Something New

Me3By S. J. Brown

Over the last several years I have branched out, trying new things.  I know what you are thinking, now what is she up to?  I have joined a group of people who plant trees along creeks and streams to help filter water runoff and give cover and sometimes food for wildlife.  This has been a fun endeavor for me.  I‘ve met some great people and helped with the planting of over 200 trees so far.

Leaf

After my mother passed away my sisters handed me her handwritten notes for a book Mom was working on.  It took months but I got it all on the computer and formatted.  This was a memoir of her childhood years meant for family.  Once it was completed I had copies printed for family.

Alice

This started me thinking about working on a memoir of my own.  I played with memories and thoughts and put it aside. While attending a writer’s conference I took a workshop on collaborative writing.  After the conference I called my sister.  We chatted for a while and decided to tackle a memoir of our shared memories   and “Sisters” began.

Sisters

While “Sisters is still a work in progress we have made great strides this past year.  Those of you that have read my work know I generally write about animals or critters as I call them.  So this is a totally new endeavor for me.

Then I was approached about doing a story for an anthology about raising girls.  Again, I am not used to writing about people.  But I had raised a daughter so I thought I would give it a shot.  I decided to write more than one story to increase my chances of getting into the book.

I went about the task, tweaked it a bit here and there, expanded on a point or two and finally finished three stories.  One story in particular was a memory from long ago.  The story has creativity, challenges, triumph and my memories.  I wasn’t sure if this anthology the best new home for my story?  Times like this are when trying something new is a bit scary.  As the deadline approached I opened the file, reread what I had written and didn’t want to let it go.  Eventually I took a deep breath and hit the send button.

Girls Cover

Now we are just a few weeks away from the release of “ It’s All About the Girls”.   I am glad I took the time to try something new and be part of this project

Trying new things doesn’t mean I won’t continue to do the things I love.  I will continue to photograph wildlife and share my experiences in the field.

Snake Chipmunk Elk

Trying new things came be scary, intimidating, and fun.  Have you tried anything new lately?  If not you should.

Thanks for stopping by. 

Connect with S. J. Brown on Facebook and be one of the first to see what she has been up and view her Sunday Shares.

 Facebook https://www.facebook.com/sj.brown.3367

S. J. Browns coloring books feature sketches based on her photographs.

CBCover Acover

Cover 3-26-23Back Cover 4-24-2013Close up and Close Encounters is available on Amazon  at

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=close+ups+%26+close+Encounters

Or get your autographed copy at S. J. Brown website http://www.sjbrown.50megs.com

S. J. Brown’s children’s pictures books are only available through S. J. Brown.

You can order your copies from her website S.J. Brown

Cover All the Birds I See Cover

This entry was posted in All about the Girls, Authors, books, images, photographs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Something New

  1. Doris says:

    Love trying new creative things. I’m also glad you decided to go forward with your story. Best of everything on this one.Congratulations! Doris

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on the story, S.J.! It’s great you stuck with it and hit “send.” Trying new things is definitely scary and I tend to shy away from it. Although it’s a little easier creatively-speaking for me. I too would love to do a memoir and want to work with my mother on writing hers. We’ve discussed it. Thanks for the thoughtful post.

    Like

  3. Wranglers says:

    I inspired you and you inspired me. I just finished an adult coloring book mostly for my family, but it is available to anyone who’d like to get it. I have one of yours , and your photography book as well. I loved your stories, and I’m glad they made it into “All About the Girls”, which is now available in paperback and kindle. If you’d like a signed copy, please contact the individual you’d like to read about and order a copy directly from them. It is a fun book that I believe will interest a wide range of people. Great blog. Thanks Cher’ley

    Like

  4. I don’t believe I’ve tried anything new lately, but I’m sure I will if I get a chance. Congratulations on the publication of your story in the anthology about girls. Good luck in your endeavors.

    Like

  5. I’m always up for trying something new, but as I learn about how to take care of myself mentally, I am spending more time finishing projects than starting new ones. However, my husband has an incredible story that I want to either do a memoir or use the information as background for a Novel based on true events. Good luck with your book. Keep us posted. And thank you for reminding us it’s never too late to try something new!

    Like

  6. Joe Stephens says:

    I’ve been asked a number of times by family members to write a memoir and/or a family history. As far as a memoir goes, you have to have a lot better memory than I have to write that. And I just can’t imagine doing the amount of research it would take to write a family history, even my own family. Research sound an awful lot like work to me.

    Like

    • S J Brown says:

      Collaborating on this memoir has helped a lot, also going through old family photos helps. I agree research is work. I am forced to do it every now and then, but it is necessary when I am going into a new area or will be encountering critters I haven’t been around before.

      Like

  7. Great, inspiring post, SJ! I’m happy to share the pages of “It’s All About the Girls” and I look forward to reading your stories! I’m happy to hear about your tree planting, too — it’s wonderful to be part of positive projects, whether in collaboration or on an individual basis. Nothing really new for me, although interviewing and writing stories about Vietnam veterans could be classified as “new,” I suppose — certainly been an interesting and educational journey for me this year.

    Like

    • S J Brown says:

      I am looking forward to getting my copies of “It’s All About the Girls” as well. I can’t wait to read what everyone has written. I admire you for taking the time to do all those interviews and sharing their stories.

      Like

  8. Nancy Jardine says:

    I feel I’m constantly trying new things but not necessarily life changing ones. Your giving back to nature is very laudable, S. J ! Keep planting.

    Like

    • S J Brown says:

      Hubby won’t let me turn this place into a wooded landscape like I did with the old house. So this way I still get to plant trees. I do have him talked into adding just a few trees here next year.

      Like

  9. katewyland says:

    I’m in the midst of lots of new stuff–moving to a new area, buying a house in an unfamiliar environment, reading from one of my books in front of a crowd for LitCrawl, volunteering to be VP of Communications for a local writing group. At this point I kinda long for the old and familiar. 🙂

    Like

  10. Mike Staton says:

    You’re a gamer. I too like to try new things. I have to admit, though, I did it far more when younger than nowadays. Physically, I have to be careful. Can’t take unnecessary chances with my repaired hip. I do like experimenting with writing styles and techniques.

    Like

  11. S J Brown says:

    I think I try more new things now than I did when I was younger. Back then I was to busy working, raising my daughter, and pinching pennies. Now I have more time to try things.

    Like

Leave a Reply

