Goodbyes

Kate 2Kate Wyland

Last time I blogged here I wrote about leaving our comfortable home town to move to a new exciting area. At the time we were just at the beginning of our transition, just starting to prep our house for sale and look for a new place. The process has taken a while—somewhat longer than I expected—and with all the work of getting rid of stuff, fixing and polishing, I expected to be tired and a bit sad at not seeing friends as often. What I hadn’t really anticipated was how hard it would be to say goodbye to places and things.

We’ve only moved about an hour and a half away, so we will definitely be back. But we won’t be going to Betsy’s, our favorite downhome café, for Sunday breakfast anymore, nor getting a wonderful green papaya salad from the little Vietnamese restaurant near us. We won’t be driving through the cool Redwoods to escape the heat and have dinner by the ocean. We’ll no longer ride our favorite mountain trails or dodge waves on the beach with our horses. Monterey and Carmel will require a much longer drive and probably an overnight stay.

Mt. MadonnaMt. Madonna Redwood Park

Then there are the people we’ve come to depend upon–our doctors, mechanics, hair dressers, veterinarians, horse shoers, gardeners, the list goes on. We’ll get recommendations and find new ones, but we’ll miss those not-quite-friends who made our lives easier. We’ll still be able to use many of the chain stores we’re used to—in fact Whole Foods will be a lot closer. The local stores will be different and I suspect the farmers’ markets will reflect quite diverse tastes.

The most surprising thing for me is how much I will miss our house. I mourned when we gave up our horse property—that was home. This house was always intended to be temporary, which is why we rented. But after being pushed into buying last year, it finally became home and I thought we would be there for a while. We’d only completed a few of the projects we wanted to do, but had done enough to make it ours. Now we’re leaving and I will miss it. I’ll particularly miss the patio where the hummingbirds used to visit.

Patio

If you left your home, what would you miss the most? What are the things that say home to you?

********************

.

Forewarning Cover

FOREWARNING
Healing is her life. Will it be her death?

.

Wyoming Cover - 4x6 - #2.

Wyoming Escape
Two dead bodies. One dirty cop.
Is she next?

.

Cover - Images - 2.

 Images – A Love Story
She’s learned to hide from life.
Should she hide from him?

.

Connect with Kate Wyland:
Facebookhttps://www.facebook.com/AuthorKateWyland
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/katewyland
Website : http://katewyland.com

.

This entry was posted in unique. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Goodbyes

  1. Joe Stephens says:

    I had to move out of my house and the two things I missed the most were my office where I wrote every day and my garden. Mainly, though, since I live with family now, I miss my solitude. Quiet time alone was something I took for granted until I didn’t have it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • katewyland says:

      I can sympathize. One of our projects was to re-do the landscaping and put in a vegetable garden. Got the first but not the second. I was really looking forward to home grown tomatoes again.

      Going from being alone to living with a family had to be quite an adjustment. But I assume there have been positives too. 🙂

      Like

  2. Wranglers says:

    Kate, you are the 4th WW&W to move this year, and Linda Leander moved a couple of years ago. I loved my house we moved from, I even finally had my art studio finished. I miss that building, and my lilac & peony bushes, my weeping cherry & apple trees, my huming birds & woodpeckers. I miss the solitude and the river running down my front yard. I miss my whole family, except one SIL living 20 minutes away. My list goes on and on, but it was my decision to move. My new home is where I am close to lots of beaches, all kinds of activities, and a lot less responsibility, taxes, insurances, and upkeep. I will feel better when I get everything unpacked. Cher’ley

    Liked by 1 person

    • katewyland says:

      Your list reminds me of when we moved from our horse property. I had put my heart into that place.

      Unfortunately, we won’t be able to unpack for a while. We’re in a temporary apartment until we get to know the area and where we’d like to settle. Also have to wait for our house to sell and close. Our two months here should show us how little we really need to have.

      Have fun in your new place.

      Like

  3. Doris says:

    Not easy saying goodby to what had become a safe haven. I had a friend, no longer with us, who used to always say, “I’m off on an adventure”. Those words made everything fun and interesting, but the comfort of familiar, that’s hard to replace. Doris

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mike Staton says:

    I made my 2,200-mile move 1.5 years ago. It was daunting, leaving behind a comfortable place I’d called home for 24 years, the longest I’d ever stayed put. But oh, what a grand adventure I embarked on — every place, every view, every smell, every taste a new one. Sometimes it is good to shake up things.

