Summers Over

By S. J. Brown

Many people mourn the passing of summer, not me. During the hot days of summer I photograph very little. The critters hide deep in the woods to find shelter from the heat. Those that are accessible are not in the mood to pose for me.

Of course there are some exceptions like the hummingbirds that buzz around my back deck and the butterflies that frequent the butterfly bush in the front yard. Also I can’t forget the bunny rabbits and ground hogs that steadily raided my veggie garden all summer long. We have an arrangement, I feed them they let me take their pictures.

September 2015 ground hog

This time of year I am putting away my shorts, pulling out long sleeve shirts and picking lots of goodies from the garden. It’s time to wrap up my summer projects and put lots of bulbs in the ground, so I will be greeted with spring flowers when the warm weather returns.

Most summer travelers are safely back at home. So there are fewer cars on the roads, less traffic means more traveling for me. The cooler nights that signal fall is on the way also signals migrating birds its time to go. I need to get as many images of migrating birds as I can before they are gone. Raptors will be gathering in groups and kettling (flying in circular groups), Monarch butterflies will begin their trip to Mexico and Starlings will be invading buildings and trees in large groups.

September 2015 vulture

Black Bears will be bulking up for winter. In areas where they find an abundance of food I can get a little closer for some great images. However areas where food is scarce Bears tend to be a bit grumpy and aren’t thrilled with the idea of having their picture taken.

September 2015 Bear

Soon the colors of fall will be providing me with great backgrounds for my critter shots. I will be doing more hiking, and a bit more exploring in new areas. What will you be doing to celebrate the arrival of fall?

September 2015 Fall Deer

It has been a year since I joined the writers, wranglers, and warriors group. For those that have followed along I have introduced myself, shared my images and my opinions. I try to keep my posts upbeat and visually stimulating. I hope everyone has enjoyed getting to know me as much as I have enjoyed getting to know all of you.

Thanks for stopping by.

Connect with S. J. Brown on Facebook and be one of the first to see what she has been up to. Facebook https://www.facebook.com/sj.brown.3367

S. J. Browns coloring books feature sketches based on her photographs.

CBCover Acover

Cover 3-26-23Back Cover 4-24-2013Close up and Close Encounters is available on Amazon  at

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=close+ups+%26+close+Encounters

Or get your autographed copy at S. J. Brown website http://www.sjbrown.50megs.com

S. J. Brown’s children’s pictures books are only available through S. J. Brown.

You can order your copies from her website S.J. Brown

Cover All the Birds I See Cover

This entry was posted in Art, Authors, Blog, books, critters, images, photography, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Summers Over

  1. Wranglers says:

    Happy Anniversary. Gosh it doesn’t seem like a year has passed. I have greatly enjoyed your blogs, your comments and feedback on my blogs. I love your images, and the way you share your process. Thanks SJ. I know you are away from WiFi today, and I hope where ever you are, you days are filled with joy. And that you are getting some great photos. Cher’ley

    Like

    • S J Brown says:

      My computer is up and running for now. We will try something else in a few days. Thanks for making sure this posted for me. Thanks also for inviting me into this group. Thanks for the good wishes as well. I will be out in the field again in another few days.

      Like

  2. Joe Stephens says:

    Great post–I love your pictures every time it’s your turn!

    Like

  3. Doris says:

    It has been a pleasure to get to know you. Fall usually is a great time. This year there are some challenges that need overcoming, but all in all, it can be done.
    I admire your dedication to your passion and appreciate you sharing it. I look forward to your ‘critters’ and posts. They make me smile and think. A good combination. Thanks! Doris

    Like

    • S J Brown says:

      Making someone smile is always a good thing. Glad I can prompt a smile even when things are difficult. Doing these posts helps me when times are a bit tough. It gets my mind off the negative stuff and back to the good stuff. Reading the posts of others teaches me lots of things, introduces me at others perspective and makes me smile as well. I am glad all of you share with me .

      Like

  4. Mike Staton says:

    I learned a new word … kettling. That’s why I like your posts. Learning more about nature and the wild creatures.

    Like

  5. Neva Bodin says:

    I too, love your pictures. And fall is wonderful. The colors stimulating, but so are the fall winds, especially when they have that fall chill. Enjoyed your post.

    Like

  6. Travis says:

    I love fall too. Unfortunately it’s unseasonably hot in LA still, but fewer tourists now I suppose. Take the bear strength pepper spray with you!

    Like

  7. wyoauthor1 says:

    Great post as always, SJ! I, too, greatly enjoy your reflections and your photographs — nature speaks to my heart and so you always uplift me with your words and pictures! I, too, love the autumn season, basking in sunshine and vibrant colors. Thanks so much for sharing so much of yourself and your talent! And, Happy Anniversary with Writing Wranglers!! 🙂

    Like

  8. Nancy Jardine says:

    I can’t believe it’s a whole year either. I’ve enjoyed getting to know you, too, S.J – through your wonderful additions to the photos you post. At times I’ve wished for a camera and skills like yours to capture the birds in my garden- especially the magpies and wood pigeons. Ordinary birds, but I love them nesting around and about. By the time I get my phone or camera, and am outside the door, they’ve flown off – just the disturbance of me leaving the house is enough for that! In consolation I generally take a photo of a plant or flower since it can’t easily run away… and I’m out anyway. Keep the photos coming, please, because I’ll never even try to capture a brown bear! 🙂

    Like

  9. sstamm625 says:

    It has been nice getting to know you too, SJ! You know so much about animals and their behavior, as you have to do what you do. Interesting reading!

    Like

  10. S J Brown says:

    The critters are always teaching me new things and I feel compelled to share what I learn.

    Like

  11. Love your posts, S.J. and always look forward to your pictures. I envy you’re surrounded by nature and are able to photograph them and observe them in their natural habitat. Congrats on the WW&W year anniversary!

    Like

    • S J Brown says:

      Sarah, Thanks. I am surrounded by nature because that is where I choose to be. Even at home we have critters running around outside. So I guess the message here is surround yourself with things you love. Glad you are enjoying the images. I am always working on getting more.

      Like

Leave a Reply

