A Scrap of Plaid

0kathy-blogPosted by Kathy Waller

# # #

Fellow Writer and Wrangler Nancy Jardine recently shared a picture of a beautiful plaid dress that reminded me of an old remnant of fabric saved from my childhood. I retrieved it, wrinkled but intact, from my mother’s cedar chest.

The fall I turned eleven, my grandfather–my father’s father, whom we called Dad–gave her money to buy me a birthday present. She purchased this wool plaid to make a pleated skirt for me. When I was sixteen, she remade the skirt into an A-line skirt and a weskit.

DSCN1343

Opening the package at breakfast was a bittersweet experience, because Dad had died unexpectedly the afternoon before. Mother told me she’d chosen the fabric because the blue reminded her of the color of his eyes.

# # #

MOW cover - amazon pix

Kathy Waller blogs at Telling the Truth–Mainly
and at Austin Mystery Writers.
Two of her stories appear in
Murder on Wheels: 11 Stories of Crime on the Move. 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in unique and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to A Scrap of Plaid

  1. Isn’t it interesting how one blog post can inspire another? The post scheduled to go up on my own blog tomorrow was inspired by a post I read last week so if you’re following me, stay tuned. Thanks, Kathy, for an interesting post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Doris says:

    Kathy, what a beautiful, but bittersweet memory. Thank you for sharing this piece of you life with us. Doris

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Neva Bodin says:

    Memories, sweet and difficult sometimes, yet we crave them and need them, and that’s why I hang onto my “stuff” I think. So glad you found your special memory in plaid. That is a touching story.

    Like

  4. Nancy Jardine says:

    That’s a lovely and also poignant story, Kathy. Even if you’d kept only a little bit of that plaid, it would bring back emotional memories. It’s a very pretty colour!

    Like

  5. Kathy Waller says:

    Do you ever wonder how many stories there are in the things we keep? I hadn’t until I began this reply. Thanks, Nancy, for commenting and for giving me more to think about. And for the topic in the first place. That trench dress is amazing. I want one. Wouldn’t dare wear it, though.

    Like

  6. That’s a pretty fabric, Kathy. I have to ask though, what’s a weskit?

    Like

  7. Lovely post, Kathy! I have a remembrance of my grandfather the Christmas that he died — while we waited for Santa Claus downstairs, I showed him handstands and headstands I’d learned (I was 7) and I remember his smile and his delighted gray eyes. He died of a heart attack two days later. Amazing what sticks in the memory banks from childhood.

    Like

  8. Joe Stephens says:

    That really is pretty, but I have to echo Sarah–what the heck is a weskit?

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: The Keep Writing Sign | Austin Mystery Writers

  10. Mike Staton says:

    Sad but inspiring story, Kathy. And like the rest… what is a weskit?

    Like

  11. Sometimes the gifts that are most precious are those that leave both good and bittersweet memories. So glad you have kept the cloth to remind you of that birthday in particular.

    Like

  12. Kathy Waller says:

    Thank you, Linda. The cloth was a very special gift. I’ve always wished I could thank the giver.

    Like

  13. Travis says:

    Wow, is powerful. That cloth is priceless.

    Like

  14. Wranglers says:

    Great little Slice of Life. Bittersweet. My house burned to the ground in 2003. Luckily I had not had a chance to move all my things in, but I lost all the most precious treasures (because I hand carried these things to make sure nothing happened to them), the firemen were able to throw my photo albums out into the yard (though a little water damaged, and singed), at least I had them. I, however, lost several plastic tubs of photos and videos. But, among the things that had not got moved in (in storage), was a blouse my Mom had made me when I was around 10, I was taking piano lessons and music was becoming important in my life, it had musical instruments on it. Cher’ley

    Like

  15. S J Brown says:

    It’s good to know we inspire one another. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

