I am Not a Procrastinator by Cher’ley

 

This blog by Cher’ley Grogg

Or What to do When Life Gets in the Way!

I chunk it out–doing as much as I can in one setting, and then returning as often as necessary. Admittedly, I procrastinate, which drives me crazy. I AM NOT A PROCRASTINATOR. I Am Not a Procrastinator. I am not a procrastinator. I like to have everything done ahead of time, but life happens.

If I were not a procrastinator, I would not have almost 2000 emails in my email InBox, and none of them are spam. Maybe I will get some of them sorted later tonight. After I … But, on more important issues, (like writing a blog post), I typically do not procrastinate.

A farm boy accidentally overturned his wagonload of corn on the road. The neighbor who lived nearby came to investigate. “Hey, Willis,” he called out, “forget your troubles for a spell and come on in and have dinner with us. Then I’ll help you get the wagon up.” 

“That’s mighty nice of you,” Willis answered, “But I don’t think Pa would like me to.” 

“Aw, come on, son!” the neighboring farmer insisted. 

“Well, okay,” the boy finally agreed. “But Pa won’t like it.” 

After a hearty dinner, Willis thanked his host. “I feel a lot better now, but I just know Pa is going to be real upset.” 

“Don’t be foolish!” exclaimed the neighbor. “By the way, where is he?” 

“Under the wagon.”.

 

Ways to Overcome Procrastination

1.-Set Goals -A necessary component of effective goal-setting is to choose a goal that is challenging enough to be interesting but not so difficult as to be unattainable. There is a risk of fatigue through time invested or effort expended toward your goal, and disappointment if the goal is too challenging and or not met.

2.- Plan for Interruptions-One of the easiest ways to do this is to plan breaks. Only check Facebook or Twitter when on a break. (Set time for your break-15 minutes, ½ hour, all day), whatever, but stick to your goals. Unexpected interruptions- regroup. Make your next project shorter so you have more time to finish the one you’re on.

3.-Set deadlines for at least a day ahead of time, perhaps 2 days or a week. (I always figure this blog is due at least a day before it actually is due–then I post it early and set the scheduler)

Here’s a link to 15 more ways to help with Procrastination.

 Linda's book  Here’s a book by our very own Linda Leander that I found helpful, and it’s only 99 cents!

13 Extreme Tips to Self-publish (Extreme Tips for Writers) by Linda Leander

I didn’t procrastinate on “All About the Girls” 5(3), but life happened. Del’s surgery, my surgery, a new Great Granddaughter, our move to Florida, another Great Granddaughter, more medical procedures for me, and in my spare time I drove and 18 Wheeler. Regardless I got it to print in less than 7 months, and this included including some extended deadline stories. 

I love this quote that is included in the anthology: Quote

Every chapter has at least one recipe. I submitted one for my Mom’s potato salad, and a story about when she made it during my childhood years.

***Do you say, “I am not a Procrastinator”? Then… you end up being late on your projects or deadlines? How do you handle Procrastination or Interruptions? ***

Cher’ley’s Books are listed below and on sale at Amazon and local bookstores. And she has a new one that is freshly published with 11 other authors. 

Stamp Out Murder”.
 The Secret in Grandma’s Trunk” This is an especially good book for your Tween Children and Grandchildren
The JourneyBack 3The Journey Back-One Joy at a Time and the B&W Edition of The Journey Back
Boys Will Be Boys   The Joys and Terrors of Raising Boys-An Anthology
 Cowboys, Creatures, and Calico 

All About the Girls 5(3)

Fans of Cher'ley Grogg,AuthorAnd please join me on my Facebook Fanpage, that’s managed by one of my most faithful fans: Cindy Ferrell
Here’s a link to Cher’ley’s WEBSITE

 

This entry was posted in adventure, author, Calendar, Funny, Overcoming, procrastination, unique and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to I am Not a Procrastinator by Cher’ley

