A blog challenge from A to Z

CindyCarrollEIt looks like this is the year to challenge myself. I want to grow as a writer so I’m challenging myself with writing outside my comfort zone both in genre and point of view. As a detester of first person narrative I’m challenging myself to read more books in first person. I wanted to blog more frequently so my newest challenge is the Blogging from A to Z Challenge.

The blogging challenge starts April 1 and runs to the end of the month. The idea is to blog every day except Sundays. We get one day off for good behaviour.  🙂  You start with the letter A on April 1 and blog about a new topic every day that starts with the next letter in the alphabet. Taking Sundays off gives you 26 days and 26 posts – if you can make it through the whole challenge. I’ve tried the challenge three (maybe four) times now and I’ve never made it all the way to Z. Part of my problem has been that I bit off more than I could chew. I tried to do the challenge for three blogs at once. My own, my pen name and my writing blog. I know. Way too many posts to worry about when I can barely write one post a week for my own blog.

There are lots of tips out there to help bloggers complete the challenge. The official blog advises to do short posts, with pictures. Something a lot of participants do is pick a theme for the month. Themes are good and make it easy to find things to write about but the hard part is coming up with a theme that has a topic for every letter. Q, X, Z are not always easy to blog about. In the past I did do themes and still didn’t make it to the end. The farthest I got was the letter T the year I did only one blog. When I did three I think I got as high as H. I’m hoping to make it to the end this time.

Because I’m super excited about my dystopian trilogy I’m going to be blogging about that and things related to apocalypse and dystopian stories. I’m using the CDC index as my muse for topics. Lots of end of the world inspiration on that site.

Anyone want to join the challenge? At last check they had over 900 participants signed up. It brings new visitors to your blog. People who might not have found it otherwise. Participants are encouraged to visit at least five blogs a day and to comment. If you join let me know so I can hop on over to cheer you on.

Find out about new releases, get free reads – sign up for my newsletter: http://eepurl.com/33jBn

Check out my website: http://www.cindycarroll.com
Follow me on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/CindyPCarroll
Like me on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorCindyCarroll

ReflectionsFinal2A road trip goes wrong for a group of friends trying to help one of them get over a break up. They find an inn where the mirrors are cursed and they realize they don’t know each other as well as they thought they did.
A road trip without a plan sounded like a good idea when Lena and her friends hit the road. A mini vacation and support for Steve, recently dumped, have the friends travelling through small towns and back roads. After hours of driving in the heat in a cramped car they’re all ready for something to eat and a good night’s rest. Reflections Inn looks perfect for the group of friends. A little run down, it hides a supernatural horror.

Buy on Amazon: http://amzn.to/1avH00L
Buy on Barnes and Noble: http://bit.ly/19Ti2ux
Buy on Kobo: http://bit.ly/13CBz9M
Buy on Amazon Canada: http://amzn.to/15oFc4a

About Cindy Carroll

Cindy Carroll is a member of Sisters in Crime and a graduate of Hal Croasmun’s screenwriting ProSeries. Her interviews with writers of CSI and Flashpoint appeared in The Rewrit, the Scriptscene newsletter, the screenwriting Chapter of RWA. She writes screenplays, thrillers, and paranormals, occasionally exploring an erotic twist. A background in banking and IT doesn’t allow much in the way of excitement so she turns to writing stories that are a little dark and usually have a dead body. When she’s not writing you can usually find her on Twitter.
This entry was posted in blogging, challenges and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A blog challenge from A to Z

  1. I like the post, Cindy. I have never heard of that blog challenge and it sounds like fun. Good luck with finishing.

    Like

  2. Jay Dee says:

    I joined! Should be interesting. I already blog twice a day, so I don’t think it’ll be an issue for me finishing it. However, some of those letters may be challenging.

    Like

  3. Doris says:

    Best to you Cindy, you will make it this year. I’ll try to follow and cheer you on. Doris

    Like

  4. Nancy Jardine says:

    I hope you enjpoy it this year, Cindy! I did it a couple of years ago and had a great time. I managed the whole Alphabet, but it was tiring. I know I’d never finish it this year ,…but maybe next year.

    Like

  5. Gayle Irwin says:

    Great post, Cindy. I could never blog that much or read that many blogs a day, so I couldn’t do the challenge. But, I like the idea you posted on the WWW Facebook page, that we could do it as a group on our site and each take a day or two during the month. Maybe it’s something we could plan for next year, Cher’ley???? Good luck to you, Cindy and thanks for the link to learn more about the blog hop/challenge.

    Like

  6. sstamm625 says:

    This does sound like an interesting challenge, Cindy. Certain letters would be very hard. Good luck with it–and all your other challenges for the year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

