Z is for Zorro by Abbie

Abbie J. Taylor 010This post by Abbie Johnson Taylor

 

 

 

 

Today, the last day of the Blog A-Z Challenge, is also Poem in Your Pocket Day so here’s a poem for your pocket. This was inspired by a song from a movie that was released in the late 1990’s, but I didn’t hear of the song or the movie until 2005 after my late husband Bill proposed to me. He was living in Fowler, Colorado, at the time, and I was here in Sheridan, Wyoming. We met through a magazine, and after a long-distance friendship during which we communicated regularly by e-mail and phone and met face to face twice, he sent me a letter, out of the blue, asking me to marry him. This was in January.

A month later, he sent me a Valentine care package that included, among other things, a cassette tape of love songs he downloaded from the Internet. One of these was “I Want to Spend My Lifetime Loving You” from The Mask of Zorro. It became one of our songs. Even now, after caring for him at home for six years when he was paralyzed by two strokes and after I lost him two years ago, I still marvel that a man wanted to spend his lifetime loving me. To hear this song, go to https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yo4AWDELNiY .

 

image of zorro  - Young man in carnival coat isolated on white - JPG THE RISE AND FALL OF MY ZORRO

 

With cape, hat, mask, rapier,

he rode out of the darkness.

“Take my hand. Dance with me,” he said,

“I want to spend my lifetime loving you,”

but happily-ever-after was not to be.

My hero fell and rose many times.

I felt the glory

until he fell for the last time.

Where there’s love, life begins again.

When life dies, love goes on.

 

Abbie Johnson Taylor, Author of:

Front Book Cover - We Shall OvercomeWe Shall Overcome

**

Cover: How to Build a Better Mousetrap by Abbie Johnson TaylorHow to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver

Visit my blog.

That’s Life: New and Selected Poems

Order from Amazon

Order That’s Life from Finishing Line Press.

 

 

.

 

Vote for my new book idea.

 

This entry was posted in A to Z Blog Challenge, Memories, poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Z is for Zorro by Abbie

  1. Reblogged this on Abbie's Corner of the World and commented:
    I’m re-blogging this from Writing Wranglers and Warriors, a blog I write for once a month. This is the last day of my National Poetry Month commemoration. I’ll return to my regular weekly blogging schedule next Tuesday with a review of books I read this month.

    Like

  2. Doris says:

    Beautiful poem and a heartfelt story. May the memories you share bring the joy and love you felt to those who read them. Doris

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wranglers says:

    Great poem and great love story Abbie. You didnt have him for long, but your Love was so very strong. Cher’ley

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Neva Bodin says:

    That is a great love story. How blessed we all are that you can share it. And what an inspiration to commitment. Loved Zorro too when I was young.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Beautiful, Abbie! Your poetry reflects your heart: creative, strong, loving. Thank you for sharing this special letter, your special poem, and your special Zorro with us.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lanise Brown says:

    I’m stopping by from the A to Z Challenge and just wanted to let you know about our party. The A to Z Reflections Linky List will open on Monday May 4th, and you’re more than welcome to join. 🙂

    Congrats on finishing the challenge! And thanks for sharing such a lovely poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Mike Staton says:

    Powerful poem. Felt privileged to have been able to read your ‘from-the-heart’ poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thanks to all who commented so far. I’m glad you all liked the poem. I never saw the movie, The Mask of Zorro, but considered watching it in the hope of gaining some idea as to the direction I wanted to take with the poem, but I realized the poem isn’t about the movie. It’s about our story, and it just happened to be inspired by the song from the movie.

    Like

  9. Nancy Jardine says:

    It’s a heartfelt poem that says all he meant to you, Abbie. I think I have seen the Zorro version you’re talking about but I don’t remember much about the very earliest Zorro production. Your right that the poem is more about people like you and your late husband and less about the film.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. sstamm625 says:

    Very heartfelt poem, Abbie. Thanks for sharing it with us.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

