When It Rains… by Erin Farwell

IMG_3021_1Last summer I embarked on a new venture as a freelance writer. It’s had its ups and downs but overall things have gone very well. I want to cut back a bit over the summer both to spend time with the kid and to work on my book. My daughter’s summer break started last week and I am teaching a kids art camp this week so I planned to keep the writing to a minimum. But as we know, making plans is a great way to have something else happen.

Last week, I received the biggest writing project of my career, and it was a doozy both in terms of work and pay. I wrote all weekend, submitted revisions today, but will probably need to do some more work workon it before the final approval. Still, I thought, the majority of the work is handled so it’s okay. Then I received new orders from two clients I haven’t written for yet but would love to get their business. So, I can’t say no to them. Then a current client asked me to write a blog and a press release for two law firms. Since I am their only writer with a law degree, I am there go-to person for this kind of thing and I don’t want to turn them away.

Normally this situation would be fantastic. Except my daughter is out of school and I am teaching a camp from 10:00 to 1:00 every day this week and next week isn’t looking much better. So I am sit at my computer at 7:00 am to get a jump on things and find myself writing a blot at 1:00 am because this is a commitment I normally love but right writingnow has become one more thing on the to-do list.

Still, camp is going well, writing projects are getting completed to the satisfaction of clients, and I my husband has taken over meal planning and prep for the week so it’s all good. I am grateful for the growth both in my writing skills and in my client projects and my “pay check” this week will be my best ever. So many great things are happening. But did it all have to happen this week?

What are your summer plans?

ShadowlandsAHE New Cover8149g0+Rz-L._SL1500_

This entry was posted in Camps, Freelance writing, teaching, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to When It Rains… by Erin Farwell

  1. Joe Stephens says:

    I normally teach summer school, but I chose not to this year so I could spend more time on writing. Since I don’t do freelancing, I hope I can do just that. It’s crazy, though, how we find the time to do things we never guessed we could, isn’t it?

    Thanks for your post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Neva Bodin says:

    Sounds like my life Erin. And that seems how it goes, like your title. Am so glad it is pouring in this way for you though. You’ll get through it and get great satisfaction. And what affirmation for your writing skills! Congratulations and good luck in fulfilling it all without getting too exhausted. Fun to read all that’s happened for you.

    Like

  3. I plan to attend the Wyoming Writers conference the first weekend in June, and my brother from Florida will come for a visit the week of July 22nd. Otherwise, I have no other plans so it shouldn’t be too hectic.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. sstamm625 says:

    That does seem to be the way it goes, doesn’t it? Good luck with all your projects, Erin!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Erin, I am so happy for you! Making a living as a freelance writer is not easy to accomplish — you need to give many of us pointers on how you’ve done it! Keep your head up — you will get through this and still have time with your family. Enjoy each opportunity and each moment with your family — they are all blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. First of all, congrats on your accomplishments. Even though they seem to be overwhelming now, it sounds like you are still spending quality time with your family and that’s what’s most important. Enjoy the moment and bask in the knowledge that you have reached the point where people not only clamor for your writing time but also pay well. You’ve got it together!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Mike Staton says:

    I’ve done some freelancing. Good way to supplement income. You definitely sound like you’ve got lots of assignments, but better to be too busy than wandering the house wondering why clients aren’t calling, eh? And it sounds like you may have another story possibility… being a summer camp instructor, the in’s and out’s.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Wranglers says:

    Erin-it’s the old saying, “If you want something done give it to a busy person to do.” I work better under pressure, otherwise I’ll piddle. So happy for your assignments. If you need to take off the month of June, even though the schedule is out, I’m sure someone will fill in for you, if not I will. Love all that you have going on. I , like all your WW&W friends, understand too. Doing the happy dance for you. Cher’ley

    Like

  9. Doris says:

    Erin, Life is what happens when you’re looking the other way. I feel your ‘pain’. Summer is always my busy month, and this year even more so. Hang in there and congratulations on the growth of you business. Yahoo! Doris

    Like

  10. S. J. Brown says:

    So your life tends to come in waves also. It seems to work that way for me as well. Luckily life tends to balance things out. Like you my hubby steps up and takes over things when my life gets hectic.

    Like

  11. Nancy Jardine says:

    I like Cherley’s comment about working better under pressure and it often seems to focus me better. Good luck with your workload- at least the variety sounds encouraging. 😉 Rest will come…sometime.

    Like

Leave a Reply

