Striving for a Quiet Time by Cher’ley

This blog by Cher’ley Grogg

Michael E. Debakey, heart surgeon, once observed: “For me, the solitude of early      mFront and Back of Congressional Gold Medal awa...orning is the most precious time of day. There is a quiet serenity that disappears a few hours later with the hustle and bustle of the multitude. Early morning hours symbolize for me a rebirth; the anxieties, frustrations, and woes of the preceding day seem to have been washed away during the night. God has granted another day of life, another chance to do something worthwhile for humanity.”

 

Lately, it’s been hard for me to find a quiet time. I get so worn out, and we have so much to do. By two PM, I’m totally finished. We just finished a beautiful wedding, with my youngest grandson. Del officiated, and I smiled. LOL. B

Total Knee replacement : Lateral view (Xray).ut we still engaged in counseling times, and planning times, these and other odd and end things joined our medical responsibilities. We both have therapy three times a week, and usually three to four doctor appointments, and now as most of you know, Del has a serious infection in his artificial knee.

Writing or Art is just a dream right now, but I think as I enter March I will have a little free time. I am going to get back to my writing, and I have two new anthologies that I will be editing. “It’s All About the Girls, All About the Girls—No Boys”, and “It’s All About the Dogs, All About the Dogs—No Cats.” If any of you are interested contact me    at cherleygrogg@gmail.com . We don’t have the details worked out, but it will be similar to “Boys Will Be Boys—the joys and terrors of raising boys”. A fun book that readers love.

Boys Will Be Boys   The Joys and Terrors of Raising Boys-An Anthology

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Do you remember that old song, “The Lighthouse”?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Brightly beams our Father’s mercy
From His lighthouse ever more,
But to us He gives the keeping
Of the lights along the shore.
Let the lower lights be burning;
Send a gleam across the wave;
Some poor fainting, struggling seaman
You may rescue; you may save.

**Do you have a quiet time? How’s your artistic adventures going?**

 

Cher’ley’s Books are listed below and on sale at Amazon and local bookstores. And she has a new one that is freshly published with 11 other authors. 

 

Stamp Out Murder”.
 The Secret in Grandma’s Trunk” This is an especially good book for your Tween Children and Grandchildren
The JourneyBack 3The Journey Back-One Joy at a Time and the B&W Edition of The Journey Back
Boys Will Be Boys   The Joys and Terrors of Raising Boys-An Anthology
 Cowboys, Creatures, and Calico 
Fans of Cher'ley Grogg,AuthorAnd please join me on my Facebook Fanpage, that’s managed by one of my most faithful fans: Cindy Ferrell
Here’s a link to Cher’ley’s WEBSITE

 

 

This entry was posted in Art, Balance, Lighthouse, Poem, Quiet time, talents, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Striving for a Quiet Time by Cher’ley

  1. My quiet time is usually in the evening when I curl up in my recliner with a good book or episode of one of my favorite podcasts.

    Like

  2. Sorry your life is so hectic right now. It is important that you take at least a few minutes alone to pray, think and relax. Your problems and overload will subside, but your inner self will be damaged if you don’t take care of it. My quiet time is in the morning. My husband is still asleep, I take the dog out, grab a cup of coffee and shut the door to the office while I spend time on the computer. For the last two days I’ve been feeling good, so I finally got my art journal started. More quiet tme (my sewing/workroom is in the basement)!

    Like

    • Wranglers says:

      Linda, I know your life has been up and down too, it sounds like you are getting things worked out. I was in the office for four hours this morning before Del even knew I was up. That was funny. I am planning some more quiet time. Cher’ley

      Like

  3. Kaye George says:

    I’m so sorry about Del’s infection. Those can wreak havoc and I hope it clears up soon. Maybe you can carry a netbook or a notebook and steal moments to jot things down. That might give you some peace and you might find something you can use in your writing that way. I’m sending my best good thoughts for you and Del and hoping for the best.

    Like

  4. Wranglers says:

    Kaye, I did jot down some funny things the other day, but I don’t know what I did with the paper, but it will turn back up. It was a funny episode with a mother and child. Del and I usually spend our travel time talking to each other and that’s nice. Now I’m concentrating on getting things straightened back up in the house, between my surgery, then his, then mine, then his week back in the hospital–things have been tossed and thrown around. LOL. I’m having a hard time thinking about being creative with things a mess, but I’m making good progress. Thanks for the good wishes for Del, I know you’ve gone through a lot over the last few years yourself. Cher’ley

    Like

  5. Travis says:

    Hey Cher’ley,

    Wishing you more peace and less stress. Hoping that Del’s knee gets better soon. For me, if get up and write around 5amish until I need to leave for work, that is my quiet time. I also have it in the evening sometimes after 10pm, but I’m usually too tired to write or do much else than read a book.

