonderful! Thank you for sharing!!

    Like

  3. Doris says:

    Erin, Congratulations on getting the house back together.

    Loved the spreadsheet! Thank you for the gift of the link. 2014 was a pretty good year, much like others and 2015 should be even better. I wish you the gift of a happy and successful 2015. Doris

    Like

  4. Mike Staton says:

    Glad the house problems are behind you. “Resolution” stories are always fun to read; they tell the reader a lot about the writer, a spotlight into what the writer thinks is important in her life. Back before I retired as a writer, I had to interview folks about their resolutions. One year — in addition to the conventional resolution story — I did a sidebar on the history of resolutions. A long history all the way back to Roman times and earlier.

    Like

  5. sstamm625 says:

    Thanks for the post and the link to the spreadsheet, Erin. I’m not sure if I’ll put the spreadsheet to use just yet as I’m still negotiating the goals. But it looks like a great tool. Congratulations on the freelance writing career and on the book contract. Whoohoo! Here’s to an exciting 2015!

    Like

  6. erinfarwell says:

    Thanks Steph. Haven’t gotten to read your book yet. Am waiting until I can savor it. 🙂 Happy New Year, my friend,
    Erin

    Like

  7. Neva Bodin says:

    The spreadsheet is a great idea. I have a friend who uses one and is now a published author! I was sidetracked by family health issues this year (my latest excuse) but have resolutions to be more intentional in writing this coming year. The spread sheet will help. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  8. erinfarwell says:

    You’re welcome, Neva. Good luck on all your goals in 2015.

    Like

  9. Wranglers says:

    Happy New Year Erin. Nice post. I can always use more to keep organized. Congratulations to your book deal. I am doing the Happy Dance for you. I’m glad you’re getting your house back together too. I know it was so hard on you and your family. I often said a little prayer for you. Sisters in Crime is a good connection too. Cher’ley

    Like

  10. S. J. Brown says:

    I hope 2015 is good to you and you achieve some of not all; your goals. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  11. Nancy Jardine says:

    That sounds like a good rounding up of 2014, the good and the bad, and a good planning system in place for 2015. The spreadsheet idea sounds wonderful- if you’re the kind of author who remembers to add to it which I probably am not. My marketing plans might benefit from something like that- so thanks for adding the link. Happy New Year to you and yours, Erin.

    Like

  12. Pingback: 2015 is here, what about 2014? | Writing Wranglers and Warriors

Leave a Reply

