Music to My Ears

Gayle_BozemanFamilyChristian_smallThis post by Gayle M. Irwin

Last weekend my husband and I spent time at the Beartrap Summer Festival, an annual music event at Beartrap Meadow on Casper Mountain. This year marked the 21st installment of what started as a small music festival that has, over the decades, grown to one of the biggest events in our area. Some of the greatest in blues, jazz, bluegrass, and other music genres are featured, including Ricky Skaggs, Nitty Gritty Dirt Band, and this year Charlie Daniels. But, it’s not just “major stars” who appear: many local and regional performers step onto the stage. This year that lineup included the barbershop chorus in which my husband has been involved for nearly 20 years, and a group known as Ana, Rachel & Friends, consisting of two young women I’ve known since they were small children who are growing up to be fiddle champions, amazing singers, and experts with many musical instruments. My husband’s group sang gospel music on Sunday and the young women, accompanied by their father who plays guitar and banjo, another guitarist, and a bass player (who was my landlord when I moved to Casper in the late 1990s), sang spirituals and played bluegrass-style instrumentals – music to my ears, making my heart sing.

Group singingNext week I’ll be traveling to Red Rocks Amphitheater outside of Denver for a mega-worship concert featuring Christian recording artists Chris Tomlin, Matt Redman, and Matt Mahr. Each man is gifted in his own right and I’ve longed to see a performance from each one, and to think I’ll be able to experience their amazing talents and gifts TOGETHER IN ONE LOCATION! Music to my ears! My heart is singing in anticipation – I am sure my soul will soar at the actual event (if I can survive mega-city traffic at a sold-out concert!!)!

This week I’m attending the annual Global Leadership Summit. For the past five years, I’ve been blessed by the organization for which I work three days a week to have the expense paid to attend the simulcast of this event, which is broadcast live for two days in August from Chicago. Each year speakers enlighten, encourage, and challenge us to become better leaders in our organizations, businesses, and relationships. I come away inspired and ready to take the next steps in my growth as a leader of volunteers as well as an entrepreneur, a writer, a life partner, business partner, friend, and human being. The words from these speakers are music to my ears.

Greg Gayle Mom Dad_cabinMy parents spent a week with Greg and me. We laughed, we reminisced, we planned ahead (dad’s potential back surgery this fall, a family vacation scheduled for next summer, and another in the year thereafter – my dad and I LOVE to plan trips!) Greg and I took my parents to our cabin for a few days where songbirds trill, foxes yip, and pine squirrels chatter. All these people, all these things, make my heart sing.

I’ve enjoyed lunches and evening drinks recently with various friends, people who also make my heart sing. I’ll welcome my writers group to the cabin later this month, people who I enjoy and who are encouraging. Friends, too, are music to my ears.

One of my works in progress (WIP) is a devotional called “Seasons of Life, Seasons of Nature.” The manuscript ties the seasons of our lives with the seasons of nature, such as blizzards in winter, renewal in spring, refreshment as well as drought in summer, and changes during autumn. The work will include words to favorite (public domain) hymns which reflect the topic of the week, such as lambs and shepherds associated with Easter and spring, the manger child of Christmas, rolling clouds and thunderstorms of summer, and harvest time of fall. I enjoy both contemporary Christian music, as I’ll witness at the upcoming concert, and the old-time hymns which are reflected in my manuscript and were sung at the Beartrap Festival. Music that stirs my soul, makes my heart sing, and that is literally and figuratively music to my ears.

Seasons of Life Partial Book CoverOur words, whether written in story or song, whether on printed page or spoken to family, friends, and colleagues, even to ourselves, can be stirring, encouraging, and helpful. Words, spoken or written, can be filled with viciousness and vile – we witness that constantly, from politicians, extremist groups, even co-workers, family members, and supposed “friends.” As writers, we are the developers of words, the creators of stories (and songs). I yearn to be a writer that encourages, who educates and uplifts, one that stirs souls and makes hearts sing. May the words we write (and speak), the stories we share, be music to our ears – and to the ears (and eyes) of our readers.

What makes your heart sing? What/who is music to your ears?

Gayle & Mary outsideGayle M. Irwin is a writer, author and speaker. She’s authored several inspiring dog books for children and adults, including Sage’s Big Adventure, Walking in Trust: Lessons Learned with My Blind Dog, and two dog devotion books: Devotions for Dog Lovers: Paws-ing for Time with God and Devotions for Dog Lovers 2: Sage Advice. She is also a contributing writer to five editions of Chicken Soup for the Soul, including The Dog Did What?, released August 2014. She’s also created a guidebook for owners of blind dogs, available on Kindle. She has a passion for pets and volunteers for and donates a percentage of her writing revenues to several animal welfare organizations. Her speaking engagements include presentations for children and adults about the lessons people can learn from pets. Visit her website at www.gaylemirwin.com.

