Season of Change

By Stephanie Stamm

Steph_2 copy (2)“To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven: A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted;… A time to get, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to cast away.” (Ecclesiastes 3:1-2,6)

Most of my recent posts have been about clearing, letting go, or change—because all those things are at the center of my life now. For me, this winter, and now spring, have been seasons of change. I’m in the process of moving from Michigan to Georgia, so I divide my time between the two states. This week I am in Georgia, where spring is definitely in the air—and the trees and the flowers.

Daffodils

I spent most of this past Saturday exploring. My temporary apartment is at Perimeter Center just outside the Perimeter (i.e., the I-285 ring road). I had looked at potential new homes in the Buckhead and Midtown areas. I had really hoped to find a home in Midtown—near the art museum, the theater, Piedmont Park. But I had found a place I really like at the south end of Buckhead. I wanted to check out how easy it would be to get to Midtown using public transportation.

Capture

When I got up Saturday, I knew very little about the MARTA system. My realtor had told me which rail stops were closest to the Buckhead place and to Midtown, but that was really all I knew. Luckily, we live in the age of smart phones. I did a search for the MARTA stop using the Google Maps app on my phone and set out on my adventure. I decided to buy a MARTA day pass so I could hop on and off as often as I wanted.

I took the train to the stop closest to the Buckhead space I liked, walked around the neighborhood, checking out the scenery and shopping options within walking distance. In my explorations, I discovered that the bus line ran right along the main road from there to Midtown. So I caught the bus, and 15 minutes or so later, I arrived in Midtown near the Arts Center. After a stop for a beverage and a few phone calls, I wandered over to Piedmont Park, where I strolled around, enjoying the warm spring weather, and bought lunch from a vendor at the Green Market.

Peidmont Park_Midtown

Midtown Skyline from Piedmont Park

Pond in Piedmont Park

Green Market

By mid-afternoon, I’d trained back to Perimeter Center, feeling rather proud of myself. I’d taken my first independent steps toward learning about my new city and establishing a new home. I’m still clearing out my old home, but now I’m beginning to gather something new as well. I feel like I’m blooming along with the trees and flowers.

What does Spring bring to your life?

 

Connect with me:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

 

I am the author of the New Adult/Young Adult urban fantasy series, The Light-Bringer:

wings_promo

shadows_promo

 

I have also contributed stories (one fictional and one true) to the following volumes:

Undead of Winter Front Only Into the Storm Cover

This entry was posted in change, decisions, Seasons, Spring and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Season of Change

  1. Neva Bodin says:

    It’s always exciting to move to a new place and explore the area. My husband and I moved every 3 to 7 years during our first 30 years of marriage. While there were adjustments, and losses (of things and some friends), we grew closer as a family each time as we relied on each other for support and companionship in a new place. And our daugters learned how to meet strangers, make new friends and adjust. And life was richer due to new experiences. I hope this is a welcome and positive move for you that will enrich your life! Sounds like you have things to interest you. Spring is always a season of new beginnings.

    Like

    • sstamm625 says:

      Thanks, Neva! It is a welcome and positive move. I’m very excited about it. It’s still nerve-wracking with the logistics of moving and all, but definitely rich and full of adventure. I’ve lived in my Michigan home for 10 years, and that’s the longest I’ve lived in one house since I left my parents’ home for college. I am ready for the change, but, as you said, it means leaving friends and other things. The joy is mixed with some sadness, but this move is the right thing for me.

      Like

  2. Congrats on your move Stephanie. Change can be a good thing if you treat it as a positive, and it looks like you’re doing just that. Getting to know your new city is an important way of “feeling” and belonging. Glad you got to spend some time house hunting and exploring. Things have a way of falling into place don’t they? Right now Spring means to me getting our place at the lake opened up, cleaned and ready for summer fun. It’s something I look forward to as we have great friends there and it’s always a special time. Enjoy your move. I’ll keep you in my prayers!

    Like

    • sstamm625 says:

      Thanks, Linda, for the kind words and the prayers! Things do have a way of falling into place. I’m now under contract with the home I made an offer on–and we have, I think, finished negotiations on the sale of my old home. Yay! Have fun opening up the lake house and getting ready for summer. That sounds wonderful!

      Like

  3. Doris says:

    What a great adventure. To learn new things, see new places and have fun doing it, priceless. Thank you for talking us along on your trip. Any time of year is a great time to learn, but spring is special. New growth, new chances, and new life. Doris

    Like

  4. Mike Staton says:

    It’s so fun exploring new places. I’m envious. I’ve always driven a car places, so using public transportation would be a big change for me. When I would visit a Florida-era friend in Cleveland, we’d take the train from Shaker Heights into the downtown to see Indians games. The main station was under the basketball arena, which is right next door to the ballpark. Really convenient.

    Like

    • sstamm625 says:

      What a great memory, Mike! I’m excited to be back in a city where public transportation is a possibility. I used it a lot when I lived in Chicago, but not at all in Kalamazoo. It was fun to explore via train and bus this past weekend. It’s just a different feeling than driving and parking, etc.

      Like

  5. erinfarwell says:

    This is a great post and I love the pictures. Can’t wait until you’re here full-time!

    Like

  6. To me, spring brings walks outdoors and writing sessions in my back yard. Good luck with the move.

    Like

  7. Travis says:

    Sounds like you’re getting a good sense of the city by taking the public transportation system. Glad to hear Atlanta has a pretty good one. Would love to see a future post about the differences between Michigan and Georgia. Regarding spring, it used to mean rain and tornados, but in Los Angeles we don’t seem to have either of those at the moment.

    Like

    • sstamm625 says:

      Thanks, Travis! A future post on the differences between Michigan and Georgia is a good idea. Interesting how different seasons can be in different places. I grew up in Kentucky, and I remember February being the start of spring sometimes, snow melting and warm enough for just a hoodie. I loved that. Then I moved north, and February became the dreaded month–shortest in days, but longest in felt duration, because it was just so dark and cold and bleak.

      Like

  8. Wranglers says:

    Looks like a beautiful area. Glad you are getting along well. I am trying to sort through 40 some years of stuff. We are moving to FL with my SIL and we are not taking much with us. It is very hard trying to decide what to take, and what to do with what we don’t take. Good luck and prayers for your move. Cher’ley

    Like

    • sstamm625 says:

      Good luck and prayers for your move too, Cher’ley. Sorting through 10 years of stuff like I’m doing sounds like a piece of cake compared to 40 years worth. I’m finding the sorting well worth it though. I just feel lighter and lighter as the stuff goes away.

      Like

  9. S. J. Brown says:

    All the cleaning, organizing and packing will be worth it when you get settled. Have fun exploring.

    Like

Leave a Reply

