Celebrating Friends

Gayle_ChrisjpgThis post by Gayle M. Irwin

In a few days, I’ll take that big ol’ jet airliner (see Steve Miller Band’s song on YouTube) west and southwest. I’m traveling to Phoenix for about five days then spending two-and-a-half in Las Vegas (and looking forward to meeting Mike Staton and having lunch with him while I’m in the area!)

Two friends from college and their families live in the Phoenix area. One of my friends has lived there for nearly 25 years and the other became a snowbird about three years ago (he and his wife winter in AZ and summer in WY … I try to not let the green-eyed monster of jealousy rise too high when I think of this couple!) A woman I’ve known for nearly 20 years lives in the Los Angeles area; she’s an elementary teacher and spring break for her occurs during the time I’m traveling – so we’re meeting in Vegas for a few days. During that time I will have my 54th birthday, and my girlfriend and I are going to hit the town for dinner and a show! While in Arizona, my friends and I are going to enjoy several adventures, including visiting Old Tucson Studios and possibly a spring training baseball game. I had hoped my husband would join me on this part of the trip, but work and church obligations keep him in Casper. Although I’d love hubby to join me, I have my friends to spend time and share adventures with, and I’m grateful for that.

AZ 2013_Sarg Cactus and Sky

I have another friend that I’ve known for more than 30 years who, last year, was diagnosed with a very rare form of stomach cancer. He’s my age. He’s gone through multiple surgeries for the cancer and for infections thereafter. Needless to say, the world of he and his family has been rocked … so has mine. This person and his wife mean a great deal to me – they are the brother and sister I’ve never had. Last week I gathered with them for a dinner. Despite the uncertainty they face and the major setbacks they’ve had, they still maintain a great attitude. We had a wonderful time, sharing laughter and memories … and a few tears.

I’ve also shed a few tears over my elderly dog Cody during the past several days. He is nearly 17 and has had some great struggles. One evening I returned home from work to find him nearly comatose. We suspect he had a stroke. He rebounded the next day and has had several up days lately; we even took him to our cabin on the mountain last weekend. We treasure each day we have with him despite the getting up several times in the night due to his health conditions and being very tired. Cody’s old soul is tired, too, and one day he won’t be with us any longer. Although to be expected with his advancing age, the idea of losing him breaks my heart – he’s been, and remains, a cherished friend.

 

Cody_Porch

I have a bracelet that I wear nearly every day. It has colorful beads, and the word “HOPE” secures the ends. I look at that and try to remember hope is alive and well when a person digs down deep and perseveres. Each of those colored beads represents someone special in my life, friend or family member I care about. I look at the word “HOPE” and whisper a prayer over each of those individuals I think of when I view the bracelet on my wrist. I will be wearing it on my trip.

bracelet_HOPENo one knows the future. We live in the present and we create good (or bad) with what we have. I am thankful for friends, those I’ve known since elementary and high school with whom I still maintain a relationship; my colleagues at work; my writers’ group; my fellow Writing Wranglers; and my neighbor and surrogate mother Marian, who helps with the dogs SO OFTEN. I celebrate each one who has often shared hope with me in times of loss. And, I choose to remember the good times, such as my dog Cody barking loudly at a dog or person he thought was out to harm me (small dog, big heart, that boy!), or the many years of friendship I’ve shared with my friends in Arizona, California, and Wyoming… or wherever they may live.  Gayle with Stacy and Cindy

Doug_Dev_Gayle_AZ2013

I know you, too, cherish your friendships for I’ve seen postings on this blog about people you care about. And, I cherish you, my Writing Wrangler friends, because we share a love of writing, we’ve come to know each other more personally, and you have been an encouragement to me through the years I’ve “known” you.

So, as I prepare to wing my way to a sunny southwest and bask in the beauty and joy of friendship with some special people, I toast you all! I celebrate you, my many other friends, and my family, those near and far!

