I’d Rather Be Unstoppable

This post by Jennifer Flaten

 

Have you seen the Unstoppable meme? The one with the T-Rex who has discovered the gripper claws, which will now extend his reach, thus making him unstoppable? I love that meme, so much that I have a both a T-shirt and a sweatshirt that have that meme on them.

So, it was particularly funny when it came up in my work evaluation that I am unflappable. In case you didn’t know I am a bookkeeper; which really is a profession that doesn’t have much to get “flapped” about if you ask me.

I guess I could go all nuts when my bank rec doesn’t balance on the first go around, but really why waste the energy. I never met my predecessor but one has to wonder what he was like if I get an unflappable rating.  Maybe he stormed out of the office if when his debits didn’t equal his credits, who knows.

It probably helps that I only work part-time, how can you get upset when you only work 2 days a week. Really, no matter how stressful my day was I leave the office on that last day and don’t think about my work until I walk back in the door 4 days later.

Don’t get me wrong I am completely satisfied with the unflappable label. In fact, I think I will try to bring a little bit more of that attitude home. With three kids, two of them twin teen girls, I need all the unflappability I can get; especially when they start driving in a year.

Unflappable just doesn’t look as good on a T-shirt as Unstoppable.

Browse my jewelry on etsy

 

This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I’d Rather Be Unstoppable

  1. Good for you for being unflappable. If we could all be that way, the world would be a better place, wouldn’t it?

    Like

  2. Doris says:

    I love it! Doris

    Like

  3. S J Brown says:

    I think being unflappable makes you unstoppable.

    Like

  4. Neva Bodin says:

    I actually think “unflappable” on a t-shirt would be a hit! It would be unique and if you wrote “mom” after it, I bet it’d sell. Perhaps you became unflappable raising twins. When I heard the stories my mother-in-law told of raising twins, I’d guess you’d have to be. Good for you.

    Like

  5. Joe Stephens says:

    I would take either one!

    Like

  6. Nancy Jardine says:

    Unflappable sounds just fine to me. I don’t get wound up very easily and generally find that I’m a ‘go with the flow’ person who finds a way to adjust. I think my primary teacher career has a lot to do with that. Well done, Jennifer, for being ‘unflappable’ and – BTW I believe many people get very stressed with their personal accounts and book keeping requirements so your status is a great achievement! 😉

    Like

  7. Mike Staton says:

    Fun to read post, Jennifer. Sometimes I have a bird appetite. Since birds have wings, I guess that means I’m unflappable, especially with the bird appetite.

    Like

  8. Better to be unflappable than unapproachable — I’ve run into a few bank and other execs, as well as so-called customer service people who were unapproachable. I’m inclined to agree — unflappable = unstoppable. Congrats on your evaluation, Jennifer! Mine comes around next month — not something I savor.

    Like

  9. Love the word unstoppable, Jennifer. It sounds so enduring. Good post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

