A Poem for Spring

Steph_2 copy (2)This post by Stephanie Stamm.

 

In honor of Spring and the new growth I see in my life, I thought I’d share one of my poems as this week’s post. Enjoy!

 

 

Like Soil

 

Winter has lived in me as surely

as it has iced this plot of ground.

I held my breath and went under,

seeking comfort in the burning

of my lungs.

 

But now,

the soil exhales as a crocus breaks the surface.

It slides with a sigh down the incline

on all sides of the greening.

It eases down and around

a fern’s spiral periscope.

Ants tickle over its sandy skin.

An earthworm licks an undulating path.

 

And I

am a part of it all–

crocus and fern,

ant and worm,

learning to breathe

with the soil.

 

FullSizeRender (1)

 

 

Connect with me:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

 

I am the author of the New Adult/Young Adult urban fantasy series, The Light-Bringer:

wings_promo

shadows_promo

 

I have also contributed stories (one fictional and one true) to the following volumes:

Undead of Winter Front Only Into the Storm Cover

 

This entry was posted in Poem, Spring and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A Poem for Spring

  1. Wranglers says:

    Lovely. Spring is so trying to be here. Cher’ley

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this, Stephanie! I’ve read it three or four times already and it’s starting my morning out on a high note. Most of us are ready for a new season and this captures how we all feel! Love the phrasing and use of words. I shared with everybody I could think of! Job well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mike Staton says:

    Enjoyed the poem. It’s spring here in the Vegas era. Wildflowers are blooming on cactus and other desert plants. Hopefully, I’ll get over to Valley of Fire on Thursday and see more of them.

    Like

  4. I like the way you compare soil to water. Keep writing.

    Like

  5. Gayle Irwin says:

    Lovely poem, Stephanie! I greatly enjoyed your use of various verbs and descriptor words. I LOVE SPRING and am so glad it’s arrived in Wyoming! Thanks for sharing your creativity with us!!

    Like

  6. Doris says:

    So visual, so visceral. What a lovely way to invoke our connection to our world and the beginning of Spring, Stephanie. Thank you. Doris

    Like

  7. S. J. Brown says:

    What a nice way to welcome SPRING.

    Like

  8. Nancy Jardine says:

    There’s beautiful hope and appreciation in your poem, Stephanie. As I read this on Easter Sunday, it’s a beautiful day and probably above 20 DEG Centigrade -perfect for the family garden gathering. Thetoddlers are in the paddling pool and the sunscreen has been liberally applied. 4 days ago we had snow. Crazy weather patterns but my crocuses are now well opened too, as are my daffodils and varied narcissi. Yet, this in not actually all that unusual for Scotland.

    Like

Leave a Reply