  1. I confess! I am a procrastinator (much of the time). But, there is that teeny tiny once-in-awhile that I’m actually on top of things. Not so much this month, apparently. I’ve known my blog post date was Nov 25 for a month now and am I ready? No! Have I thought about what I’ll write? A little. Will I get it done on time? Yes. I no longer like to work under pressure, so why do I leave things until the last minute? I think old habits die hard. Thank you for this post Cherley. It reminds me I need to be more on top of things. By the way, thank you for the plug for my book. When I looked at the post I thought, “Oh my dear. Cherley posted my book and I’m sure she meant to post hers. Then I read a little farther.” Much appreciated!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t want to brag, but I’m definitely not a procrastinator, especially now that I no longer have a job or caregiving responsibilities. I can focus on my writing. I set deadlines, and since I have little else to distract me, I usually make those deadlines. There are times, though, when I forget about a deadline until the last minute, but that’s not procrastination.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kathy Waller says:

    Good post, Cher’ley. I don’t like working under pressure, but in writing, my brain doesn’t start clicking until the deadline is upon me. Anything I start working on early–and I often start working early–is dull and boring and usually scrapped. In addition, when I had professors who insisted on knowing what my paper would be about, I would explain and then write about something else. I never knew what it would be about until I wrote it. (“Writing is thinking.”) A psychologist told me my brain is wired that way. I’d rather it weren’t, but, as Darryl Royal said, sort of, I’ll dance with who brung me.

    Like

  4. Cher’ley,
    Great post! One thing I’ve noticed is I do better getting things done with I’m getting things done. Momentum. The more I do the more I feel like doing more. But when I’ve been puting something off for a while, leads to putting something else off, then it’s harder to accomplish that task or other tasks.
    – Have a great Thanksgiving
    – Stephen

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wranglers says:

      Stephen, I run into that too. When I put off one thing, another follows. They say if you want something done give it to a busy person to do. I think that’s true. Cher’ley

      Like

  5. D says:

    Nice blog. Will tell you my thoughts on it tomarrow.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Doris says:

    A post I think most people can relate to. Well said and very timely. Also, poor dad.

    Doris

    Like

  7. Enjoyed the post, Cher’ley! I rarely procrastinate with my writing projects — sometimes I’m TOO ORGANIZED and drive my editors crazy with wanting contact info on interview subjects EARLY, EARLY! 🙂 However, I’m AWFUL at keeping house and I procrastinate mucho gusto when it comes to decluttering, cleaning, and organizing — just last week, I stayed up until 1 am preparing for our pet sitter who was coming in for two days while both Greg and I were out of town due to work-related travel (and I had to be at the airport at 5 am to catch a flight!). I drive myself NUTS when I do stuff like that. Looking forward to seeing the anthology — thanks for all your great work on it!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I too am a horrible procrastinator. I’m like Stephen, the more I have to do, the better I am with getting stuff done. Once I have that detrimental mindset of “I have soooo much time to do stuff”, I end up doing nothing! It’s awful and hard to climb out of. I feel writing lists and seeing my goals on paper really helps me motivate. I love crossing tasks off when I complete them. Great post, Cher’ley!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Mike Staton says:

    Great story about the overturned wagon, a boy who loves eating at neighbors’ houses, and a dad stuck under the wagon. “Oh well, that fried chicken looks mighty good, and I think I’ll stay for a slice of that fine apple pie you’re famous for, Mrs. Smith.” Lol. As a reporter at the beginning and end of my working career and a technical writer in the middle, I had to constantly deal with deadlines. No big deal to me. Have to admit… I do like being retired and setting my own deadlines.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Nancy Jardine says:

    Ah…a good post Cher’ley. I am a really bad procrastinator – when it comes to my new writing. Your number 2 suggestion is a corker! I really, really must only go to Facebook occasionally during the days I’m not childminding and supposed to be doing writing tasks. 😉

    Like

  11. Joe Stephens says:

    I’m terrible at #2 on your list. On those days when I put off something at school until the next morning, that’s when every copier in the building will go down at the same time. Or the Wi-Fi will be down.

    Like

  12. S J Brown says:

    Thank you for the morning chuckle. I loved the story about the farm boy. I generally do not procrastinate. I always want things done at least a week a head of time. Then it is out of my hands and I am off to tackle the next project. Life does tend to gang up on me from time to time. I somehow manage to have huge blocks of time that are crazy busy for me. But I reward myself when I get through them with a trip to the woods.

    Like

Leave a Reply