    Liked by 1 person

    • katewyland says:

      Agreed, we’re ready to shake things up too. Have already discovered that there are a couple of “gourmet ghettos” in the new area and are eager to sample their wares.

      Like

  5. Travis says:

    I don’t think I’ve been a place longer than 5 years since the 90s. With moving comes different changes. Some good, some bad. I’m not sure what represents home now except for my wife and daughter. I used to be attached to stuff, but I think I’m starting to lose that feeling.

    Liked by 1 person

    • katewyland says:

      My family moved a lot when I was a kid, so staying in one area for 23 years has been a different experience for me. My Hubs is a confirmed pack rat, so I’ve really pushed to get rid of stuff with this move. Want to seriously downsize this time.
      And you’re right, family is our real home.

      Like

  6. I would miss my writing groups, my singing group, the YMCA, the senior center, and the walking paths around our town. I hope I never feel compelled to leave Sheridan, Wyoming..

    Liked by 1 person

    • katewyland says:

      I will definitely miss people and groups we’ve been part of. Oddly, many have already left and/or changed enough that the attraction isn’t as strong. That’s one of the reasons we figured it was time to move.

      I’m not sure I knew you were in Sheridan. We love that area. My first book, Wyoming Escape, is loosely set at the Eaton Ranch. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Nancy Jardine says:

    Having been in my present house for 27 years I wouldn’t want to move since I’d have to seriously ‘de-clutter’ the mementoes that are all over the house! Gardens change and evolve and I’d miss my present one, hugely, but so long as I had a garden of some kind I’m sure I would get used to a new situation.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nancy Jardine says:

      I meant to also add that I think it’s a good thing that you have some time to find the best place for you to live in, because what might have been good for you a decade ago maybe isn’t the most ideal situation for you now. Best wishes with your quest.

      Like

    • katewyland says:

      You’re so right, de-cluttering is the worst part of moving! We’d moved from a larger house and kept a lot of stuff because we weren’t sure where we’d end up. Mistake. It’s amazing how much better it feels getting rid of most of it. Still have a bunch in storage but we’re gradually weeding it out.

      Like

  8. I miss Montana! I’ve lived in Wyoming this time around since 1999 and if I wasn’t married to my husband, who says he will never move from Wyoming, I’d go back to Montana in a heartbeat! Thankfully, I can get there in less than 1/2 day, although the places I most enjoy take a full day to drive to. I grew up in Iowa and although I enjoy visiting, I would not move back there — I’d love the mountains, I love the national parks and forests, and I love the less population density of the Northern Rocky Mountain states. Moving is hard, the sorting, packing, and such, and leaving people one cares about does cause one to grieve. I do hope your new chapter in life brings you wonderful blessings, Kate!

    Like

    • katewyland says:

      I’ve only visited a small piece of Montana–the Little Big Horn–so don’t know anything about it. How is it different from WY? What makes it so special to you?

      Like

  9. S. J. Brown says:

    Kate, We moved from our old Victorian home of over 20 years last year. Surprisingly I don’t miss the house, but I do miss the yard I had carefully crafted fro years. Spring time here was depressing no crocuses to let me know the long cold winter was almost over. No tulips to signal springs arrival. No colorful flower beds or edible gardens to roam.

    So this summer I a setting about making the yard come alive with color. Not an easy task since no one has done more than just cut the grass here in years. But Hubby and I are making progress one section at a time. Just a few weeks ago I was able to go out into the veggie garden and pick green beans to go with dinner so this place is starting to feel like home.

    Our move was only about 15 miles but it is a totally different world being outside the city. We are getting to know our neighbors and are finally settling in here. In time I am sure you will begin to enjoy your new home and make it your own for years to come.

    Like

  10. sstamm625 says:

    It is hard, isn’t it, Kate? But you will get settled in and find new things to love about your new home. I still miss my old home (and friends and neighborhood) even though I was ready for a change and love my new life.

    Like

  11. Pingback: Gratitudes | Writing Wranglers and Warriors

Leave a Reply

