Embracing New Opportunities

Gayle & Mary outsideThis post by Gayle M. Irwin

A new season is upon us. Although spring is usually touted as the season of growth and renewal, autumn is also a season of change. Green leaves become golden and russet, and air temperatures slowly decrease over days, weeks, and months. Just as the summer fades and autumn rises, so, too, do opportunities in our lives: some evaporate while others materialize. Change – it’s a fact of nature and a fact of life.

During the course of this past summer, I was amid a writing frenzy: five articles for Crossroads magazine, an annual product for the Cheyenne, Wyoming Chamber of Commerce; four articles for the monthly Our Town Casper magazine (I’ve been writing 3 to 4 articles a month for that publication for more than three years now, so it’s a regular gig); and numerous articles for the Casper Journal, a weekly newspaper in my community, including six Vietnam veterans stories to be published in both the Journal and the state-wide newspaper the Casper Star Tribune as well as online (some of which hare already published). All this in addition to my “day job” and my life as wife, daughter, friend, pet caregiver, etc. etc. The summer was quite hectic! No wonder my blood pressure elevated!

aspens_with redNow autumn is here and writing has slowed like the sap of maple trees. However, I am still producing: more Vietnam veterans stories, a few articles for WREN magazine (Wyoming Rural Electric News), and an in-depth look at the blight of human trafficking for a story to be published on the website Pregnancy Help News. I’ve written about human trafficking for other, more local publications and was even presented an award last year from the Wyoming Attorney General’s Office for the stories covered and published in the Casper Journal in 2014. It’s an issue I care about; in fact I financially support an organization that fights trafficking in this country and abroad (A-21 Campaign). I am excited to have this latest article go live hopefully next month to help pregnancy centers in America better understand the issue and be educated as to how they can help women caught in the plague of sex trafficking who may seek pregnancy services. “Education is key,” one of my sources stated, and she is correct. Our Casper pregnancy center as well as our local community college participated in a program conducted by the Wyoming Attorney General’s Office; it was an enlightening and solemn training.

Cody Cabin_New Book CoverImageIn addition to the above-mentioned writing opportunities, I’ve finally had more time for my works in progress, including updating my children’s book Cody’s Cabin: Life in a Pine Forest. The story is being serialized in the kids’ section of the Casper Journal, and the new print book is now available to purchase. I’m in the midst of revising another children’s book that I began three years ago, and I hope to later get back into my pet rescue romance this fall as well. Each writing opportunity is something I embrace, and new doors may be opening for even more opportunities in the near future.

As the autumn season dawns, so, too, does the future. Each new day of the season in nature is another new day of life, and with each new day can come new opportunities. What new adventures in life and in your writing career are you embracing this autumn season?

Gayle_BozemanFamilyChristian_small

Gayle M. Irwin is writer, author and speaker. She is the author of several inspiring dog books for children and adults, including Sage’s Big Adventure, Walking in Trust: Lessons Learned with My Blind Dog, Cody’s Cabin: Life in a Pine Forest, and two dog devotion books: Devotions for Dog Lovers: Paws-ing for Time with God and Devotions for Dog Lovers 2: Sage Advice. She is also a contributing writer to five editions of Chicken Soup for the Soul. She’s also authored a guidebook for owners of blind dogs, available on Kindle. She has a passion for pets and volunteers for and donates a percentage of her writing revenues to several animal welfare organizations. Her speaking engagements include presentations for children and adults about the lessons people can learn from pets. Visit her website at www.gaylemirwin.com.

SageBigAdventureFront-small     Walking_FrontCover_small     Cody Cabin_New Book CoverImage

Dog Devotion Book_Cover_Final   Dog Devotions 2 Book Cover Sage Advice Cover   Blind Dog Ebook Cover_updatedMay2014

This entry was posted in challenges, children's books, Dogs, Goals, opportunties, Seasons, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Embracing New Opportunities

  1. Mike Staton says:

    I really, really liked this sentence: Now autumn is here and writing has slowed like the sap of maple trees. Great metaphor… sap of maple trees. I can see why all these magazines want your stories. Great writing, Gayle.

    Like

    • wyoauthor1 says:

      Hi, Mike — thanks for the compliment! My former writing instructor DESPISED metaphors, but I enjoy using them, and I’m glad you liked this one! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and commenting and thank you for your compliments — you made me smile widely!!

      Like

  2. Doris says:

    Gayle, as usual you put your finger on the change of the season, how it affects us, and the opportunities each season brings. Beautiful article and I wish you continued success with your career, your health and all other parts of your life. Doris

    Like

  3. Glad you are being so successful in your writing endeavors. Good luck on the rest. Enjoy the Fall season, because it looks like you are about to get very busy again.