SageBigAdventureFront-small Walking_FrontCover_small  Dog Devotion Book_Cover_Final   Dog Devotions 2 Book Cover Sage Advice Cover  Blind Dog Ebook Cover_updatedMay2014

This entry was posted in Encouragement, family, Friendship, music, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Music to My Ears

  1. Joe Stephens says:

    For me it’s several, but my school’s A Cappella Choir, which is directed by the woman who is now the director of my church’s choir, is such a powerful group. They’re nationally renowned, having won practically every competition they’ve entered since I started working there. They are always so polished and perfectly pitched. There’s one particular song that, for me, just means the world. Each Christmas, they begin their concert with a processional that is accompanied by “O Come O Come, Emmanuel.” It really does quicken my pulse and make me want to cry every single time I hear it. It’s just achingly beautiful.

    Like I said, there are lots of things that make my heart sing, so I could go on forever, but I won’t. Thanks for reminding me of all these things. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for your comments, Joe. In Casper we have a children’s choir that also is critically acclaimed. They’ve been in the Rose Parade, I believe, and have traveled to New York City in past years. They put on a Mother’s Day concert that is nearly always sold out — amazing young people and director! It’s always good for us to remember our blessings, including those things which touch our hearts. 🙂

      Like

  2. Neva Bodin says:

    Great post Gayle. Friends, music, and totally alone time make my heart sing. Since I am relational, I love being with people and need a people fix every day to truly feel alive. But because I throw so much energy into relationships, I also am thrilled to have time totally alone to recharge my emotional batteries. Loved the barbershop quartet, thanks for including that clip. The worship concert in CO is sold out it says so should be lots of people and energy there to help enhance your joy. And I know the Leadership summit will be great. And may your heart continue to sing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Neva — you’re one of those who makes my heart sing and I am so thankful for our friendship! 🙂 I’m looking forward to the Leadership Summit and to the CO concert (but NOT to the traffic, so pray for me!!). I also look forward to hosting our writer’s group at the cabin and I’ll see you then!

      Like

  3. Beartrap Meadow isn’t far from the Alan H. Stewart Camp for the Blind where I went during many summers. As kids, we picniced there. As adults, we hiked in that area. Often, the music from the festival was carried to my ears by the wind. I wanted to go but not alone.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Doris says:

    Ah yes, music. It was so much a part of my life for many years. I still have it, but the tune and outlet have changed. Now my music is my haiku and other writing. It is the gifts we share that make living worth it. Lovely post and know you are blessed in many ways you may not even realize. Best to you my friend, keep the music alive. Doris

    Liked by 1 person

    • wyoauthor1 says:

      I enjoy music and I do sing — just not well! 🙂 I believe writing, poetry, prose, etc., is also music … and obviously, songs consist of words. So, all writers compose music, to a degree, and you do it well, my friend! Thanks for giving me a big smile through your comments and other words you write, Doris! 🙂

      Like

  5. Mike Staton says:

    I love old hymns. I had to “hold myself together” at my mom’s funeral when the organist began playing the old hymns she loved to hear. Even now I can think back to the days when we’d sit on the couch and she’d talk about those hymns. I also have a cousin who’s been in various barbershop groups in America, Ireland and Israel. Yep, they love barbershop quartets in Israel. He’s posted some of their performances on YouTube.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Nancy Jardine says:

    Long may you and your parents enjoy such lovely times together, Gayle. Major national events are great, but it’s wonderful to have more local ones, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I love this post, Gayle. As a musician and songwriter I have been very fortunate to attend and perform at many music festivals around the country. I have listened and played with some of the best and it was music to my ears. Today I think my favorite “music” are the early morning sounds at our summer place. Frogs croak while mama duck and her ducklings quack their way across the lake. We have every type of bird imaginable and they all have distinct sounds. But sometimes the best “music to my ears” is silence. Once in awhile it’s what I need to quiet my mind enough to enjoy the blessings God has given us.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Reblogged this on L.LEANDER BOOKS and commented:
    I love this post by Author Gayle Irwin on Writing Wranglers and Warriors. I hope you do too!

    Like

  9. Wranglers says:

    I am so excited. I am in a new season of my life with my 3rd great grandchild coming along September 7th. My husband makes my heart sing. Cher’ley

    Like

  10. Travis says:

    Right now it might be my daughter babbling nonsensical words and sounds along with her dimpled smile. It’s great to go out every so often and indulge the soul in music.

    Like

  11. sstamm625 says:

    I like lots of different kinds of music, and it’s always fun to hear music live. I haven’t made it to any concerts or performances since I moved, but I want to get some on the schedule.

    Like

  12. S. J. Brown says:

    It sounds like you have been really busy, but it is good busy. Glad you are enjoying yourself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