    Like

  6. Doris says:

    Late night is my time, but not always possible. Nighttime person living in a daytime world. Still, that time is precious to me, much like you time now. I’m so sorry to hear of health issues going on, but the wedding sounded wonderful. In my heart I know things will work out as they should. Thoughts and prayers and the new anthologies sound wonderful. Doris

    Like

  7. S. J. Brown says:

    Things will come together, for now sit back and watch it snow. Don’t worry about the house it will be there tomorrow or the next day. Right now you and Del are more important.

    Like

  8. erinfarwell says:

    Hang in there, Cher’ley. Prayers for healing and rest.

    Like

  9. Neva Bodin says:

    I am so sorry about Del’s infection on top of the other medical issues. That is more common than we think and I imagine IV antibiotics are happening. Energy draining for both of you. We had a year with more stress than usual and are enjoying a two week stay in Arizona where at least the stresses I’m dealing with aren’t quite so insistent on stealing my peace. But we head home tomorrow so may not get too much chance at the internet for the next 3 days. So I can only recommend a nice vacation to somewhere with some distractions as well as quiet time to restore you. It certainly has been nice for me. We are blessed and I know you and Del are too. Joining in prayer for both of you and your God-given talents.
    I love that hymn and the words by Dr. Debakey.

    Like

    • Wranglers says:

      Neva, glad you liked the hymn and words by Dr. Debakey. When the wedding came up, we were going to therapy 3 days a week, he had to have his IV changed daily, his wound had to be cared for, I’d just had surgery, dah-da-dah, so I told Del, we should just get a motel room in town for 2 or 3 days during the busy time of rehearsals, meeting with people, and physical things–best idea ever. I think that helped us keep our sanity. Where are you in AZ? I can’t wait to get back to work. I will miss everyone at home, but I’ve discovered I miss work. LOL Not that I don’t have plenty to do, but it doesn’t pay well. With this infection-if they have to take the knee back out, it could be out from 6 weeks to 6 months, and then another week in the hospital and 6-8 weeks of PT, well let’s just say we’re living on prayers and I thank you for yours. Cher’ley

      Like

  10. Mike Staton says:

    I’ve been following on FB all your good times as well as travails. I am praying for a healing for Del’s infection, and have seen your photos of the wedding. I do like quiet times, times to reflect on our lives — during both tranquil times and times of turbulent.

    Like

  11. Nancy Jardine says:

    My quiet time is late evening when our household goes quiet. That’s my writing time if I’m not too wiped. I do hope both you and Del can get over your current medical situations as soon as possible and find more physical comfort in a day. It’s very hard to snatch those moments, I’m sure, without feeling something else may still need done or need to be prepared for. My best wishes to you both. You do a sterling job-Cher’ley and many folks are ‘tooting and tooting’ for your recoveries.

    Like

  12. sstamm625 says:

    I hope Del’s knee is getting better, and that you find some quiet time to rest and revive in your hectic schedule, Cher’ley. I’ve been pretty busy myself lately. The last few weeks have been a whirlwind, so writing has taken a back burner for me as well.

    Like

  13. Gayle Irwin says:

    Cher’ley, you and Del have been in my prayers. I’m glad you have family time even though weddings are stressful and hectic; I know family is very important to you. I LOVE mornings! My husband is a night-owl, and I’m a mourning (morning) dove, so I do get quiet time during the early mornings. However, winter wrecks havoc on my wanting to get up (so I am very much looking forward to spring!! I think nearly everyone in the U.S. is!!!) My book writing is still on the back burners, but I hope to get back to it after mid-March and my “obligation writing” ($$) wraps up for a time. I AM VERY INTERESTED IN YOUR DOG ANTHOLOGY! Let’s talk!! 🙂 And, please, do take care of yourself. Love, hugs and blessings to you, Del, and your family.

    Like

  14. Doris says:

    Two for one today. I do know how important quiet time is. I cherish mine, which tends to be the middle of the night. May you find the balance and your quiet time returning to recharge you and those you love. Doris

    Like

Leave a Reply

