Sunflowers

This post by Jennifer Flaten

 

I am pleased to introduce our latest team member (drum roll) IMG_3967Sir Waffles. Sir Waffles might look young but brings vast experience in napping, chasing his tail and general cat menacing. Let’s give him a round of applause.

He is the reason I won’t have a very long post, that and it’s summer time and I have lots of outside stuff to do. We go new trees because of the street constructions so I spend an inordinate amount of time tending to those, along with all my other plants.

Between work and shuttling kids around (which really is a full time job) I haven’t enjoyed summer as much as I would like, but I changed that this morning.

For a couple days now the evening news has highlighted a local nature preserve, the Pope Farm Conservancy, that plants millions of sunflowers each year, along with some other crops. I’ve heard the news story, but not really paid attention. Until today, when I finally saw a picture on social media of this mass planting of flowers.CAM03872

After trying to figure out if I could squeeze a trip there into my schedule I said to heck with the schedule and just decided to go this morning.

I want to give a shout out to my awesome kids who were willing to hop in the car and go out there with me.

CAM03875

We enjoyed the sunflowers and hiked one of the shorter trails and enjoyed the bees, butterflies and native flowers. I could have stayed for hours, the kids on the other hand, were ready to go after a mile walk.

So home we went, back to work and our kitten (and three other cats and Ginger dog) much happier and much more relaxed.

Now it’s back to work. My wish for you is that you make time to do something nice for yourself.

Lots of new jewelry listed in my Etsy store. 

This entry was posted in unique. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sunflowers

  1. Joe Stephens says:

    It looks like Mr. Waffles will make a great new addition. 🙂 Today I’m enjoying some “sunflowers” by spending the entire day reading and relaxing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nancy Jardine says:

    Fabulous sunflowers at that venue, Jennifer. My sunflowers, which should by now be around 5 feet tall, are a measly 2 feet. Too many grey days. Actually, not enough rain (and we’re talking Scotland here!) and a dearth of sunshine. I guess sunflowers kind of need some sun? 😉 Mr. Waffles joins a great family. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Neva Bodin says:

    A fun post and inspiring to find my “sunflower.” Actually, a wild one planted itself in a small cactus/flower garden at the end of our driveway this summer and looks quite fetching between the russian sage. I spent the afternoon browsing two museum book stores and thoroughly enjoyed it so perhaps that was my walk in sunflowers today. Sounds like Mr Waffles has landed “in clover” or perhaps “in sunflowers.”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What a great thing to ditch everything and take some time for yourself to enjoy all the beauty around you. I love sunflowers, and my husband has them planted everywhere this year. They range in size from 3 ft to 12 ft. Their blooms are so lovely to watch as they blow gently in the wind. Glad you got to spend some time “enjoying”.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wranglers says:

    Take time to smell the…uh Sunflowers. We picked up across from a Sunflower Field years ago and I never forgot it. Amazing. Cher’ley

    Like

  6. Doris says:

    Just what the summer days ordered. Taking that time is what makes all the others hours worthwhile. Doris

    Like

  7. Travis says:

    Those are great shots of Sunflowers. They are magnificent, happy flowers.

    Like

  8. I wish I could go to this conservancy! Sunflowers are my favorite flower and the farm sounds absolutely breathtaking.

    Like

  9. S. J. Brown says:

    Good for you. Every now and again we all need to just say the heck with our schedule and all our obligations and just do something relaxing. When I was in Minnesota I saw acres and acres of sunflowers. They were a short term commitment for the farmers, but a lovely sight for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

