R is for Rhino by Erin Farwell

IMG_3021_1As Writing Wranglers and Warriors continues the A to Z challenge, I love how the titles of the blogs are sounding like pages from a child’s alphabet book. I will add to this by stating “R is for Rhino.”

We return to Africa, though I have to skip around a bit to use my letter “R.” After we visited Lake Manyara, we spent several days on the Serengeti. On the way back to Arusha and then the airport, we made a final stop at the Ngorongoro Crater. This is a designated UNESCO World Heritage Site, meaning that it so unique UNESCOthat it is protected by the world for future generations.

This deep, volcanic crater is the largest un-flooded and unbroken caldera in the world. All others this size either have a broken edge, are lakes, or are underwater. About 20 kms across, 600 meters deep and 300 sq kms in area, it is home to an entire, balanced ecosystem of animals. When I first looked into the crater from the observation deck of the Ngorongoro Lodge it didn’t seem that deep. We used the mounted binoculars to get a closer look and I realized that just how deceptive that first impression was. What I had thought were small bushes were fully grown trees, a small watering hole became a large lake and the “dirt streaks” became roads.

switchbacks2The next day we were driven into the crater, using tight switchbacks to reach the floor. The overall impression was being in a large bowl, with green and brown sides closing us in. Once at the bottom, it feels more like a valley surround by hills until you get near the edge and you realize how steep the sides were.

Due to the deep crater, the animals that live there cannot migrate as they would under normal circumstances which allowed us to view the wildebeest which we normally wouldn’t see that time of year. There were also the zebras, elephants, lions, gazelles, and giraffes that we had seen on the Serengeti. However, due to the unique nature of the Cratercrater, we also saw rare wild dogs, ostriches, white pelicans, and black rhinos.

Rhinos are at risk of becoming extinct and my husband, friends, and I were excited to have a chance to view some of them in the wild, including a mother and a baby. They contentedly munched on vegetation, ignoring us as we snapped picture after picture, with the wall of the crater as a backdrop.

1203750888_ngorongoro-rhinoWe took break at a small rest area with bathrooms, which felt odd knowing that there was no fence or other protection between us and the lions, cheetahs, jackals, etc. Still, it was pretty and well-shaded with monkeys swinging from the branches above our heads. We had left a window down in one of our vehicles and the next thing we knew, a monkey had climbed inside. Just as we were wondering how to get her out, she rifled through a pocket on the back of a seat, pulled out a couple of cookies a friend had brought along for a snack, and jumped back out of the window with the cookies in her mouth. Other monkeys chased after her but she got away and was soon munching the cookies high above our heads. We still tease Elizabeth that she “lost her cookies” at the Ngorongoro Crater.

Next, we drove past the shore of the large, seasonal saline lake that filled with thousands of flamingos and past a marsh area Zebraswhere the elephants and hippos spend most of their time. There are several small springs throughout the crater which supply the wildlife with water.

Too soon we drove up the steep roads and back to our hotel, our adventure nearing the end. I carry with me the only sight I will probably ever have of a rhino in the wild, and the memory of our cookie thief.

Learn more about me at:

http://www.erinfarwell.com
https://www.facebook.com/erin.farwell.5
https://www.amazon.com/author/erinfarwell
http://www.goodreads.com/Erin50

ShadowlandsAHE New Cover8149g0+Rz-L._SL1500_

This entry was posted in unique and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to R is for Rhino by Erin Farwell

  1. sstamm625 says:

    Great post with wonderful photos, Erin! I want to go there!!

    Like

  2. Doris says:

    Erin, what a gift, and thank you for sharing it with us. It is through gifts like this, we get to travel the world. Doris

    Like

  3. Thank you for sharing more of your amazing trip with us. Love the picture of the Mama and baby Rhino. Odd to see them on land, isn’t it? I chuckled when I read your comment about the bathroom. I’ve definitely run into some really odd bathroom facilities during my travels. Not sure I’d like the idea of a lion or other wild animal attack just because I had to “go”! Rhinos are fascinating creatures and it must have been a delight to see them and the lake. Enjoyed this post very much!

    Like

  4. Wranglers says:

    Beautiful photos and great blog. I held my breath waiting to see what would come up next. You are really making me want to go to Africa. Thanks. Cher’ley

    Like

  5. Gayle Irwin says:

    Delightful post, Erin! I was traveling with you, and I especially enjoyed your description of the crater. When at first I read you went into the crater, I held my breathe, wondering how that was possible — perhaps via rope or harness?! How incredible our earth is with the landscapes, animal and plant life! Thank you for taking me, and all the WWW readers, on this wonderful journey!

    Like

    • erinfarwell says:

      Thanks, Gayle. Yes, the crater was huge and different from anything I expected it to be. It is truly an amazing and unique place and I am thrilled that it is a world heritage site.

      Like

  6. Mike Staton says:

    Next time you head off into the wild, to place like Ngorongoro Crater, I might try to squeeze into one of your suitcases so I can come along, like a boy sneaking onto a sailing ship in the 18th century to see the world. You have grand adventures, Erin.

    Like

  7. My late husband was also a cookie-aholic. If we visited Africa, and a monkey stole his cookies, he would not be a happy camper. It sounds like you had an interesting trip, though.

    Like

  8. Nancy Jardine says:

    You make me want to go and visit there, Erin- and see all of your experiences! I’d laugh if a cheeky monkey stole my cookies. 🙂

    Like

  9. Neva Bodin says:

    What a trip that must have been. I am green with envy. How wonderful for you to have experienced that, and then share it with us! Loved the descriptions and the information about the crater. And Rhino definitely was a great hook for “R”.

    Like

  10. raesquiggles says:

    I’ve visited South Africa and seen some incredible sights – including rhino, leopards, lions and elephants. Our favourite – the giraffe – would walk up to inspect us. I shall have to post some pictures on my blog. Thanks for sharing your pictures.

    Like

  11. S. J. Brown says:

    What a wonderful experience. Sounds like a fascinating place.

    Like

Leave a Reply

