Happy New Year!!

This post by Jennifer Flaten

 

Happy New Year!!

 

While I don’t make resolutions, I do spend some time reflecting on the past year.

 

After spending some time watching my own internal highlight reel, I have to say that aside from the kitten breaking his leg, the year was fairly good. As always there is room for improvement, but overall I am satisfied with my year.

 

There is one accomplishment that I am most proud of this year. It involves my jewelry business, Dragon and Butterfly Design, in order to grow my business I decided to do some in person selling at craft fairs. In fact, I did three craft fairs.

 

I am an introvert, so going being at a craft show and interacting with a steady stream of people is a huge deal for me. Even at my part time job I am not required to deal with people constantly. So, doing one craft fair, let alone three, is a huge deal. I won’t say that I enjoyed the shows–they were stressful–but afterward I did feel very glad that I’d done them. I even plan on doing a few more in the coming year.

 

What was your biggest accomplishment for 2015?

 

This entry was posted in enthusiasm and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Happy New Year!!

  1. My biggest accomplishment this year was finishing my memoir. I’m editing it now and hope to publish it next year.

    Like

  2. Baby steps are fine, before you know it you will be taking giant steps.
    I am going on 73 beat cancer three times. At my age just opening my eyes in the morning is a gift. I am still writing and plugging away. HAPPY NEW YEAR :o)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Joe Stephens says:

    As a teacher, you wouldn’t think it, but I’m an introvert too, so going to the WV Book Festival was a bit of an accomplishment for me. But I think that, for me, the biggest accomplishment was my last book. It’s the piece of writing of which I’m most proud. My worry is that my next one will pale in comparison.

    Like

  4. Doris says:

    Good for you. The best say to grow, get out of the comfort zone. I tell myself that all the time. Here’s to a ‘growing’ 2016. Doris

    Like

  5. Nancy Jardine says:

    Good question, Jennifer, and I’m not sure of the answer. Probably that I made the decision back in February to sign myself up for loads of Craft Fairs which I love doing. They can be stressful but I love the interaction with customers. Well done for overcoming your feelings, having a go and …contemplating more. Your jewellery will be much more talked about if potential customers can A) see it ‘live’ for themselves and B) meet the jeweller. Best wishes for 2016.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Wranglers says:

    Moving to Florida. Kind of. I think I’m actually spending more time in WV now than I did when I lived here. Cher’ley

    Like

  7. S J Brown says:

    I’m right there with you on engaging the public. I have found the more shows you do the more your anxiety about them decreases. So get out there and have a GREAT NEW YEAR.

    Like

Leave a Reply