    Like

    • wyoauthor1 says:

      Hi, Cher’ley — things are actually slowing down a bit in the writing department (except for this week!) so I’m looking forward to some lulls and getting back into my manuscripts. Thank you for your encouragement and kind words! 🙂

      Like

  4. Nancy Jardine says:

    It sounds like the fall season only means a tiny little slow down in your hectic schedule, Gayle, before it starts getting frenetic again. Your photos are as beautifully evocative as your writing. Best wishes with the deadlines!

    Like

    • wyoauthor1 says:

      Hi, Nancy — thank you for stopping by and commenting and for your gracious, encouraging words. I’m looking forward to fall (it’s been BREATH-TAKING HERE!!) and to some slowing down in the “writing for others” category so I can get back into my own manuscripts and “make hay while the sun shines” as they say in my part of the world! 🙂

      Like

  5. You keep on going like the that little bunny on a TV ad. I know that you won’t be slowing down much. I enjoy all your writing, and am especially enjoying the new Cody’s Cabin.

    Like

  6. Goodness! You sound busy. Good luck with everything.

    Like

  7. You’ve certainly been busy writing! In my long writing career I’ve found that when I’m working it primes the pump for more and more writing and even other creative endeavors. Love your descriptions of fall, this beautiful time of year I love. Life slowing down like the sap. Certainly describes my life right now. Thanks so much for this lovely piece. Barb Whittington, author Vada Faith, contemporary women’s fiction; Ezra and Other Stories, collection of short stories set in WV; Dear Anne: Love Letters from Nam, fiction. All on amazon.
    KEEP writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • wyoauthor1 says:

      Hello, Barbara, and thank you for stopping by to comment and to encourage; it’s wonderful to “see a new face” so to speak. I love autumn, too, and I’m blessed to enjoy it in many wonderful ways. Wishing you well in your writing endeavors as well! 🙂

      Like

  8. Wow, it sounds to me like your writing frenzy is not really slowing down for fall that much. I love that you are juggling so many different writing projects. You obviously have many diverse passions which I think is great. Inspirational post, Gayle.

    Like

    • wyoauthor1 says:

      Hello, Sarah — actually, I read an entire book this weekend, first time in AGES! LOL I’m actually taking some time off from some of my “usual writing for others’ assignments and focusing on the Vietnam veterans and my own manuscripts for a while. With Cody’s Cabin now out, and the holiday season approaching, I’m in need of marketing that book and working on others, too. But, there is never a lack of things to do, to write, to market, etc. Thanks for stopping by and commenting and encouraging — I truly appreciate it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Lovely article. I too like metaphors. I love the fall colours. I’m gearing up for new writing opportunities too and hope to get a lot of writing done this season.

    Like

    • Thanks for stopping by and commenting, Cindy. I imagine the colors up your way are GRAND! I think new seasons are a great time to reflect upon goals and dreams and to activate steps to pursue them. Good luck to you!

      Like

  10. Wranglers says:

    You go girl! You are doing very well, and building a great career here. Impressed with all the articles in the Journal. Not sure how you get them all done and still function in all your roles. So happy for you my friend!

    Like

    • Thanks, Cher’ley, for your encouragement and kind words. How do I write all the articles? My not cleaning my house! HA! I love sharing stories and yet at times I’m on overload. So, with the new season of winter knocking at the door, some changes are in order as I can’t juggle as much as I used to. That’s the beauty of seasons — change, it’s never out of style! 🙂

      Like

  11. Joe Stephens says:

    I’m working on the early stages of the fourth in my series narrated by Harry Shalan, Private Eye. I’m finding this one to be challenging in that Harry did something to put a pretty big ding in his shining armor, at least in his eyes, at the end of the previous book and he is struggling to deal with the fact that he’s not as perfect as he likes to think he is. But I’m also working on editing a much more fun prequel novella in which Harry and his beloved wife Dee fall in love. It’s set around Christmas time and it’s more romance than murder, so it’s a fun story for me.

    Like

    • Your work sounds very interesting, Joe. I have a romance started but it was a struggle so I put it away. Sometimes it great to try new avenues, but it’s also scary. I wish you well in your work and perhaps learning more about your writing endeavors will spur me to get back into my works in progress.

      Like

  12. S J Brown says:

    I think it is time to reward yourself for all your hard work. A quiet evening with hot cider and a bonfire might do the trick.

    Like

  13. I’ve enjoyed a few quiet evenings lately, SJ, and it’s been GREAT! I still have many articles to finish this month, but then I can spend some time with my works in progress and also on marketing my books already out there — that’s been a big neglect and I need to fix that aspect of my writing life. Thanks for the suggestions!

    Like

Leave a Reply

