My New Book is READY!

This post is by Joe Stephens

For those who don’t know, I recently completed my third novel. It’s entitled In The Shadow. It’s also the third in the Shalan Adventure Series. I had all the inside finished and was just waiting on the final version of the cover art. Well, that arrived in my inbox this week and, boy, was it worth the wait.

Charlie Gesell is the photographer and special effects wizard that created it and a former student of mine named Courtney Stackpole was the model. It came out so much better than I could have even hoped. And I hoped for a lot!

Since the cover was the last piece of the puzzle, I uploaded the files to Createspace this weekend and, after a couple of formatting glitches, I approved the final draft and ordered a box of copies this afternoon.

I believe this book is my best work. It’s much darker and examines a completely different aspect to the relationship between the protagonists, Harry and Dee Shalan. The story takes them to one of the darkest, scariest places a couplITS Cover Arte can go. I hope everyone who reads it feels the same way.

My target launch date was October 1, though it looks like it’s going to be available online everywhere much sooner than that. I’m still trying to wedge a launch party into this month sometime, but I fear it won’t be until the 17th. I’ll probably do something by way of a Facebook-based launch sooner than that, though. Stay tuned for more information as soon as I can get myself together.

If you’re interested in a preview, it’s as easy as joining my mailing list. All members of my list get the first four chapters absolutely free, along with the entirety of my first book, Harsh Prey. In case you’re interested, click here. You’ll get a confirmation email and when you answer that, you’ll then receive a link to both files. By the way, if you try this link right now, it might give you a down-for-maintenance message, please try again later. I don’t know how long my email server site will be down, but it shouldn’t be much longer.

I’m really excited for this book and I hope some of you will have a chance to pick it up and give it a try. It’s available in paperback at createspace.com right now and will be up on Amazon in both paperback and Kindle formats within the next few days.

Joe Stephens is a teacher at Parkersburg High School. He is also the author of Harsh Prey and Kisses and Lies, both of which are available in paperback and Kindle formats. The paperback may be purchased from
Amazon, from J & M Used Book Store in Parkersburg, and from the author’s trunk.

kindle cover

Take a look at Harsh Prey on Amazon 

Kisses and Lies Cover Michele croppedTake a look at Kisses and Lies on Amazon

Join Joe on Facebook 

Check out joe’s website.

This entry was posted in unique and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to My New Book is READY!

  1. Sounds interesting, and I love the cover. I plan on reading one of your books as soon as I get caught up a bit. I know what it’s like to wait around on things to get finished, and the excitement when the box of books come and you get to hold them in your hand. Congrats. Cher’ley

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Doris says:

    Congratulations Joe. What a great feeling to have the book out there, and feel good about the story. I am so very happy for you, and I do love the cover! Doris

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congrats, Joe! Very cool cover too! What fun to get one of your students to model. She did a great job!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nancy Jardine says:

    Congratulations! That’s very exciting news, Joe. Having only self- published my latest book, The Taexali Game, I was a nervous wreck over the formatting issues for about a month before I eventually uploaded it with, thankfully, no glitches. The cover is quite scary-dark indeed! Best wishes with your launch/(es).

    Liked by 1 person

  5. wyoauthor1 says:

    Great news, Joe — congratulations! It’s always exciting to have a book ready for others to read and I do wish you all the best with your launch and your future writing endeavors!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Congratulations, Joe. I love the cover. Very cool that you had one of your students model for it. I hope you sell loads of copies.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Joe Stephens says:

      Thanks! It’s funny how when you write you put faces on characters. Well, when I see Jenn Bezaleel, I see my student’s face. It made the story more real and urgent to me.

      Like

  7. S J Brown says:

    Congrats Joe. Now the real work begins, marketing. Wishing you good thoughts and good sales.

    Like

Leave a Reply

