Procrastination is my middle name

CindyCarrollEIt was time again for my monthly post to the blog and of course I’m in my usual position of not having a topic. Most months I have no idea what I’m going to write about until I actually have to post. Today was no different. Though procrastination is my middle name that has nothing to do with my lack of topics. Usually. But lately I have been procrastinating when it comes to the actual writing of anything because writing is hard. Really hard. Don’t get me wrong, I love doing it but it’s not easy. With extra stress in my life lately that I can’t go into the writing is even harder these days. It’s so much easier to procrastinate.

do not wait until tomorrow - motivational reminder - handwriting on sticky note

What is my procrastination activity of choice? There are so many I don’t think I have a favourite. When I don’t want to do anything writing related because it hurts my brain I usually watch TV. With all the choices we have now when it comes to that form of entertainment I could be lost in a TV coma for weeks without running out of things to watch. Besides Netflix, cable, movie channels, Shomi (a version of Netflix our cable provider offers) we also have a box that lets us stream UK TV live. I miss UK TV so we’ve been binging on a lot of my favourites. Unfortunately they’re also airing season three of Charmed right now that I flipped over to when my favourite British shows weren’t on. So now I’m watching Charmed from the start on Netflix.

When I want to feel like I’m actually doing something writing related I make covers, browse for stock images, book ads for stories, create beat sheets for stories I eventually want to write. That way I can still feel productive without actually doing anything. 🙂

Depositphotos_59678925_xsLooking at the work I have on my plate though I know the procrastination has to stop. I know I can stop procrastinating I just have to want to stop doing it enough to actually stop. I can set specific times for email and social media. Pick a specific day to do the covers, book ads, do other stuff that’s not actually writing. I can set word goals per day. I find those work better than time goals for me. I can leave the TV off until I get in my words for the day. So that is my plan. Stop procrastinating and get the work done. Tomorrow.

Do you procrastinate? What do you do instead of what you should be doing?

Find out about new releases, get free reads – sign up for my newsletter: http://eepurl.com/33jBn

Check out my website: http://www.cindycarroll.com
Follow me on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/CindyPCarroll
Like me on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorCindyCarroll

ReflectionsFinal2A road trip goes wrong for a group of friends trying to help one of them get over a break up. They find an inn where the mirrors are cursed and they realize they don’t know each other as well as they thought they did.
A road trip without a plan sounded like a good idea when Lena and her friends hit the road. A mini vacation and support for Steve, recently dumped, have the friends travelling through small towns and back roads. After hours of driving in the heat in a cramped car they’re all ready for something to eat and a good night’s rest. Reflections Inn looks perfect for the group of friends. A little run down, it hides a supernatural horror.

Buy on Amazon: http://amzn.to/1avH00L
Buy on Barnes and Noble: http://bit.ly/19Ti2ux
Buy on Kobo: http://bit.ly/13CBz9M
Buy on Amazon Canada: http://amzn.to/15oFc4a

About Cindy Carroll

Cindy Carroll is a member of Sisters in Crime and a graduate of Hal Croasmun’s screenwriting ProSeries. Her interviews with writers of CSI and Flashpoint appeared in The Rewrit, the Scriptscene newsletter, the screenwriting Chapter of RWA. She writes screenplays, thrillers, and paranormals, occasionally exploring an erotic twist. A background in banking and IT doesn’t allow much in the way of excitement so she turns to writing stories that are a little dark and usually have a dead body. When she’s not writing you can usually find her on Twitter.
This entry was posted in procrastinating and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Procrastination is my middle name

  1. Good luck with your plan not to procrastinate. Those don’t always work for me.

    Like

  2. Neva Bodin says:

    I love to procrastinate. Sometimes I am just lazy, sometimes overwhelmed by all I need to get started on, sometimes it’s out of fear I can’t write it right anyway! So like one saying goes, I am going to quit procrastinating tomorrow! Easy to relate to your blog and it is nice to know I’m not alone in my habit.