 

Gayle and Greg with friends in Mesa, AZ

Gayle and Greg with friends in Mesa, AZ

 

Gayle & Mary outside is writer, author and speaker. She is the author of several inspiring dog books for children and adults, including Sage’s Big Adventure, Walking in Trust: Lessons Learned with My Blind Dog, and two dog devotion books: Devotions for Dog Lovers: Paws-ing for Time with God and Devotions for Dog Lovers 2: Sage Advice. She is also a contributing writer to five editions of Chicken Soup for the Soul, including The Dog Did What?, released August 2014. She’s also authored a guidebook for owners of blind dogs, available on Kindle. She has a passion for pets and volunteers for and donates a percentage of her writing revenues to several animal welfare organizations. Her speaking engagements include presentations for children and adults about the lessons people can learn from pets. Visit her website at www.gaylemirwin.com.

 

SageBigAdventureFront-small   SageLearnsShareFront-small   Blind Dog Ebook Cover_updatedMay2014  Dog Devotion Book_Cover_Final  Dog Devotions 2 Book Cover Sage Advice CoverWalking_FrontCover_small

This entry was posted in Arizona, challenges, Friends, Relationships, tourist activities, Travel, vacation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Celebrating Friends

  1. This is such a lovely post, Gayle. It just goes to show that we must be thankful for what we have and not for what we don’t have. Things come and go, but friends and animals are those who love us most and keep us grounded. Have a wonderful trip – I’ll be thinking of you!

    Like

  2. Doris says:

    As we travel through life, many are the souls we touch and who touch us. It is good to remember and commit to print what they mean to us. Somehow it makes what we know in our hearts to be real, concrete. Bless you and all you hold dear. Have a beautiful trip and your birthday, extra special. Warmly, Doris

    Like

  3. Mike Staton says:

    Looking forward to meeting you in a week or so. South Point here I come.

    Like

  4. katewyland says:

    Love your bracelet. Nice way to keep special people in mind.
    We’ve had a lot of loss in our lives lately which is making me more aware of treasuring loved ones every day.
    My husband’s brother and wife used to winter in Green Valley, south of Tuscon, and we visited several times. Interesting area to explore. Loved the Desert Museum.
    Have fun.

    Like

    • Gayle Irwin says:

      Thank you, Kate — the bracelet is very special to me. I’m sorry for the losses you’ve had — life is short, there is no doubt. I am SO LOOKING FORWARD to my trip — will post pictures when I can! 🙂

      Like

  5. Sorry to hear about Cody. Happy birthday, and have a nice trip.

    Like

    • Gayle Irwin says:

      Thank you, Abbie — I do hope to enjoy a wonderful trip and birthday. Our Cody boy is hanging in there, but at nearly 17, one never knows. It’s hard to say goodbye to a loved one, 2 or 4-footed.

      Like

  6. Neva Bodin says:

    Glad you get to go on that trip! Sounds wonderful. I had wished I could connect with Mike too when we went through Vegas, but we were pulling a camper and had a mission to go from point A to B, and I think MIke wasn’t home yet from his dad’s. So say hi from me and maybe someday…Glad to hear Cody revived for a bit, must have a strong spirit. Enjoy and Happy Birthday. Relationships are what we were created for.

    Like

  7. Wranglers says:

    Have fun. I’m meeting with some friends Wednesday. We’ll probably be in AZ next month- for work. Cher’ley

    Like

  8. Nancy Jardine says:

    Your trip sounds action packed but it’ll be so lovely to meet up with all of those you’ve mentioned, Gayle. Have a wonderful time! (You make all those miles between places seem like nothing! :-))

    Like

  9. sstamm625 says:

    Lovely post, Gayle! I hope you have an equally lovely trip and birthday. We do always need to remember and be thankful for all the friends and loved ones–human and animal–we have in our lives, and to celebrate them.

    Like

  10. S. J. Brown says:

    Happy Birthday. Have a great trip and make sure to do one or two spur of the moment things just because it would be fun.

    Like

Leave a Reply

