Endings and New Beginnings

Kate 2Kate Wyland

Given the unexpected turn my life has taken, I was having a hard time coming up a topic for this blog. Then yesterday my friend Marsha West blogged about Beginnings and Endings and inspiration hit. The topic is particularly apropos since I’m about to end one period of my life and start a new adventure.

My hubby and I have been living in a delightful rural area south of Silicon Valley for over twenty years. Initially we had acreage and took part in lots of fun equestrian activities with our three horses. A few years ago we sold the ranch after I injured my leg and couldn’t do the upkeep any more. Still kept the horses but boarded them so someone else could do the work. Unfortunately that caused us to gradually back out of many horse activities. We’ve now lost two of our girls and the last one is 30 years old and has several health issues. So that period of our lives is ending.

Now, out of the blue, we are starting a new chapter. An opportunity has arisen and we will be leaving our comfortable community to move to a very different area, one that will put Hubs a lot closer to his work and reduce his commute significantly. Instead of a laid back, semi-rural environment, we’ll be in the heart of a busy urban world. I’m sure it will be quite an adjustment for both us. On the other hand we will be closer to San Francisco and all its cultural offerings and therefore much more likely to take part when we don’t have to drive an hour and half each way.

The same sort of thing happens to the protagonists of our stories. They start in a normal, comfortable world and something happens to push them into a new, strange path that hopefully leads to a successful conclusion, depending on the genre. A time honoredWyoming Cover - resize storytelling technique. From Homer’s Odyssey to Dante’s Inferno, from to Jane Austin’s Pride and Prejudice to Lucas’ Star Wars the conflict, which keeps us reading, is caused by the tension between the normal, safe world and the new, often scary situation they need to deal with.

In my story Wyoming Escape, Mikela is a chef living in a quiet New England town. When she finds a dead body during her morning run, her life changes completely. She runs from the killer, changes her name and ends up on a Wyoming dude ranch, a world as far as possible from her past experience. In the process her view of the world and people changes dramatically.

I hope our new adventure turns out as well. Wish us luck.

This entry was posted in unique. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Endings and New Beginnings

  1. Mike Staton says:

    I hadn’t thought so much about it, but you’re right… the day-to-day activities of life present lots of challenges, both for ourselves and for the characters we put in our novels. Comfortable way of life ends and we find ourselves in a whole new, challenging and unexpected environment. Good luck, Kate.

    Like

  2. Doris says:

    Nicely done Kate. Life does offer many chances for change, and your current one sounds like a big, yet exciting one. All the best. Doris

    Like

  3. Sorry to hear about your horses. Good luck in your new location.

    Like

  4. Joe Stephens says:

    I so dislike change that I stayed for years in a horrible marriage, but once it finally ended, my life opened up in ways I would never have imagined! You’re right. Change is to be welcomed, even invited.

    Like

    • katewyland says:

      There are some changes that are really hard to make. I’d think leaving a partner would be one of the worst. Glad it worked out well for you.
      “Change is good, change is good, change is good …” 🙂

      Like

  5. Change is not easy, but when one looks upon it as an adventure and believes for good things to happen, they most certainly can. I wish you well in new life chapter, and I truly enjoyed “Wyoming Escape!”

    Like

  6. Neva Bodin says:

    I can relate, Kate, as my husband and I moved off a farm we’d been on for 12 years. We had gone through big changes there as my mother and brother who lived there also died during that time, our barn burned down (all in the same summer) and we went through a bad drought where we had to sell our livestock way down. Then we moved to live right in town in another state, the first time living right in town since the first two years of our marriage (we’ve been married 47 years now). Boy do I miss the privacy and wide open spaces. But we have embraced the smaller yard to take care, proximity to stores, etc. and access to many activities. Change builds character, and I am now quite a character, or so some would say. You sound like the enterprising kind of person who will make the most of your changes in a good way, and I wish you great happiness there.

    Like

    • katewyland says:

      Boy, you had quite a difficult time on your farm. I’ll bet it was quite an adjustment to city life after that. We’ve had lots of change in our life too and qualify as “characters” too. 🙂
      Thanks for the good wishes.

      Like

  7. Kaye George says:

    Yes, best of luck in your new venture! We’ve moved often and usually to a state where we knew no one. I’ve been sad to leave (almost) every single one, which shows how adaptable people are. You’ll do great!

    Like

    • katewyland says:

      We’ve moved several times but mostly within the same region. The biggest change was when we got our horse property. This move will be to a very different environment but will also put me closer to writing friends, so that will be nice. And we’ll still be close to our kids and friends. Cross your fingers for an easy move.

      Like

  8. Endings and beginnings are only as difficult as the person experiencing them. It sounds like you are handling it well and looking forward to new experiences instead of living in the past. You’ll always have wonderful memories of what was but now you’ll make new ones. Good luck!

    Like

    • katewyland says:

      Thanks Linda. I’m generally more open to change but Hubs usually takes a while to come around, except for when it comes to moving. Actually we’re both ready for something different at this point.

      Like

  9. erinfarwell says:

    Great blog. I’ve experienced this many times in my life, such as when I took the leap and moved from Chicago to Atlanta. What a change! There are things I miss about Chicago but I wouldn’t trade the life I’ve built here for anything. Wishing you comfort and success…

    Like

  10. Wranglers says:

    My change is going to be a big one too. We are moving from the country to a community. WOW. I am so sad to leave my river house, even thought, this whole move was my idea. The upkeep is just getting to be too much. I love your new Author Photo. It’s vibrant! Thanks for sharing. I am praying for you. I am anxious to read Wyoming Escape,which I have a copy of, it’s sounds exciting too. Cher’ley

    Like

    • katewyland says:

      Funny how so many of us are in transition. I hear you on upkeep. I’d love to be back on rural property but I know that isn’t practical at this stage. 😦 Good luck with your new adventure!
      Hope you enjoy WE.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. sstamm625 says:

    Good luck with the move, Kate. It seems to be the year for big changes.

    Like

  12. S. J. Brown says:

    Hope your transition to your new home goes well. Soak up the local culture, explore your new surroundings and enjoy.

    Like

  13. Nancy Jardine says:

    All decisions can be difficult but it sounds like your new venture will be best for both of you, Kate. A long commute adds its own stress and it will be great to think that you’ll both have more hours in the day to enjoy your living surroundings wherever they may be. Definitely you have my very best wishes. I’ve been to the San Fransisco area and there are many beautiful urban areas to live in. My brother-in-law lived in Freemont, and then Los Gatos- both great places to be and driving up to the city there were lovely developments off the freeway.

    Like

Leave a Reply

