One of These Things Is Not Like The Others

propic11_1This post by Lleander

Author of Fearless Fiction
One of these things is not like the others,

One of these things just doesn’t belong,

Can you tell which thing is not like the others

By the time I finish my song?

Did you guess which thing was not like the others?

Did you guess which thing just doesn’t belong?

If you guessed this one is not like the others,

Then you’re absolutely…right!

© Joe Raposo, Jon Stone and Bruce Hart
My children loved this Sesame Street song when they were little. For some reason it’s always stuck in my head. Could it be the many, many times I’ve heard it?

I love to quilt. My eyes are happy as I take in the glorious hues of the fabrics, like blue summer sky, fall leaves and purple the color of Amish dresses. My hands smooth and feel each piece like it were precious diamonds, so glorious is the feel. Cutting out each piece is like a mathematical puzzle. I like puzzles, so this is another interesting part of quilting. Sewing each piece reminds me of the Dolly Parton song “The Coat of Many Colors” and I imagine Joseph in the Bible as he wore proudly the coat his father, Jacob, had made for him, his favorite son. As I sew the pieces I enjoy the construction and each piece that is sewn together to make a whole quilt. When the quilt is done I am in awe that I have put together a thing of such beauty.

Someone in Shawano County, Wisconsin must have had the same love for quilts and vision for a much bigger project. Since we live in Shawano County we love to go for a drive to take pictures and see each quilt.

Barnquilt

These are not the quilts I make. Instead, they are barn quilts, painted on the front or side of almost every barn in our county. Each barn quilt is lovingly painted on the old barn wood, either red, white or weathered gray, and are a stark contrast to the wood. Each barn has a different quilt, sponsored by an organization or family.

I’ve never seen such beautiful quilts. The paint must be much like the fabric for those who paint the quilt piece on the barn. Each color is vibrant or muted, depending on the kind of block depicted.bright-hopes-star-block_ArticleImage-CategoryPage_ID-799119
This Barn Quilt project is a protégé of the Shawano Chamber of Commerce. When I saw my first block I was intrigued. Then I began to see more and more of them on almost every barn I passed. That’s a lot, since Shawano County is almost totally a dairy county and farms are everywhere.

Whoever came up with the idea must have been a quilter with a vision. Who else could have thought of such an unusual way to showcase different quilts? People are now coming from afar to view the barns and their gorgeous quilt blocks. There is a 70 mile bike ride every year to ride through the beautiful countryside and look at the quilts. (Since I couldn’t even think of riding a bike for 70 miles, I’ll have to make do with searching them out with my car).

That takes me back to “One of These Things Is Not Like The Other”. Not one of these quilt pieces is like the other. That’s why it’s so amazing to take the time to view them. If you’re ever in or near our county, take the time to drive around and see them. You’ll definitely want to take pictures!

Books by L.Leander:

Inzared Queen of the Elephant Riders Video Trailer

Inzared, Queen of the Elephant Riders

Inzaredonecover

Inzared, The Fortune Teller Video Trailer

Inzared, The Fortune Teller (Book Two)

inzaredtwocover

You can also find L.Leander here:

Amazon Author Page

Facebook Author Page

L.Leander Books Blog

L.Leander’s Book Reviews and Interviews

Twitter

LinkedIn

Goodreads

Google+

This entry was posted in activities, Art, Creativity, decorations, farming, Fun, unique and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to One of These Things Is Not Like The Others

  1. I remember that song from Sesame Street and like the way you integrated it into this post.

    Like

  2. Wranglers says:

    I love it. I’d enjoy seeing each quilt barn showing of art. I couldn’t ride for 70 miles either, but I wish I could. Thanks for sharing. Do you have any photos of your quilts? Cher’ley

    Like

    • Anonymous says:

      You would love the art, Cherley. I do have some photos but will have to crawl around a couple of sites I posted them in. When I find them I’ll let you know!

      Like

    • You would really enjoy the displays Cherley. With your artistic talents you’d go wild. They are so beautiful, and each is different. What I am most amazed about is how intricate they are. No color dabbling over into another, every seam perfect. Some very good “quilters” in Shawano County!

      Like

  3. Doris says:

    Linda,
    Glad you were able to work out how to post from the libraries computer. Wonderful post. Love the idea of the ‘barn quilt’. More photos please. Doris

    Like

    • Thank you Doris. I really had a time with the computer at the library, but I now have fodder for another blog post, so all is not lost! I love the Barn Quilt idea too. I was really disappointed not to have photos of the quilts but the summer has just been too crazy! We have lots in our area close by and I’ll get pics and post them. First we have to close up the summer place. Bah humbug!

      Like

  4. wyoauthor1 says:

    Lovely post, Linda! It’s so inspiring to discover new realms of creativity! Thanks so much for sharing!!

    Like

    • Thanks for the comment. It is always inspiring to find new things and enjoy them just for what they are. I’ve seen some very unusual art pieces lately that make me think, but instead of doing that too much I just enjoy them!

      Like

  5. Wranglers says:

    Now I’m singing, Which of These is not likebthenother.

    Like

  6. S J Brown says:

    Wow, I envy you being able to make quilts. Even though my Mom insisted us girls learn how to sew today I can’t even hem a pair of pants. The barn quilts sound really interesting and a great idea to get people into the area. Have fun viewing them all.

    Like

    • I was very lucky to have a mother, friends and a mother-in-law who quilted and sewed. They taught me a lot as a young woman and I love it to this day. However, I haven’t made even one in over two years. Time to get started again, I guess! Thank you for the comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

