A Brown or White Christmas by Abbie Johnson Taylor

Abbie J. Taylor 010Author Abbie Johnson Taylor

Walking in snow and ice can be treacherous, even for people with good eyes. Needless to say, I don’t do much walking in winter, now that I’m older and more fearful of breaking bones. Since I enjoy walking, I’ve often wished our winters could be without snow and ice.

A couple of months ago while strolling on a beautiful fall day, I was thinking about this and came up with a little ditty to a familiar holiday tune which you can hear Bing Crosby sing at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UGAosOoKFMs . I’ll paste the lyrics below and then a link to where you can hear me sing it with piano accompaniment.

***

BROWN CHRISTMAS

 

I’m dreaming of a brown Christmas

so I don’t have to slip and slide.

Then I will be walking and won’t be talking

to folks, asking for a ride.

 

I’m dreaming of a brown Christmas

where snow and ice I will not fight.

Then I will be merry and bright.

In my heart, my Christmas will be white.

***

***

I must admit, though, that Christmas isn’t the same without snow. Where will you be this year? Do you think your Christmas will be brown or white?

***

Front Book Cover - We Shall OvercomeWe Shall Overcome

Cover: How to Build a Better Mousetrap by Abbie Johnson TaylorHow to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver

That’s Life: New and Selected Poems

Order from Amazon

Order That’s Life from Finishing Line Press.

Vote for my new book idea.

This entry was posted in Christmas, Creativity, Fun, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Brown or White Christmas by Abbie Johnson Taylor

  1. Joe Stephens says:

    It seems like we had more white Christmases when I was younger, but that may be my mind romanticizing things. I like snow in December. Then I’d just as soon go to Florida until it warms back up.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. My thoughts are similar to Joe’s: white Christmas then fly south for the rest of the winter! However, a few years back I began singing “I’m dreaming of a cactus Christmas…” — we had received MEGA SNOW in early October, and by Christmas, I was ready to head to Arizona! Fun post, Abbie! Thanks for sharing your voice with us again!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The snow is so beautiful when it blankets the earth. It is Mother Earth’s way of saying, “Out with the old, in with the new!”
    I am definitely hoping for a white Christmas.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wranglers says:

    I love a white Christmas, and I love a really heavy snow (when I am at home), I love to sled, build snowmen, make snow angels, and throw snowballs at my husband. You have such a lovely voice, thanks for sharing. Cher’ley

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Neva Bodin says:

    I love white Christmases too, but would like it to them be a brown Christmas the day after! The best of both worlds for me. Looks like our Christmas will be white in Wyoming this year. Thanks for the music! Love your poetic talent.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Doris says:

    Here we usually don’t have whilte Christmases, it’s just too dry. The mountains nearby, they are another story.

    Loved the ditty. Doris

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Mike Staton says:

    I was a “White Christmas” guy when I was young. Now that I’ve been diagnosed with osteoporosis and I’ve already broken a hip, I’m with you, Abbie. Last year when I was at my sister’s during January and most of February, I was a nervous wreck — and not just because my dad was in the hospital teetering between life and death (Heaven won). Snow and ice covered the land, and a trip across any sidewalk, driveway and parking lot was an adventure. I decided that from now on I’m not going to Ohio to see relatives and friends until April at the earliest. Loved your “Brown Christmas” song.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’ve never had a white Christmas living in Southern California most of my life. At least not one that I remember. It would be a refreshing change but I’m perfectly happy to have brown Christmases. Thanks for the wonderful song, Abbie.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Nancy Jardine says:

    I just might be singing your version of the famous song now, Abbie. I think we also used to have more white Christmases in my part of Scotland but that might be poor memory skills. Scottish weather is so dependent on what happens in the Atlantic so I’ll have to wait and see. I love when it’s white and very crispy but I’ve always been sensible about wearing suitable boots and shoes when out in it. My winter boots and shoes were NEVER trendy- always clumpy and warm and sensible.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. S J Brown says:

    I am hoping for a white Christmas. Not a blizzard, just a dusting on the grass to celebrate the day.

    Like

  11. We have a white Christmas forecast. I love the snow and look forward to a white Christmas, however, like you, I must be careful when outside. I’ve had too many falls and know I must take care. However, my little dog loves to be outside so I bought her little boots and a fur coat. We are now walking around the block every day (with my doctor’s permission) but I know that soon she’ll tell me no walking until spring.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Travis says:

    We don’t get many white Christamases in LA. If we did the city would shut down.

    Like

Leave a Reply

