Gratitudes

Kate 2Kate Wyland

.

Many people recommend making a list of three to five things you are grateful for each morning to remind yourself of the good things in your life. Sometimes it’s hard to come with three let along five, but I certainly don’t have that problem right now. I have several big things I’m extremely grateful for at the moment.

Number one is we’ve finally moved into our new house! Closing the deal turned out to be a lot more complicated than we expected and at one point we almost said “forget it.” I’m so very glad we hung in there. Our new place is worth the wait and all the hassles. We now live on top of a hill with wooded open space on one side, a canyon below us, and a view of San Francisco Bay on the other side. I plan to do a lot of writing on our wonderful tree-shaded deck. The house is small but has everything we need, even a spa. It also has a number of nice upgrades and a compatible color scheme—no repainting necessary. I asked for the perfect house and the universe came through.

1021150948a1021150905

.

A second thing I’m grateful for is that our cat survived all our changes of residence. Hubs took a new job that required moving before we sold our house, and we ended up in three different temporary housing situations. Cats are territorial animals and often don’t take to moving. The first apartment we stayed in for two months was on the fourth floor and had no outdoor access. Kitten-Cat spent most of the day looking out the window.

After we decided to buy rather than rent, we needed to move someplace else while we went through escrow. We ended up at a tiny condo on a marina and spent a month looking out at beautiful harbor sunsets. The condo had a small patio and Kitten-Cat made good use of it and didn’t wander off as we feared she might.

0929151911a1008151703b

.

After ten days in an Extended Stay hotel (due to the hassles I mentioned before) she’s now absolutely delighted with her new home. She’s been having great fun exploring the deck and yard and is back to dozing on “her” (i.e., our) bed and couch.

The last thing I’m grateful for is how well my experience with LitQuake went. LitQuake is a Bay Area group that sets up a TEN day series of literary events, known as LitCrawls, all around San Francisco. There are readings, talks and classes given by famous and not-so-famous writers and artists and attended by thousands of people—all for free. Saturday night (the day we got the keys to our house), I took part in my first LitCrawl. Six of us from the Silicon Valley Romance Writers of America read from our books to a packed coffee house. It was the first time they’d offered a romance event and we weren’t sure how much attention it would attract. We needn’t have worried. It was SRO! And my excerpt from FOREWARNING was well received. I hope I can do it again next year.

What are you grateful for these days? Do you make daily lists?
********************

.

Forewarning Cover

FOREWARNING
Healing is her life. Will it be her death?

.

Wyoming Cover - 4x6 - #2.

Wyoming Escape
Two dead bodies. One dirty cop.
Is she next?

.

Cover - Images - 2.

 Images – A Love Story
She’s learned to hide from life.
Should she hide from him?

.

Connect with Kate Wyland:
Facebookhttps://www.facebook.com/AuthorKateWyland
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/katewyland
Website : http://katewyland.com

.

This entry was posted in blessings, books, challenges, moving LitCrawl, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Gratitudes

  1. Doris says:

    Congratulations on all the wonderful things you have to be grateful for. You are right, not always easy, but so helpful.

    Also the ‘crawl’ sounds like a great event.
    Doris

    Like

  2. Nancy Jardine says:

    Wonderful news about your new house. The views look spectacular. The literary event sounds very impressive- you’ll be so glad you made the time to attend. I’m just grateful that I have things to occupy me all day long! And no- I don’t make lists but stop to appreciate when I can.

    Like

    • katewyland says:

      I’ve long had the habit of appreciating things in nature, a beautiful sunset, that sort of thing. Noticing and being grateful for the small things takes more effort for me.

      Like

  3. Mike Staton says:

    Ah, there you are, Kate. I’d go to the blog site and still see yesterday’s post. That’s a good idea… thinking of things to be grateful for each morning. It’s a way to help us keep things in perspective. Not good to spend a lot of time complaining.

