LABOR DAY, Labor Day

Post by Doris McCraw

Doris

I wondered what I would write about this Labor Day. There have been many post about how it began, etc. I also thought about writing additional information about the Labor Wars in Cripple Creek in 1894 and 1904. What I have decided, due to some time contraints…well read on.

From George Washington we have:

Labor to keep alive in your breast that little spark of celestial fire, called conscience.

James Whistler said: An artist is not paid for his labor but for his vision

I do like the one from U S Grant: Labor disgraces no man, unfortunately, you occasionally find men who disgrace labor.

One of my favorite actors, Bette Davis had this to say:

To fulfill a dream, to be allowed to sweat over lonely labor, to be given a chance to create, is the meat and potatoes of life. The money is the gravy.

Even Aristotle had something to say about labor: The end of labor is to gain leisure.

Of course there are those humorous concepts also.

If you want to kill time, try working it to death.  ~Sam Levonson

“I have no more than twenty acres of ground,” he replied, “the whole of which I cultivate myself with the help of my children; and our labor keeps off from us the three great evils – boredom, vice, and want.”  ~Voltaire

When I work I relax; doing nothing or entertaining visitors makes me tired.  ~Pablo Picasso

Genius begins great works; labor alone finishes them. ~Joseph Joubert

What the country needs is dirtier fingernails and cleaner minds. ~Will Rogers
People love chopping wood.  In this activity one immediately sees results.  ~Albert Einstein

I hope everyone has had a wonderful holiday weekend. We have our annual Balloon Lift off. What a sight to see! I will leave you with this image.

9-6-2015 555

Doris McCraw specializes in Colorado and Womens History. She writes fiction under the pen name Angela Raines. Join her on facebook and her Amazon author page.

Product Details
“NEVER HAD A CHANCE” , second in the Agate Gulch stories, in the Prairie Rose Publications “A COWBOY CELEBRATION” anthology http://amzn.to/1GzwJhw

Product Details
HOME FOR HIS HEART the first in the Agate Gulch stories. http://amzn.to/1GJhpSu

Author Page: http://amzn.to/1I0YoeL

Photo and Poem:http://bit.ly/1dVnNwO
This entry was posted in Creativity, labor day, quotes, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to LABOR DAY, Labor Day

  1. Joe Stephens says:

    Some neat ideas. I especially like the Aristotle quotation. I was discussing this very concept with my Careers in Education class this week.

    Like

  2. Doris says:

    Joe, With the holidays, it just seemed appropriate to talk about what others say. I also liked the Aristotle one, but Bette’s was also one that resonated with me. Doris

    Like

  3. Neva Bodin says:

    I especially like the ones by Grant, Whistler and Will Rogers. Great quotes to include for labor day. We had a baloon lift off here earlier this summer, most come right over our house. Fun to hear the roar of the blower and watch them glide. Our daughter and grandson followed one that landed nearby and learned a lot of facts about size, etc. Hope you have a great holiday.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Thank you Neva. I think we sometimes forget what Labor day is about and hoped the quotes would help remind others.
      So far it’s been nice, of course I work the weekend, but it has been a fun one. Doris

      Like

  4. Well, I spent my Labor Day relaxing and not lifting a finger to do any work except e-mail and other chores.

    Like

  5. I especially enjoyed Pablo Picasso’s quote. Thanks for the entertaining and clever post, Doris. I’ve actually never seen hot air balloons before (outside of TV and movies). Your photo is breathtaking and some day, I’d love to go up in one.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Sarah, We have had a balloon fest over Labor day for many years, and yet I never get tired of seeing all the balloons fly through the air.

      I also like Picasso’s quote. I am glad you enjoyed the post. Ond day you will fly through the air in a balloon and it will never be the same again. (Smile) Doris

      Liked by 1 person

    • Travis says:

      You’ve never seen a hot air balloon before, Sarah? (But you have swam with dolphins which is cooler.)

      Liked by 1 person

      • No, Travis, I never have! I’ve always wanted to go to one of those festivals (I think there’s a famous one in Santa Fe or Albuquerque?) I’ve scratched the swimming with dolphins off my bucket list and now I’ve got to go up in a hot air balloon!

        Like

  6. wyoauthor1 says:

    I enjoyed all the quotes, Doris. I labored on Labor Day, writing articles and working on book production. Why should I have a holiday on a Labor Day?! LOL Thanks for sharing these great quotes!

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Don’t feel bad, I worked on Labor Day also. Of course telling folks where to go and how to get there isn’t too bad a job.

      Glad you enjoyed the quotes. They were some of my favorites. Doris

      Like

  7. Mike Staton says:

    A bit late reading this. When I see so many conservative political blogs blasting the union movement, I find myself pausing in my grilling of hotdogs and hamburgers to remember my days as a technical writer working for paper-machine operators. Many were strong union men and women who were glad for union support for their salaries and fringe benefits.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Mike, There is an interesting article on the Optimist site about unions, etc. Labor is what we all do. We all work. It does us good to remember that, and think about how we can equalize…Doris

      Like

  8. Nancy Jardine says:

    Great quotes, Doris – all worth remembering in their own way! I hope your holiday was great fun.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Nancy, it was a nice holiday weekend. I was working. Of course it helps that I enjoy the job. Sometimes the labor the quotes talk about become labors of love. Doris

      Like

  9. Anonymous says:

    I know I commented on this blog. (It must be in cyber-space. Lol I spent my day with my newest great granddaughter. Cher’ley

    Like

  10. Travis says:

    Love the quotes Doris. For me I like: Genius begins great works; labor alone finishes them. ~Joseph Joubert I feel like we probably all have genius ideas inside of us, but we’ve to work to make them come true.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      That is my thought Travis. I think the idea of digging to find the genius frightens some folks. They may think that after all the work, they’ll find nothing. Not true. Doris

      Like

  11. S J Brown says:

    Loved the quotes, by some very interesting people.

    Like

Leave a Reply

