Life Happens – NaNoWriMo Planning Starts Now

CindyCarrollEUp until the end of May, 2015 was a good year for the most part. June 1 came and everything changed. I won’t go into boring details about what happened but there were three fronts of attack on my happiness and security that left me with no will to write. No will to do anything really except sit on the sofa and watch television shows marathon style on Netflix. I went for my go to feel good shows. The shows that gave me comfort. Not used to despair and the helpless feeling that plagued me, I wanted shows that would pick me up, dust me off and tell me things would get better.

During my marathons, of which there were many, we discovered Brooklyn Nine-Nine. Great show with awesome writing, it made me laugh out loud more than once. I needed that. I went back to old favourites like Charmed and Friends. But the one that helped the most was starting Supernatural from the beginning. The Winchester boys always make me smile. And eye candy always makes me feel better. Plus those guys never give up even when things are bleak.  Posts to always keep fighting from Jared Padalecki’s Facebook page ticked by on my news feed as I got reacquainted with the Winchester brothers. I love what he’s doing to bring awareness to depression and help those affected by it.

I had big plans for June and July. Plans to get tons of words written, stories finished, stories published. But life happened and robbed me of the desire to do anything. In those two months I might have written 1500 words. I had to explain to people who were waiting for stories why I couldn’t meet their deadlines. I’m behind on just about everything even commenting on this blog.

Things are looking up. I received good news two weeks ago and I cried for half an hour because I forgot what it was like to feel that moment of happiness. The depression is lifting. I’m lucky in that the wave of depression that hit me was brought on by short term events. Lots of people suffer much longer and to greater degrees than I did. I’m still not ready to go back into the office. Working from home these past two months has been a huge help for me. But I know it can’t go on like this indefinitely. Eventually my employer will want to see me at my desk working away.

Because life happens when you least expect it I’m planning for NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) now. Despite being derailed for two months I’m determined to get back on track even though I’m woefully behind. I have a new writing schedule that I know I can stick to if I put my mind to it. As always with NaNoWriMo the plan is to clear the decks for November.

To prepare for November I’ll need to get my writing obligations done early. I have monthly deadlines for some projects so I have to get November and December stories done by October. Once that is done I can concentrate on NaNoWriMo. My goal for this year is a complete 80,000 word novel. I just have to figure out what novel to work on. And I need to figure it out soon. I’m starting a world building class on Saturday so I can hammer out details. The key for me to winning NaNoWriMo is planning. Since story ideas drop in all the time I have a large pool to draw from. Which story to work on though?

I love them all and will eventually work on all of them. Assuming my dystopian trilogy is complete by October like I intend, which one of theses would you work on for NaNoWriMo?

1. Book 2 in an urban fantasy suspense series where Book 1 is done.

2. An erotic thriller involving a stalker

3. A serial killer plaguing the art community

4. A serial killer with their heart in the right place

5. A thriller set in the future about a government conspiracy

6. A thriller set in the future about genetic weapons

Get free reads, new release pricing, members only contests – sign up for my newsletter: http://eepurl.com/33jBn

Check out my website: http://www.cindycarroll.com
Follow me on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/CindyPCarroll
Like me on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorCindyCarroll

ReflectionsFinal2A road trip goes wrong for a group of friends trying to help one of them get over a break up. They find an inn where the mirrors are cursed and they realize they don’t know each other as well as they thought they did.

A road trip without a plan sounded like a good idea when Lena and her friends hit the road. A mini vacation and support for Steve, recently dumped, have the friends travelling through small towns and back roads. After hours of driving in the heat in a cramped car they’re all ready for something to eat and a good night’s rest. Reflections Inn looks perfect for the group of friends. A little run down, it hides a supernatural horror.

Buy on Amazon: http://amzn.to/1avH00L
Buy on Barnes and Noble: http://bit.ly/19Ti2ux
Buy on Kobo: http://bit.ly/13CBz9M
Buy on Amazon Canada: http://amzn.to/15oFc4a

About Cindy Carroll

Cindy Carroll is a member of Sisters in Crime and a graduate of Hal Croasmun’s screenwriting ProSeries. Her interviews with writers of CSI and Flashpoint appeared in The Rewrit, the Scriptscene newsletter, the screenwriting Chapter of RWA. She writes screenplays, thrillers, and paranormals, occasionally exploring an erotic twist. A background in banking and IT doesn’t allow much in the way of excitement so she turns to writing stories that are a little dark and usually have a dead body. When she’s not writing you can usually find her on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Depression, life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Life Happens – NaNoWriMo Planning Starts Now

  1. Mike Staton says:

    Glad to see the fog of depression is lifting for you. I went through a bit of a funk in June when I learned I had osteoporosis. Motivation to write just disappears. But I’m taking calcium and am contemplating taking a bone-growing med, so I’m fighting back and feeling good about it. What would I recommend you work on during NaNoWriM? Well, the one about a serial killer with his/her heart in the right place, of course. It’s just odd enough to snag my attention.

    Like

  2. I hope nothing comes up in November to keep you from participating in NaNoWrimo. A friend of mine was planning to do Camp NaNoWriMo this month. She does Web accessibility consulting, and at the beginning of the month, she got a last minute government contract so needless to say, I doubt she got as much written as she planned.

    Like

  3. Neva Bodin says:

    Depression is so debilitating, and I’m glad it is lifting for you. Situational depression can become clinical. So glad your energy and enthusiasm is coming back. And I have thought of doing NaNoWriMo but haven’t taken the plunge. You are inspirational. Hope you can do it and realize you are a treasure to the writing world so keep going! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. Doris says:

    Cindy, Life does happen. And Supernatural is a winner on so many levels. Saw the same post about #alwayskeepfigting and it is inspiring. He is doing so much for those who he will never meet.

    We can’t beat ourselves up when things like this happen, we just look at them, deal with them, then move on with our lives. Looking forward to your success, whatever that is for you. Doris

    Like

  5. wyoauthor1 says:

    Cindy, my father’s side of the family has dealt with depression and I find myself getting into “funks” on occasion — it’s an illness which many of us need to find a way to manage, and it sounds like you have done so. I wish you well in your writing endeavors and all the things that life throws your way, including your goals for NaNoWriMo. I concur with Mike — that story sounds very intriguing! Best always! 🙂

    Like

  6. Nancy Jardine says:

    It’s great that you’re feeling more able to deal with what’s come your way, Cindy. I think your aim for November is an ambitious one but we can sometimes work better under the ‘right’ sort of pressure- at least that’s how I work. However, I’m not in a position to do a NaNoWriMo this coming November, but best wishes for yours. 🙂

    Like

  7. S. J. Brown says:

    Glad the fog is beginning to lift. I would go for book 2. Go back reread book one and get inspired.

    Like

  8. Joe Stephens says:

    I’ve never battled chronic depression, though I did struggle with some level of acute depression when my marriage ended, so I know the feeling of just not having any motivation to even get out of bed. That feeling of having to force yourself to even get dressed is so hard to stand. I’m sorry you have been going through this and am glad things are getting better. I hope you’ll get your book written in November. I plan to do book four in my series during that month.

    Like

Leave a Reply