    Like

  3. Doris says:

    Ah the dreaded “P” word. It comes at us, and we answer willingly. But once the hooks are in…

    The best thing I did for my writing is join and improv writing group that meets weekly. You have to write and you have to read what you write. The key, no one, and I mean no one can critique. It is amazing what you can accomplish when the censor in your brain and those around you is shut off. For two hours I write and read to three prompts. That I have written scenes for three stories that are on the way to being published, and have more in the works says much for my way of dealing with procrastination. Now when it comes to dishes…that’s another story.

    Loved the post Cindy and all the best. Doris

    Like

  4. Joe Stephens says:

    I’m like you when I procrastinate in that I watch TV, but I channel surf. I think that must be a boy thing. I also surf the web, mostly Facebook. But I’m happy to say I’ve been a lot better about not procrastinating lately. Of course, I haven’t written anything toward a book, but I’ve been working on some short stories and blog posts. I’m not being maudlin or anything when I say as I get older (I’m 51), I’m becoming more and more aware of the limitedness of time. I hate wasting it.

    Like

  5. Wranglers says:

    I’m not much of a procrastinator. I like to get things finished. I often cut my time table too close though. I always have way too much to do. Hopefully the move will create more free time. Interesting. Cher’ley

    Like

  6. Mike Staton says:

    I was procrastinating… that’s why I’m late with this comment.

    Like

  7. Yes, I am a procrastinator. I admit it. I am not proud of it. But I have tried to change with no luck….until two weeks ago. It has always been my habit (a bad one) to be getting ready to go somewhere and leave at the last minute because I am still doing something important. That either makes me late or just past the time I was supposed to be somewhere. My husband is the opposite (he wants to be at least half an hour early – which I cannot fathom). He had a doctor’s appointment last week. We have to drive about 40 minutes to get there. As usual, I was doing things at the last minute (even though we had gotten up early to be on time). We finally got to the appointment (five minutes late) and they would not take him. He had to make another appointment. He was so calm about it (even though I knew he was upset) that I made a resolution never to do that to him again. It’s just plain mean to make him go through that. And my procrastination has gotten me into more hot water than I care to share here. But it’s a habit! I sure hope my resolution works!

    Like

  8. Nancy Jardine says:

    Sad to say, I am a procrastinator, too, but I’d love to be able to plan for specific marketing tasks on particular days and be able to get them done. As of tomorrow, Monday 14th June, I’m aiming to actually get back to doing some proper new writing…but I have to wait till I have no grandkids to mind first. By now at 9pm I’m getting too weary to think far less create….but that’s the negative procrastinator in me talking. I’m catching up with blog replies right now since I do like to ‘do my bit’ and reply – even if it’s days after the posting of the blog post.

    Like

  9. sstamm625 says:

    Procrastination is an issue for me too, particularly when I’m feeling busy or overwhelmed in other ways. I like to think what I’m doing when I’m procrastinating actually serves some sort of purpose. 🙂

    Like

  10. Gayle Irwin says:

    Great post, Cindy! I don’t know if we’re all procrastinators or if time just jets by us too quickly! that’s the excuse I like to use anyway! Hang in there — things will get done as they should, I have no doubt!

    Like

  11. S. J. Brown says:

    I wouldn’t say I procrastinate, I simply have a hard time finding peace and quiet so I can write. My office has several large windows and sliding glass doors so I often get distracted by the critters that visit. So instead of finishing an article I grab my camera.

    Like

  12. Kathy Waller says:

    This is my kind of post. Thank you.

    You really want to know what I do? I have several strategies for increasing procrastination time, but the worst, the biggest, baddest thing I do to keep from writing or doing ANYTHING remotely productive–I play Poppit.

    I used to play it online, but a couple of weeks ago I discovered I could attach the game to Chrome and put in the folder at the bottom of the screen beside the browser icons and then access it without bothering the Internet at all.

    See how much better you feel now that you’ve heard from someone who’s hit absolute bottom?

    Like

Leave a Reply

