Happy New Year

Jennifer FlatenThis post by Jennifer Flaten

Happy New Year!

I found myself writing 2015 on my checks a few days ago. Obviously, I am ready for this year to be over.

Whether you love to stay up until midnight to usher the new year in, or figure the best way to great the new year is well-rested, I hope your 2015 is filled with love, friendship and laughter.

For several years now the kids have vowed to stay up until midnight. In order to fill those long hours until the ball drops the kids have a “party” in their room. It includes snacks, beverages, movies and glow sticks.

They set up the laptop in my son’s room and everyone got cozy in their blankets and watched movie after movie. Every once and a while I would check in on them. That first year no one made it past 10p.

Last year our son dropped off at 9pm, but the girls were still up at 11p. I really didn’t want to deal with grouchy kids the next day so we watched the ball drop in Times Square (thank you time difference) and packed them off to bed.

I don’t think we are going to get away with watching the ball drop early this year. The girls seem determined to wait for midnight. I am sure they can’t wait send their friends Happy New Year texts at 12:01am.

decemberActually, that is a great way to greet the new year, filled with happy anticipation. I think that is exactly how I will greet the new year, even if I do it at 8pm, instead of 12am.

Follow me on Facebook

Browse my jewelry on Etsy

This entry was posted in Children, Holidays and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Happy New Year

  1. S. J. Brown says:

    Hope you are enjoying the new year so far. Like you I was ready for 2014 to be over. I am embracing the new year and hope it will bring good things for all those I know and love.

    Like

  2. Doris says:

    What a fun way to greet the year, with anticipation. Wishes you and yours a wonderful, bountiful and happy 2015. Doris

    Like

  3. erinfarwell says:

    Happy New Year, Jennifer. Lovely post.

    Like

  4. My friend in California sent me a text at 12-28 a.m. My phone was on, and the text alert woke me so naturally, I sent her one back. I haven’t heard from her since. Happy New Year.

    Like

  5. I don’t make it til midnight either, although I was awaken by my dogs at 11:30 to be let out (which is 1:30 am Eastern, so I was awake in the New Year!). I hope 2015 treats you and your family well, Jennifer!

    Like

  6. sstamm625 says:

    Happy New Year, Jennifer! I did make it past midnight this year, but I don’t always.

    Like

  7. Nancy Jardine says:

    Happy anticipation is what I always used to feel as a teenager as ‘the Bells’ approached and what I generally still feel now. A new slate, a new year. Enjoy your kids being with you just now as the year ‘turns’ because all too soon they might want to be elsewhere with friends in other party situations for the New Year. My daughters, as 15/16 year olds, spent the midnight time with us and then went off to firends who lived not far away for the next few hours. It’s a natural progression, so long as they’re in places known to be safe. Happy New Year to you and yours, Jennifer.

    Like

  8. Wranglers says:

    I prayed in the year and then gorged myself. We have a Watch Night Service at our house. Cher’ley

    Like

Leave a Reply

