To follow your dream have a plan

CindyCarrollEIt’s a new year so of course there are a lot of blog posts out there about resolutions or goals. My main goal will take a few years to accomplish. It’s not one that I can just do this year and have it complete. To achieve my main goal I will have to finish a bunch of smaller tasks. When I list them below though they won’t seem small.

First, the main goal – to be a full time writer. To get there I need to write. I need to write a lot. But I also need a plan. A business plan.

I’m hoping listing my goals in as many places as possible will help me stay on track and accountable.

Onto the goals:

1. Write 600,000 words (need to write 2600 words a day, weekends off)
2. Release Almost Normal (key revisions, send to editor, make changes)
3. Release new adult dystopian trilogy (write 2600 words a day, then revisions, edits)
4. Read 24 books (two books a month)
5. Watch 100 movies (2 movies a week)
6. Continue on low carb diet (find that willpower and keep don’t give in to temptations)
7. Exercise three times a week (Wii fit, walking)
8. Spend quality time with family and friends (weekly visits)
9. Blog regularly (write posts on weekends and schedule for during the week)

I’m also creating a business plan this year. To help me with coming up with the plan, what to include, what I should think about, I found these guest posts by Denise Grover Swank to be very helpful:

http://thewritersguidetoepublishing.com/a-business-plan-for-self-published-authors-part-one-of-a-three-part-series

http://thewritersguidetoepublishing.com/a-business-plan-for-self-published-authors-part-two-of-a-three-part-series

http://thewritersguidetoepublishing.com/a-business-plan-for-self-published-authors-part-three-of-a-three-part-series

So far the business plan is 15 pages. I’m detailing the stories I want to release this year. What my proposed release schedule is. In that section I list dates for when the stories need to be finished, when I need to finish revisions, when I need to send them to the editor.  I’m also including my intended prices, marketing ideas. I’m hoping once that is printed up and staring me in the face every day I will stay on track.

What are your writing goals for the year?

Find out about new releases, get free reads – sign up for my newsletter: http://eepurl.com/33jBn

Check out my website: http://www.cindycarroll.com
Follow me on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/CindyPCarroll
Like me on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorCindyCarroll

ReflectionsFinal2A road trip goes wrong for a group of friends trying to help one of them get over a break up. They find an inn where the mirrors are cursed and they realize they don’t know each other as well as they thought they did.

A road trip without a plan sounded like a good idea when Lena and her friends hit the road. A mini vacation and support for Steve, recently dumped, have the friends travelling through small towns and back roads. After hours of driving in the heat in a cramped car they’re all ready for something to eat and a good night’s rest. Reflections Inn looks perfect for the group of friends. A little run down, it hides a supernatural horror.

Buy on Amazon: http://amzn.to/1avH00L
Buy on Barnes and Noble: http://bit.ly/19Ti2ux
Buy on Kobo: http://bit.ly/13CBz9M
Buy on Amazon Canada: http://amzn.to/15oFc4a

About Cindy Carroll

Cindy Carroll is a member of Sisters in Crime and a graduate of Hal Croasmun’s screenwriting ProSeries. Her interviews with writers of CSI and Flashpoint appeared in The Rewrit, the Scriptscene newsletter, the screenwriting Chapter of RWA. She writes screenplays, thrillers, and paranormals, occasionally exploring an erotic twist. A background in banking and IT doesn’t allow much in the way of excitement so she turns to writing stories that are a little dark and usually have a dead body. When she’s not writing you can usually find her on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Goals and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to To follow your dream have a plan

  1. Good post Cindy. Although I don’t write with an outline, I do keep my schedule of goals on a whiteboard in my office. If I didn’t have it I would surely waste a lot more time than I do. Thank you for the links. I’ve written a business plan for the last two years, but last year’s was totally ignored because of my illness. This is a new year, I have new goals, and I am making sure I follow them. Your links are very helpful.

    Like

  2. My main goal for the year is to finish writing and possibly publish my memoir. The fact that I’ve put my idea out there and people are voting for it is what spurs me on. For details, see my blog at https://abbiescorner.wordpress.com/2015/01/09/vote-for-my-new-book-idea/ .

    Like

  3. Doris says:

    Wow, great goals. I am not a goal or business plan type person, but I do have directions. I wish you all the best and know you will succeed. Go for it. Doris

    Like

  4. Mike Staton says:

    Wow, Cindy, very detailed business plan for your writing career. Your road ahead is well it… I think you’ll successfully drive it. For myself, I just keep general goals… keep writing stories for my author’s page, write posts for Writing Wranglers & Warriors and finish my latest novel. But again, I know the unpredictability of life can shatter all plans. Right now I’m not at home in Las Vegas, but in Ohio and West Virginia visiting my dad, who suffered a heart attack last week and is still in the hospital, weak, fighting the flu, a tired heart and COPD lungs.

    Like

    • Thanks, Mike. Yes, life happens so my writing time only includes weekdays for now. If something happens I can hopefully catch up on weekends. Sorry to hear about your father. I hope he improves quickly.

      Like

  5. Neva Bodin says:

    Great start to the new year! And thanks for the links. Love getting helps and ideas from fellow writers. You are inspirational to me!

    Like

  6. Nancy Jardine says:

    I’ll have to have a look at those sites, Cindy, since I’m going to be needing some very realistic business/ marketing plans. At present, I think I give away more copies than I sell and that seems a just a tad wrong! (I’m joking but I do need to be more business like) Good luck with your plans.

    Like

  7. sstamm625 says:

    Wow, you go, Cindy! Great goals–and great drive going after them. I’m not nearly so good at the business side of my writing life. Thanks for the links! All the best in reaching those goals–long-term, yes, but you’ve outlined some of the smaller steps to make them happen.

    Like

  8. S. J. Brown says:

    Wow, that is an ambitious list. Mine is for this year is much smaller. Actually it isn’t really a list. It is just one thing I have vowed to do this year. I have vowed to submit once a week. Photos or writing it will vary from week to week. Some weeks ill be easier than others depending on what the publishers prefer. Yes it is only a few weeks into the year But I am o track. So far this year I have submitted a book proposal, and submitted photos to a greeting card company and a calendar company. So I am on track. Hope you are able to stay on tack. Keep us informed on your progress.

    Like

  9. I will be looking at the links you shared — great resources and an inspiring post, Cindy; thank you!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

