Spirits, Angels and Halloween

Post by Doris McCraw

Doris

This may be a short post. Why? Well, it’s been a challenging year. Bad in many ways and wonderful in others. Sounds like regular life, doesn’t it? Most know I had in excess of $40,000 dollars worth of damage to my home in June. So far, thanks to gofundme I have had $1,700 to work with, along with the generosity of friends who added physical labor to get a least half of the damage personal property out of the basement. We won’t go into the lack of accountability of others like insurance, utilities, government. That is just what is. We’ve all experienced such events in our lives.

Now, I’ve had some pretty stressful days, but I also know, things do have a way of working out, or what goes around comes around. Here’s where the title comes in. As Halloween comes around, talk of spirits and angels takes center stage. This will continue through the new year. When life gets pretty yucky, it is the knowledge that things will work out that keeps you from doing injury to yourself or others. Doesn’t mean you don’t want to, but…

PAST FEAR

The other side of the coin is the wonderful things that happen. This Halloween, in fact today, my second novella is being released. Called Angel of Salvation Valley, it deals with the stuff life throws at us and the choices we make as we make life’s journey. I’m pretty happy, no proud of this story. It has angels, devils and a few other fun characters. I’m going to give away a copy of the novella to one commenter on October 21.

DISPARATE THOUGHTS

In the meantime, have a great week, month and year. Enjoy what life gives you and love and honor those who are making the journey with you. Follow your passions, for they seem to be the key to the joy we share with others.

BUY LINKS FOR ANGEL OF SALVATION VALLEY

LEAD Technologies Inc. V1.01

Product Details
“NEVER HAD A CHANCE” , second in the Agate Gulch stories, in the Prairie Rose Publications “A COWBOY CELEBRATION” anthology http://amzn.to/1GzwJhw

Product Details
HOME FOR HIS HEART the first in the Agate Gulch stories. http://amzn.to/1GJhpSu

Author Page: http://amzn.to/1I0YoeL

Photo and Poem:http://bit.ly/1dVnNwO
This entry was posted in Angels, Devils, give aways, Halloween, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Spirits, Angels and Halloween

  1. Sorry to hear about the damaged personal property. Yes, insurance and government can be a pain in the anatomy. Good luck.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Thanks Abbie. The nice thing is, I’ve had some wonderful things happen this year also. Just have to trust that it will be taken care of. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Best to you also. Doris

      Like

  2. Reblogged this on L.LEANDER BOOKS and commented:
    Check out this post by author Doris McCraw on Writing Wranglers and Warriors about life as it happens. Comment for a chance to win a copy of her newest book!

    Like

  3. So sorry to hear of the problems you’ve been having, but knowing you, Doris, I’m sure you’re taking it all in stride. I’ve shared this everywhere I can in hopes your book sales will rise. Hope it helps. Praying for relief!

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Linda, I thank you. Like everyone, I have my moments where I scream at the sky, feel sorry for myself, then get back on the horse and get going. I appreciate your share, I enjoyed telling this story. Doris

      Like

  4. Wranglers says:

    I’m excited for you. I feel like I’ve been on your journey to publishing with you. I remember when your first book came out and now look at you on your 3rd, plus you are the most faithful and inspiring commenter we have on this blog. I always look for (and enjoy) your comments. And you keep your Haiku blog going daily. You inspire me. I’m sorry about your basement damage. I wish we’d worked a little more this year, so I could have helped you, but we just haven’t. Like Linda, I can share this blog and hope that it will generate some book sales for you. Cher’ley

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Cher’ley, you brought tears to my eyes. LIfe is about living and making the best of what is offered. Thank you for sharing this blog and making the journey with me. I’m happy and proud of this story and hope others will enjoy reading it as much as I did writing it.

      I also comment because I want to support the others on this blog. They have so many wonderful words they are sharing. I’m proud to be here. Doris

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Mike Staton says:

    Doris, I just read your reply to Cherley’s comment. I agree 100 percent with your sentence “Life is about living and making the best of what is offered.” Sorry to hear about the damage done to your home. But glad that you have a new novella coming out. Angels and devils… always a draw for readers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Doris says:

      Thank you Mike. Life may not be fair, but we can put some of the odds in our favor by making the best of what we have, from where we are with what we have. Thank you for your kind words and support. Doris

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Looking forward to your new book, Doris, and much congratulations! I wished we lived closer so I could help you more with your basement … or at least give you a personal hug. I am thankful for the few times we’ve been able to get together. Here’s a BIG HUG through cyberspace, and continued prayers and well wishes!

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Thank you Gayle. This story wanted to be told, and I’m glad it chose me.

      I felt that hug and thank you so much for being a friend. I’ve loved every chance we’ve had to get together. Best to you on your books and speaking. See you soon. Doris

      Like

  7. Very moving post, Doris. I can only hope to be as positive as you during tough times. Thanks for the inspiration and congrats on the novella!

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Thank you Sarah. I guess I’m positive, for to do anything else would be pointless. Thank you for the kinds words and wishes for the novella. Doris

      Like

  8. Nancy Jardine says:

    Lovely, Doris and I’m rally pleased to hear about your new novella- it sounds like a winner! Upward and onward seems to be a great way forward.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      I agree Nancy, and thank you for the kind words. It was a joy to write this story. Best on your endeavors and I know the interview will be wonderful Doris

      Like

  9. S J Brown says:

    I admire the way you just keep advancing. To get your novella to print with all you have going on is a real accomplishment. Congrats, sending good thoughts your way.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      SJ, Thank you, all the good thoughts have been a help. I do confess having it to prepare helped as I have been working my way through all of this. I even received a contract for another story that will be included in a Christmas anthology. Thank goodness for dreams. Doris

      Like

  10. Travis says:

    So sorry to hear about the horrible run of luck. I’m hoping that it turns around, starting with the success of your novella.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Travis, thank you. It is! I’m thrilled that my proposal for the upcoming history symposium the library district does each year was accepted. I love writing my fiction, but non-fiction also holds a special place in my heart. Usually the papers are published by the district within a year or two after the symposium. LIfe always seems to offer balance, if you will stop and see it. Doris

      Like

  11. Neva Bodin says:

    I just ordered your book Doris. It sounds great. I’ve had a lot of stress this year too and it can be a struggle to focus on the positive, but like my short story says, “And Hope will Noot Disappoint us”

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Neva, It won’t. It’s hope that keeps us going and things do work out, we may not know how or why, but they do.

      I hope you enjoy the story. Thank you for giving it a read. Doris

      Like

Leave a Reply

