Over the Bridge and Along the Creek by Abbie Johnson Taylor

Abbie J. Taylor 010Author Abbie Johnson Taylor

Believe it or not, Thanksgiving is around the corner so I thought I’d share a little ditty I wrote recently. Years ago when my grandmother was alive, I enjoyed walking to her house, even as an adult. Now, our town boasts a series of connected cement walkways that would have provided a scenic route from my house to hers if she were still alive. The following is set to a familiar tune we associate with Thanksgiving. To hear me sing it while accompanying myself on piano, go to https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/15213189/over%20bridge%20along%20creek.mp3 .

***

OVER THE BRIDGE AND A LONG THE CREEK

Over the bridge and along the creek to Grandma’s house I go.

My cane knows the way. I will not stray as through the leaves I go.

Over the bridge and along the creek, now Grandma’s house I spy.

Hurray for the turkey, stuffing, and yams and Grandma’s apple pie.

Over the bridge and along the creek to Grandma’s house I go.

My dog knows the way so “Forward,” I say as along the path we go.

Over the bridge and along the creek, now Grandma’s house we spy.

I must insure my trusty guide does not eat Grandma’s pie. Ruff ruff.

***

 

Front Book Cover - We Shall OvercomeWe Shall Overcome

Cover: How to Build a Better Mousetrap by Abbie Johnson TaylorHow to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver

That’s Life: New and Selected Poems

Order from Amazon

Order That’s Life from Finishing Line Press.

Vote for my new book idea.

This entry was posted in Children, Creativity, family, Fun, History, Memories, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Over the Bridge and Along the Creek by Abbie Johnson Taylor

  1. Doris says:

    Nicely done. Doris

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Joe Stephens says:

    Nice song!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you, Joe and Doris, I’m glad you both like the song. I know it’s a little early, but in case I don’t think to do so later, I’d like to wish everyone in this group a happy Thanksgiving.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wranglers says:

    Surprise ending. Love it. I’m ready for Thanksgiving. Wish my Grandma or even my mother were alive to share it. Cher’ley

    Like

  5. Neva Bodin says:

    Sounds like a fun walk with a big reward at the end! Loved your poem and song.

    Like

  6. Mike Staton says:

    Loved the song. You have a nice voice. And you have a way of resurrecting memories of my grandmothers, particularly my mom’s mom, Grandma Mid. I didn’t walk to see her. I had to drive. But when we lived in neighboring towns during my teenage years and when in college, I’d sometimes drive my car to Grandma Mid and Grandpa Frog’s house on Fourth Street. The main road in Rittman, Ohio, was on a hill, and it could be a challenge driving a stick shift. You had to get it in gear and moving before you rolled back too far. Grandma Mid always had something sweet to eat… homemade cookies or candy, maybe a cake on special occasions. It’s all memories in my head now… they’ve gone to Heaven, Grandpa Frog in 1987 and Grandma Mid in 1995.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Nice post Abbie. Enjoyed hearing the song – we usually had Thanksgiving Dinner at our house, so the grandparents came to us!

    Like

  8. Travis says:

    A fun ditty, Abbie!

    Like

  9. Great song, Abbie! Loved the ending!! WOOF!! and Happy Thanksgiving to you, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Nancy Jardine says:

    Happy memories, Abbie and it’s lovely to cherish them in this way. I like to hear your voice as well: it makes the distance between the US and Scotland immaterial!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Beautiful voice, Abbie. Happy Thanksgiving to you as well!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. S J Brown says:

    Nice, I can actually picture your journey. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

