WHY

Post copyright 2015 by Doris McCraw

hhj spc 3

I think two-year olds are on to something. Why? Why! Why.  Why is why so important? For someone like me, when I ask the why I am able to focus on the stories. I also share some of the whys that create the content on this blog.

Why do I not always post my photo? Sometimes my words are more important than someone seeing what I look like. I want the words, the topic, to be the focus, not my cute blond face. As an actor, my face has been plastered all over, it’s not that important. Secondly, after spending twenty years working with the criminal element, I like to keep my identity my own.

Why do I write mainly about women and history? The stories are too important to be lost. We tend as a society to focus on what the men did in creating this country. I’m not saying they didn’t do wonderful things, but you know what, so did the women. I also would prefer that history treat women based on the time they lived in and not try to put our concepts on their lives and lifestyle. Instead of saying Ann Bassett was a wild woman, it might be better to say she wasn’t going to fit the norm of what ‘Victorian’ women were. She lived on a ranch for heaven’s sake. (If you want to know more : http://bit.ly/1FIrStP )

12-31-2012 new years eve 325

Why do I use a pen name for my fiction? As a writer, I don’t care if people know my pen name is Angela Raines. I do care about my non-fiction and want my readers to know what they are getting when they purchase one of my works. To me the way to keep the Historic Romance Fiction separate from the True History, is to have two names. For my latest fiction work, you can pre-order at Amazon – http://amzn.to/1cVsncT

Why do I write haiku? It started as a writing practice to put the seat in the chair and get the creative vibe going. What I found was, I love the practice of putting a concept into a structured form, and adding my photography. What started as a practice has become a deep fondness for the process. I would say it has to be, I about one hundred short of a thousand. To read a few and take a glance at some of the photos – http://bit.ly/1C7PPKA

Now you know why the word why is a big part of my life. For someone who is in the public eye almost all the time, I am a private person and like it that way. Why? Maybe for another time.

Take some time to answer your own whys. You may be surprised and what you find.

home for his heart angela raines

HOME FOR HIS HEART
http://amzn.to/1GN4EYU
also available as an ebook on Barnes & Noble and Smashwords.

Doris Gardner-McCraw/Angela Raines
Author, Speaker, Historian-specializing in
Colorado and Women’s History

Author Page: http://amzn.to/1I0YoeL

Photo and Poem: http://fivesevenfivepage.blogspot.com

This entry was posted in acting, haiku, historical romance, photography, women's fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to WHY

  1. Neva Bodin says:

    You are a multi-faceted person! That is why “why” is such a big part of your life I bet. You seem to have a healthy curiosity and lively interest in people and their “whys”, including your own whys. Through this, we get to know you better, and be inspired to ask “why” more in our own lives. Also, you give us answers to your own asking which I appreciate and find interesting. Thanks for sharing the answers to some of your “whys”!

    Like

  2. Doris says:

    Neva, Thank you, I think. (Smile). You are correct, why has always been a big part of who and what I am. When writing this post, it made sense to answer my whys to illustrate how that three letter word leads to so much more. Doris

    Like

  3. Two-year-olds aren’t the only ones who ask why. This was interesting.

    Like

  4. sstamm625 says:

    Nice post, Doris. I love what you had to say about the haiku and how what started as practice became a deep love of the process. Lovely!

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Thank you Stephanine. Who knew when I started haiku writing it would turn into such a love. It has, and I don’t mind. Doris

      Like

  5. Mike Staton says:

    I agree. Writers have to ask why. Heck, everyone should be asking why. Why is the sky blue? Why did dinosaurs die off? Why is the sun yellow? Why are there seasons? Why isn’t the moon always full? I learned early in my journalism career that I’d have to always ask why or my interviews would be horrible and my consequent stories just as bad.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      So true, Mike, so true. I always find it interesting that folks don’t want to dig any further than what is handed to them. I want to know why, why, why. Besides life is so much more fun when you try to find out. (Smile) Doris

      Like

  6. Nancy Jardine says:

    Asking why is generally what leads to a lot of my digressions during researching. Finding the answers is a satisfying result.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      It is satisfying, isn’t it Nancy? I think I grew up asking why, but my parents encouraged me to find the answers myself. Bless them. Doris

      Like

  7. Joe Stephens says:

    I really enjoyed this. I was especially taken with your answer as to why you openly use a pen name for some of your work. I had never thought about that. I only write in one genre at this point, but if I ever branch out, I may consider going the same route.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Thank you Joe. I thought a lot about the pen name and decided it was the best route for me to go. Although a very private person, I do try to be honest with myself and others. Makes life easier that way. (Smile) Doris

      Like

  8. Gayle Irwin says:

    Great post, Doris! Another great question kids ask, and perhaps we writers do/should as well, “Are we there yet?!” I think we’re always on the journey from here to there… wherever “there” is. Keep asking the questions, my friend — you enlighten and educate us all!

    Like

    • Anonymous says:

      Thank you Gayle. I do love asking myself questions. I don’t always ask them of others, unless of course I want to know something. (Grin) I appreciate your kind words. Doris

      Like

    • Doris says:

      Thank you for the kind words Gayle. I’ve always been a why person, especially with myself. (If the truth be told, that’s probably why I don’t get bored. Grin) Doris

      Like

  9. Doris, what a lovely look into why your write the way you do. It was interesting. But of course, you know I love all your work. I am so interested in each post you create about women of the past. More of the public should and will become aware of these amazing women because of your tireless research and writing. I love the haikus but haven’t had much time to read them lately because we don’t have internet at the lake and I have to do a lot when we get home to catch up. However, I have read many and enjoyed every one. You are an inspiration!

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Linda, You just made my day. Thank you so much, I’m blushing, but so glad you enjoy what is really a passion for me. Enjoy the lake and your summer. Doris

      Like

  10. Wranglers says:

    Glad you asked why. I love your photography, and your poetry. I also love your research. Cher’ley

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Thank you Cherley. I do love why, it leads me down so many wonderful roads. I’m so glad people enjoy my sharing those journeys. Best to you. Doris

      Like

  11. S. J. Brown says:

    The Why is pretty simple. You have something to say. Thanks for sharing. I learn something new every time I read one of your blogs.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      S. J., I confess I love sharing what I learn. I guess it’s the teacher in me. (although I never knew she was there until later in life- smile). I’m thrilled that others share my joy in these ramblings. Best to you also. Doris

      Like

  12. Kathy Waller says:

    You’re making me think. Why? can sound like, and be, a challenge, but getting good answers can change attitudes and behaviors in positive ways. Why? means the questioner is digging below the surface. I think that’s Why many female school administrators are so effective–they ask Why? Why do we do it that way? Why do high schools receive higher per student funding than elementary schools? Why doesn’t the school building have a covered area for buses to unload when it’s raining? Why do women coaches receive lower stipends than their male counterparts? Why do athletic coaches receive stipends but academic coaches… Well, I’m afraid my bias is showing. But wherever you are, doesn’t progress begin with Why? Thanks for the post.

    Like

  13. Travis says:

    Sometimes the why is like peeling an onion. The layers can get deep and sometimes we may never get to the end. I think there is a restlessness in many artists and they’re look for a way to express themselves in ways that they can’t normally do. But the motivations (the why) for expressions vary per person and even within that artist, the why may change from project to project. At least that’s what I’m thinking at this moment.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Travis, I agree with you completely. The Whys change from person to person and project to project. The key, asking the question. Each of us have our own ‘story’ and the answer to why is the one we tell. Thank you for adding more for me to think about and ask why. Doris

      Like

Leave a Reply