    Like

  4. Neva Bodin says:

    I was in the habit of thanking God for evey thing I found positive–the sun, not having that accident I just missed, a call from a friend, etc.–then I lost the habit. I really must get back into it as negative thoughts will replace the positive too easily. And sounds like you have a great cat and beautiful new home. Congratulations.

    Liked by 1 person

    • katewyland says:

      We now have internet! Something more for me to be grateful for.

      It is somewhat scary how easily the negative takes over. Probably an evolutionary response to danger. But being positive is better for happiness. 🙂

      Like

    • katewyland says:

      We now have internet! Something more to be grateful for.

      It’s somewhat scary how easily the negative takes over. Probably an evolutionary response to danger. But the positive makes for a happier life. 🙂

      Like

  5. Congratulations on your move. Your new home sounds fantastic. I hope you can enjoy it for many years to come.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Gratitude is the best thing to make you happy, isn’t it? I do the same thing at night when writing in my journal as I look back over the day. It’s amazing how many things there are to be grateful for. Congrats on your move (it sounds like just the right house) and participating in the book readings. Sounds like a good way to showcase your books locally. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    • katewyland says:

      Haven’t noticed a spike in sales 😦 but it was the first time I’ve done a reading, so I’ll be less worried about it next time. And I had fun. Lots to be grateful for.

      Like

  7. Wranglers says:

    So glad everything is going so great for you. It’s nice to get settled in. Sounds like you found a great group and and interesting event. It is so important for our Fur-babies to be happy. Sounds like your place is lovely. Cher’ley

    Like

  8. GREAT POST, KATE!! I’ve been reading about having a more positive attitude, rejecting negativity and complaining, and finding things to be thankful for instead — and how one should keep a gratitude journal… I haven’t been that great at any of it but I’m more aware. I try each morning to at least think of a few things to be thankful for to start the day, even if I don’t write them down. I’m so excited for you with your new home, the LitCrawl (SOUND SO FUN!!), and that your furry friend is now more settled (as well as you and hubs). May this new location and new chapter of life be successful for all of you!

    Like

    • katewyland says:

      I’ve been doing the lists when I do my morning journal for a number of years now. At times it’s been hard to come up with new things, but even then it’s a good exercise. Recently I’ve gotten out of the journaling habit – need to start again. But I’m still trying to focus on the positive. 😉

      Like

  9. Glad to hear you’re enjoying the new home and so is Kitty. It’s not “home” until everyone in the family is settled and happy. The pictures are beautiful. And I participated in Lit Crawl LA last week too! Actually, Stephen, Travis, and I all did. It was a Sisters in Crime/LA noir v. cozy smackdown and was such fun. Thanks for the positive post, Kate.

    Like

    • katewyland says:

      How fun that you three took part too. Tell me more about the smackdown.

      Like

      • It was split into 2 teams, cozy mystery writers and noir/hardboiled writers. Stephen was the referee and drew up 5 different categories: best death scene, best sex scene, best description/location, best protagonist scene, and best noir/cozy scene. Then a writer from each team read and the audience voted on (by clapping) who best represented their genre. It took place in a martial arts studio too. Travis and I were on the noir team but unfortunately, cozies took the title.

        Like

      • katewyland says:

        Sounds like a lot of fun.

        Like

  10. Wranglers says:

    You have the perfect view. The one view looks like an area we have here. It catches my eye, quickly. Cher’ley

    Like

  11. Joe Stephens says:

    I’m grateful for a lot of things, but I guess the big one is that I have such a supportive and loving family, which includes several people who aren’t biological family but have chosen to take me into their lives. Your place sounds great!

    Like

  12. S J Brown says:

    So glad things have finally fallen into place for you. Moving can be very stressful. I can’t image doing it 3 times before you landed in your perfect spot. Animals can surprise us. Our old dog did well when we moved. Just One glitch that took weeks to overcome. Animals really are adaptable. Enjoy your new home.

    Like

Leave a Reply

