Warning Signs by SJ

By S. J. Brown

Warning signs are present in all our lives. Mothers warn their children all the time “I’m warning you”. When you see a dark black sky that is a warning sign that a storm is moving in. When I am traveling there are warning signs everywhere. A no left turn sign warns me not to turn left here, or I may get a ticket. Additional signs let me know when there is construction, bumps in the road, things might get icy or fall on me.

Road Sign

Now that warm weather has finally arrived more people will be venturing out to enjoy nature. The lives of wildlife are full of warning signs also. When our two worlds meet we need to be able to read the signs.

Most animals will warn an opponent before attacking. The way to stay safe in their territory is to know the warning signs and watch for them. The number one rule when you are out exploring nature is never, never, never get between a mother and her babies. Mama may not warn you to move on. Her first instinct is to protect her young.

Mama Bear

Even those who know little about wildlife know that when a rattle snake rattles its tail, this is a warning sign and you better back off .

Rattlesnake

Before embarking on a trip south I researched alligator behavior. An alligator will hiss and, or open their mouth as a warning sign. Of course when I was face to face with a large alligator I couldn’t remember their warning signs or how far an alligator can lung forward.

Alligator

Deer will snort and stomp its foot to warn others of danger. They also raise their tail to signal other deer. Male deer known as Bucks will warn an opponent to back off by lowering their antlers in the opponents direction.

Deer

Before heading out to photograph some wild ponies I needed to know what to look for. I now know that it’s not good when their ears are tucked back. Many other animals share this behavioral trait, so watch for it.

Horse

Some animals will puff themselves up to make themselves appear larger to scare off an intruder. This is your first warning sign. Any animal that shows its teeth has little tolerance for you. It doesn’t matter if they are large or small those teeth are sharp and can cause a quite a bit of harm. So go out enjoy the great outdoors, pay attention to warning signs and come back safe. Thanks for stopping by to hear my thoughts on warning signs.

Have you ever been warned to back off, by an animal? What happened?

Two new fun releases by S. J. Brown are due out later this month.  Connect with her on Facebook and be one of the first to see what she has been up to. Facebook https://www.facebook.com/sj.brown.3367

Cover 3-26-23Back Cover 4-24-2013Close up and Close Encounters is available on Amazon  at

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=close+ups+%26+close+Encounters

Or get your autographed copy at S. J. Brown website http://www.sjbrown.50megs.com

S. J. Brown’s children’s pictures books are only available through S. J. Brown.

You can order your copies from her website S.J. Brown

Cover All the Birds I See Cover

This entry was posted in author, images, Nature, photographs, s. j. brown, Warning Signs, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Warning Signs by SJ

  1. Mike Staton says:

    Several years back I was covering a humane society social in SE North Carolina. The guest speaker was a dog handler who reviewed the ‘warning signs’ we should look for when face to face with a strange dog. Interesting talk.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. S. J. Brown says:

    It is amazing what you notice once you know what to look for.

    Like

  3. Doris says:

    Thank you for the information. I don’t go out as much as I used to, but there are still times. Additionally, I loved the photographs! Doris

    Liked by 1 person

  4. S. J. Brown says:

    We all learn something new everyday. I try to vary the photos, glad you enjoyed them.

    Like

  5. Neva Bodin says:

    Sometimes there are warning signs about other people that I only am aware of through “gut feeling” but I’ve learned not to ignore them! And animals are great with reading warning signs of other animals or people. I think some people see warning signs as a challenge. Enjoyed your post.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks for the warnings. Smile.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Nancy Jardine says:

    I’ve not faced anything like an alligator, S. J. , but I am wary when in the company of an animal, especially one that’s wild. Knowing some useful signs, as you’ve given examples for, was something I was taught to watch out for as a teenage Girl Guide doing proficiency badges for the ‘Woodland’ series of achievements. I realise now that I only do the ‘watch and wait’ stuff because it was something taught welll during my formative years.

    Like

  8. sstamm625 says:

    Good information, S.J. I’m not often in the company of the variety of animals you see, but it is definitely good to know their warning signs.

    Like

  9. Wranglers says:

    S.J. how close were you to that snake? You looked too close to me. LoL. I Love your photos. Thanks for the warnings. I saw another pgoro you have pf a big black bear. You look too close to it too. Great post. Cher’ley

    Like

    • S. J. Brown says:

      The trick with snakes is they will strike at whatever is closest to them when they feel threatened. So I just keep the camera in front of me at all times. The hard part is trying to remember to press the shutter button if it strikes.

      The black bear was in the water. That gave me an edge. He had to get out of the water to approach me.
      Most of the time in the field I use a 300mm lens.

      Like

  10. Wow! S.J., your photographs are brilliant (and a little scary). I’m not sure how close you have to be to get to pictures, but I’m not sure it would be far enough away for me! Loved the post and the pics. I got pretty good at reading bull language whenever I went to my friend’s farm. The bull was fenced, of course, but was pretty placid until he wasn’t.

    Like

    • S. J. Brown says:

      When you don’t see in the alligator picture is there is a canal between me and the gator. That was our buffer. He felt safe as long as I was on the other side of the canal and so did I.

      Like

  11. Living near Yellowstone National Park for several years and traveling through the park on numerous occasions, I witnessed warning signs of buffalo, elk, moose, and bear. They are amazing to witness but need to be respected.

    Like

Leave a Reply

